We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, immaculate family-run small hotel”
Review of The Balincourt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Balincourt
Ranked #12 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edgware, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, immaculate family-run small hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We couldn't fault this small (13 bedroom) hotel. The little extras in the spotless bedroom, the Royal Doulton dinner service, the fresh flowers, the tasteful matching decor, and above all the friendly attentiveness throughout our stay from Alison and Nigel, these all made our weeklong stay a most enjoyable experience.

The location is also excellent, only minutes from the beach and from the centres of Bournemouth and Boscombe.

Without hesitation, we are already recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredkornhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
141
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harlow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I decided to take my partner to Bournemouth to celebrate his 40th Birthday. After a lot of research I decided that the Balincourt Hotel would be most suitable for our needs so booked a superior room from Good Friday to Easter Monday.
We arrived just after 4pm on the Friday and were greeted by Nigel who showed us to Room 2 (facing the side). It was a huge room with a lovely comfortable super kingsize bed, a flat screen telly on the wall and loads of little touches to make you feel at home - handpainted crockery and glasses, a bunch of daffodils on the dressing table, little chocolates that were replenished daily. The hospitality tray had all the tea & coffee you could ever want, plus hot chocolate, horlicks and biscuits. The en-suite was gorgeous with a big shower (lovely hot water) and a basket containing shampoo, body lotion and shower gel.
Breakfast was included in our break, there was about 8 different types of cereal, yoghurt, juice and fruit that you helped yourself to and then Nigel would come and take your order for tea/coffee, toast and a cooked breakfast - all of which was very tasty. And on Easter morning we came down to find everyone had an Easter egg on their table, which I thought was really nice.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't very pleasant so it was very nice to know that we had a warm comfortable place to come back to.
Yes, the hotel is on quite a busy road but we weren't disturbed by any noise and I was pleasantly surprised to find we were opposite a Table Table restaurant which do the best hot waffles I've ever tasted.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayAddictHarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Easy to get to and close to both the beach and town. Very peaceful and relaxed. The room was very nice and had everything we needed. A very good nights sleep. An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex_26_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

From the website claims and some of the previous reviews here on Tripadvisor we felt confident of a relaxing two day break. Our expectations were dashed when we realised the Balincourt is located on the A35 and directly facing a Premier Inn and Travelodge. Although we realised the location prior to booking we had no idea that the road would be so noisy and the Hotel located so close and offerring no views.
I'm confident a North facing room would have offered better sleep but for us we endured police sirens, slamming car doors, shouting and costant traffic roar. The price we paid was premium and we honestly expected more as the establishment has been granted 5 stars.
The Room was however clean though we expected larger ensuite facilities.
My husband is over 6 foot and had a job to squeeze into the shower, which we expected to be larger.
I suggest any potential Tripadvisor users should check the location thoroughly before booking, and ask the staff about the bathroom dimensions and the proximity to the main road.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Balincourt in under a year and yet again - brilliant! The owners really do take the time and effort to make you feel welcome and ensure you have everything you need without imposing. The rooms are lovely, very stylish and excellent quality with lots of very thoughtful extras. I can't recommend the hotel more - Outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbennett39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Having spent two relaxing days at the Balincourt Hotel & having owned 3 hotels in Jersey CI. I was extremely surprised by the high standards Nigel & Alison have attained. The hotel is immaculate, the service excellent & the attention to detail throughout is perfect. Beautiful decorated bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, delightful bed linen & luxury white fluffy towels in abundance, piping hot water & central heating, all day & night. Very welcome for me, coming from Southern Spain & finding the UK in October, rather chilly & damp. The pleasant dining room, again decorated with taste & tables laid with lovely crisp table linen, silver, china & glass ware & an excellent menu of delicious home made food, to choose from daily. One couldn't ask for more & I recommend to anyone visiting the area this small luxurious understated hotel. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the owners to make you feel welcome & at home.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ardnas37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We've been to the Balincourt for about 5 years now. This last time after a gap of a year or so. The standard is just consistently excellent. It has its own off-road parking, which gives you peace of mind. It's location is good for the town and the sea.

The rooms are fantastic - large, with high ceilings and all ensuite. You get all the little touches that make a difference - mineral water replaced every day as well as tea/coffee and biscuits; bed made and room tidied without moving any of your belongings. The breakfasts are superb and could keep you going all day if you wanted.

The change I have enjoyed most over the years has been having wifi access in the room. I also noticed a PC in the lobby in case you don't have your own! The thing that hasn't changed is that the standard is always consistently high - you never have to worry that things won't be just right.

Nigel and Alison, the owners, have been very good to us - friendly and very efficient always. They have found room for us at the shortest notice in the past - a few hours, in fact!

Can't speak too highly of the place. They deserve every star. We will be returning every year.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank porthosmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.7 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
867 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Balincourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balincourt

Property: The Balincourt
Address: 58 Christchurch Road, Bournemouth BH1 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Balincourt 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balincourt Bournemouth Guest House offers luxury accommodation in one of Bournemouth's most beautiful Victorian houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Balincourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing