We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'It's what you make it'.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laguna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laguna Hotel
Ranked #124 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'It's what you make it'.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Was a bit worried after reading the reviews but the hotel was better than I expected.We were picked up on time and all the coach drivers were very curtious and informative on the excurtions.the rooms were ok, bathrooms small but adequate. Biggest grumble were the pillows were hard!The meals were good, choice of 2 soups, 3 mains and 6 desserts and tea or coffee. Breakfast was good too - always extra toast or tea on request and out waiter was excellant - they worked so hard to keep us all happy at meal times. the staff multi task too - they serve in the bar after dinner and arrange all the bingo etc to keep quests entertained.Evening entertainment was good but no tthursday night - that was allfull - he needs to retire!!! It wasn't a four star hotel but we didn't pay fort star prices so my party of 6 were happy.Want to go back next year, so we were happy enough,It's what you make it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    100
    78
    42
    109
See reviews for
70
154
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I have just been to the Laguna for 6 nights, having used it for several years, and have seen very few changes in that time, including the decor. Tft tv's have now been fitted to the rooms, but very few of the freeview channels are available. The bed covers still seem to be the originals. Room was clean. Carpet in the bedroom had been ripped at sometime, and a poor attempt had been made to repair it by nailing it to the floor using 8 nails, with the heads still sticking out. Walls too thin, I was kept awake most of the 6 nights by a person in the next room with a bad cough. The whole room shook when they closed their door. For the last 3 nights of my holiday, I moved to a different table and was rewarded by being ignored by the waiters, who served the tables on both sides of me. On the last night, I got my starter course, with everyone else, and had my soup bowl collected, after waiting for 15 minutes, during which time everyone else had been served with their main course, and most had finished, I was still waiting to order. I had to stop a waiter, who was serving a dessert in order to get my main course, after which I complained to reception. I do not expect this from any hotel, I have been to quite a few and have not had this treatment in any others. The free wifi worked for about 5 minutes in 6 nights.

Room Tip: Think carefully, all of the doors slam very loudly, 2nd floor is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thornewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews! We were on a 6 day holiday where we were picked up from our town and taken to the hotel. We were in the main building.The room was clean but the bathroom was very small. We had a bath with a shower over it which was OK,but would have prefered a walk-in shower.The breakfasts were nice but the evening meals not so good,( though there was a choice), powdered soup mixed with water, main course usually a couple of wafer thin slices of Beef/pork/lamb with gravy and veg then sweet was mainly a choice of gateau. When we consider the price we paid we should not have expected much more. There were people there who have been several times and will go back again.Others have said you get what you pay for so if you don't pay a lot you shouldn't expect too much The staff are very nice and friendly, not sure about the entertainment as it started with bingo which put us off! Our friends had a room near us and had a walk-in shower, I think the rooms vary quite a bit but I think being clean is more important than patterned carpets,and we had lovely white towels. For a cheap break it was OK

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SheilaMac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

As a paying guest, I worked for free for them all night. Why? Our bedroom had been a reception office with a fire alarm volume school type door bell in the wall above our beds. From midnight, till 6 am i answered the door to drunk people, every ten minutes. there was no owner or management to be found EXCEPT ME AND I DON'T EVEN KNOW THEM. I WAS A PAYING GUEST. HEALTH AND SAFETY!! ALL THE MILK CARTONS HAD MOULD GROWING INSIDE...

Room Tip: go somewhere else please, unless you are using the hotel as a night club, and want to go to bed at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewhubbardbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My mother( 90yrs) stayed one night in Nov, weather cold, radiator just warm, had to ask for a heater to be placed in room, this took about 25 minutes to organise, after 2 requests.
Outside area appeared to be covered with cigarette ends, no bins in place.Used mainly by pensioners "bussed" in from "up north", who all smoke and are not particular where they deposit their cigarette butts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have just returned from our third visit and again we had an enjoyable stay,
With friendly staff and a warm welcome. the food is still very good and enough for anyone, our room was comfy and warm, but the bathroom was a little grubby and as it was the first week of the season it could have been better. The evening entertainment was good, Monday had a good, pleasant and funny singer/piano player, Tuesday was multi talented carols quiz night which was great fun and with prizes, but we steered clear of thursday nights offering and went else where in bournemouth. The two coach trips out
Were good with our driver chris giving very good information along the way.bournemouth has lots to offer with the bic and pavillion to name two but for a value for money break you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift which can be noisy late at night and early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thebaxter_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

we love going to this hotel and have been there for the last 4 year,s and allways get a warm welcome ,the food is lovely ,the rooms are comfortable,and are son love,s the table tennis

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.5 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#35 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hotel

Property: Laguna Hotel
Address: 6 Suffolk Road South, Bournemouth BH2 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Laguna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing