We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definately recommend - Lovely, friendly B&B by the sea. :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Ranked #40 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definately recommend - Lovely, friendly B&B by the sea. :)”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel is in a lovely location; close to the sea front and shops. We had walked with the pushchair to the sea and shops within 15 mins, with breathtaking views to accompany the walk. It has spacious, clean bedrooms and the most amazing breakfast! But it isn't the rooms, food or the location that made our visit so lovely, it is the personal touches that Andrew and his family offer....... From buying gluten free bread for my breakfast, to finding out where are the best places in town for me to eat were. On arrival we were offered tea and a chilled chat and throughout our stay Andrew and his family made us feel welcome and at home..... My little girl is just 15months and I didn't need to worry at meal times about her being a baby - anything she needed was provided and she is slightly smitten with Andrew, who happily entertained her whilst I finished my breakfast - thank you! This is a fantastic hotel that goes above and beyond and we booked our next visit as we left today! :)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are amazingly spacious, but all rooms are comfortable and clean and have the space yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for such kind words. It was a pleasure to welcome you all here and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Your review picks up on all the points which we strive to acheive - if there is anything we can do to make a guest feel more at home, we will. Your 15 month old was an equal pleasure to us, and such a happy well behaved child is always welcome at East Cliff Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you all back at the end of May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    55
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
106
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean, comfortable and warm and an excellent breakfast- couldn't have asked for more. The owners were very welcoming; a big plus was the fact that they let us leave our car at the hotel and use the room to shower after the Bournemouth Bay half marathon. Brilliant - thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djames2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. If we can accommodate our guests requests for things like late check out, leaving car for the day, etc we will. Obviously in the height of summer we may have to give a different answer, but generally, if we can help, we will.
We continue to make the Hotel and the welcome as warm as we possibly can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A cosy B&B near the seafront in Bournemouth. Run by a husband and wife team, they offer a wide range of services above and beyond a traditional B&B. Dinner can be arranged and cooked with advanced bookings. Breakfasts are full traditional with some lovely extras such as kippers. Rooms are warm and equipped to a standard.

Short stroll to the cliff cars and beach. 30min walk to mai. Shopping district and restaurants. Very close to University.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodthistimeofyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your kind comments. You have summed up the way we try and run this place perfectly.
We continue to work on improving the Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
One thing I must question though, not sure if you meant to type 30 min for the distance walk to town - we estimate it is approx. 10 mins walk. Maybe 15 if you take the scenic route via the pier and gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Just got back from a 3 night winter break at the East Cliff Cottage Hotel. We stayed in a spacious room, with a huge comfy bed. The room was tastefully styled, and had an elegant bay window. The owners are very friendly and our breakfast each morning was excellent, in particular the homemade marmalade was delicious. We have had a pleasant stay.
our little girl was smitten with Tess x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paris121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is very much appreciated. Our Superior rooms always raise a 'Wow' when first seen, and we are pleased that the rest of your stay lived up to these 'first impressions'. Our reakfasts are always rated highly, and we hope this continues in the future. For those wondering, Tess is our eldest dog and this family's little girl helped me walk her back to the Hotel when we met on the beach one afternoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here when we were attending a wedding nearby. I have to say the choice of hotels in this area is bewildering. I specifically wanted a triple room with a decent sized bed for us and a sofa bed our daughter. Having stayed in the holiday inns and premier inns of this world I know that a triple room generally means you have to do an assault course to find any floor to stand on. Not so here. We had a palatial superior room with a super huge bed, a similarly generous sofabed and decent floor space left over. For those who don't like to hear the other residents, this place was as quiet as a church mouse and the breakfast was everything you could want. I hardly need to point out that this was the cheapest room I could find as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We do try to provide a more personal service than the 'chain hotels' and this is helped by the more than generous size of our Superior Rooms. Our beds (along with our breakfasts) are praised by many guests and we hope this continues into the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night while visiting our son, who attends Bournemouth University. The host, Andrew, and his wife were most welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was included and the quality and quantity of the food was very good! East Cliff Cottage is also extremely dog friendly (luckily for us!) and it's location is a short walk from the sea. I'd recommend this highly to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena123186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
It is always pleasing to get a review which picks up on the points which set us apart from the other (larger) Hotels we share the area with. Our grateful thanks for the kind words. Breakfast will continue to offer the choice and quality you enjoyed on your first vist to us andour friendly welcome will always be here to greet you. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I am a member of the Bournemouth School for Girls PSA and we went to the East Cliff Cottage hotel for our annual dinner. Andrew hosted the evening at his delightful hotel and we all thoroughly enjoyed a great evening. The choices for the 3 course meal were very good and the food itself was excellent. We were even entertained with card tricks by Alastair, the headmaster of BSG. All in all we had a super evening at Andrew's lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcfcfanBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastCliffCottage, Owner at East Cliff Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you all to our Hotel. We appreciate the kind comments re. the menu and quality of food served. We look forward to you returning for your next event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Beach Lodge
Beach Lodge
#1 of 132 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Yenton
The Yenton
#11 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Grange
Tudor Grange
#54 of 132 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Cliff Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Cliff Cottage Hotel

Property: East Cliff Cottage Hotel
Address: 57 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — East Cliff Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Cliff Cottage Hotel is situated on the scenic East Cliff of Bournemouth just minutes from the beautiful beaches and vibrant town centre. Our combination of superior and standard rooms have been styled and characterised to provide you with every comfort possible with en-suite facilities complemented by hostess trays and flat screen TVs and wi-fi access. Our licensed restaurant offers quality home cooked food with an extensive menu to meet all tastes. The food is served by friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. The bar is fully stocked with a selection of lagers, ales, spirits and minerals. Our regularly maintained garden is the perfect place to relax when the sun is out and can also be used for receptions, BBQs and family gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your East Cliff Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing