We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geoff and Christine Hurst” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Balincourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Balincourt
Ranked #16 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Geoff and Christine Hurst”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Balincourt for a week it was top quality, host's Nigel and Allison were prime host's, food was great, and if you or on a Gluten Free Diet this is the hotel for you.
would go there again if ever in Bournemouth

Room Tip: book room 4 its big and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissiehurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivergrid, Manager at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It's always good to get positive comments from guests. Thanks so much.

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    25
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
131
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

A good b&b with substantial breakfasts, comfortable room although the bath needed a thorough
clean. A bit pricey for a Bournemouth guest house. On the plus side bus stops are very close by
with very frequent buses to the town and excellent restaurants for eating out.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivergrid, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and have noted your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived at the Balincourt after a 7 hour drive and had no trouble finding it, as it is situated in a good location off the main Christchurch Road. Buses stop outside, making it east to get into central Bournemouth, Poole or Christchurch, if you want to leave the car on the car park. The front door was locked and a notice stated that the hotel was full, however we rang the bell and one of the other guests let us in. At reception, we were surprised to be asked for a credit card as soon as we arrived and had to pay up front, before we had even seen our room. There appeared to be a bar area and tiny lounge for guests to use, but neither these, nor the dining room were pointed out to us. We were quickly shown to our room, 8, and helped up the stairs with our bags.
The room was very well proportioned and symmetrical in design, but one of the alcoves had been given over to create the en-suite, making it feel a little claustrophobic. This was exacerbated by a lack of natural light. Despite the room having the benefit of a huge window, it overlooks the side of the building and suffers from having a large tree outside that obscures the light. Despite this, we found the room to be very well appointed, with everything you could possibly need for a comfortable short stay. Nice touches, such as bottled water and chocolate, replenished daily added to this. The room was immaculately decorated in late 20th century style with a large comfy bed (2 singles together,) and benefits from a good sized television and free wi-fi for those that want it on holiday. The en-suite was excellent, with a shower over a full size bath and fluffy white towels. Again, attention to detail was evident, with toiletries supplied.
In the morning, we found the dining room and sat at table 8, on the assumption that this corresponded with our room number. There was a help-yourself buffet for starters, which included fresh strawberries and blueberries - yummy! Mains were taken to order. The food was excellent and again, attention to detail was evident everywhere. The dining room is beautiful, retaining many original features and tables are laid out in a blue and white theme with quality crockery and tea and coffee pots that actually pour withour spilling the contents all over the cloth! Perfect. Everything is 'just so.'
We never saw any guests using the bar or the small lounge. Maybe, like us, these facilities had not been pointed out to them. That said, our room was very comfortable, so after a long day as model tourists, we were keen just to relax there. We didn't feel particularly as though our stay mattered as there was very little interaction with staff. Would we stay here again? This was our first visit to Bournemouth and we enjoyed it immensely - helped by the grand weather we enjoyed during our stay. Having walked around an awful lot, we now know the area better and would probably go for a hotel where we can enjoy a sea view. That said, the Balincourt is very handily placed, with great transport links and lovely walks through Boscombe gardens down to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Arrived for a two night stay On July 21 This was an amazing hotel everything was just perfect we stayed in room 10 and it could not be faulted decor and attention to deatail in the room was well above expectations . Went for breakfast while I myself am not gluten free or have allergies it was very nice to see that these guest where catered for . the dinning room it self like the rest of the hotel was immaculate and everything was well codinated in regards to decor and china on the tables
Overall one of the best stays myself and my wife have had anywhere in the world and we travel a lot and stay in a lot of top class hotels will Definatly be back to Balincourt when time allows us hopefully before the end of the year for a longer stay this time.

Room Tip: Amazing room (room10) am sure all other rooms will be of the same high standard may not be the chea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Hello Martin

Thanks so much for leaving your comments. We were particularly glad that you appreciated our choices at breakfast. We do find that guests appreciate the variety offered, especially for those with special dietary needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Balincourt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Going to Bournemouth? Stay here, you won't be disappointed! We read previous reviews and took a chance. So glad we did. Our room was extremely well furnished, spotless and very comfortable, all you could ask for. Great choice for breakfast and freshly cooked too. Attention to detail shows everywhere especially bedding, crockery and cutlery etc We didn't need to ask for anything as it had all been thought about for us! Don't bother taking the car anywhere the bus stops are right outside and provide a really good service. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We were delighted to read your review.

We do take a lot of care and attention and it's so nice to get positive guest feedback.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here on a 3-day break. The hotel is very clean as was our room. Good selection of tea, coffee, biscuits & water in the room on arrival and fully replenished every day. The bed was comfortable.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was excellent; well cooked and presented and a good choice on offer. The coffee was pretty good too.
It appears dinner choice has to be made at breakfast time which I would not appreciate doing.
Our room was a little small (No12) is my only minor gripe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks for leaving your review.

Subject to availability we do try if possible to give guests the best rooms that available.

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and our coffee!

Please come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We've been taking an annual break at the Balincourt for eight years now, and can wholeheartedly say that Nigel and Alison are unstinting in their efforts to make us feel welcome. Food allergies are kindly catered for, they put us in our favourite room, the linen is crisp, the place is spotless and the breakfasts more than generous. We've enjoyed dinners there too, delicious and wholesome. All in all it's a delightful experience--we've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison G, Owner at The Balincourt, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Balincourt and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#4 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.2 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 68 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
1.1 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balincourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balincourt

Property: The Balincourt
Address: 58 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balincourt 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balincourt Bournemouth Guest House offers luxury accommodation in one of Bournemouth's most beautiful Victorian houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Balincourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing