We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Rubbish”
Review of Laguna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laguna Hotel
Ranked #113 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Why doesn't this hotel improve? Green milk sachets in rooms, serious nocturnal crowd control issues, everything falling apart, un hygenic, no customer service, breakfast on a side plate, noise, beds you can't sleep on, toilets that tall people can't sit on as too close to the wall, stains everywhere......

Room Tip: sleep on the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewhubbardbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

its what it says on the tin- a laguna hotel!! the hotel is in disgusting condition, about to fall down, with poor organisation and staff.
dont get me wrong i wasnt expecting anything fancy, but at least some good service! they have their 'token' foreign guy who doesnt speak much english, is rather rude, and is the only one of the 6 or 7 hermits who stick themselves in the little office all day who has the guts to face customers.
when trying to arrange things you get passed from person to person, none of them with a good answer!
i was staying at the laguna as i was working nights out of a nearby highway maintenance depot, my company had 'arranged' with the staff that i was working nights, so sleeping in the day, and that my food part of the bnb was to be supplied when i woke up! what a farce, to cut a long story short, i recieve two rounds of two bits of bread with either 2 bits of cheap ham, or a handful of grated cheese- this is supposed a meal for working man???? i complained to no provail, had to pay £1 for more coffee sachets on last day, just an absolute shambles.
i will never be returning, and wouldnt advise you too- in any circumstance

Room Tip: stay away, noisy link road behind building, can hear it all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

If you are expecting a five star modern hotel then forget it. However if you are looking for an honest hotel (especially with free parking), but cheap then the Laguna is your place. Having arranged a stag weekend I was a little concerned reading the reviews but it turned out ok. We were in one of the annex buildings and the rooms, although lifted out of the 70s, were clean and very spacious. Its a strange place geared up for OAP weekends but quite happily takes on (and is ideal for) stag and hen partys. Breakfast is a basic one of each (sausage, bacon, egg, hash brown tablespoon of beans and a slice of fried bread) but quite edible with plenty of tea and toast. The swimming pool is showing signs of its age but the water was clean and nice and warm, good to relax in after a heavy night and we found the staff quite friendly and helpful. From our experience I would quite happily to recommend this place but only if you dont expect too much because then you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our group was in an annex not in the main building and think these may have the larger very spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had unfortunately seen the reviews on this hotel but, as part of a pre-arranged trip, I was unable to change my booking. The problem with this Hotel is that it is not just the overall poor quality of the place itself, it's just laziness, lack of common sense and a real miserly, staid approach to everything there.

We were initially greeted by a well-dressed young man who was polite but purely functional - not exactly welcoming or having any basic sense of how to greet Hotel guests i.e. "How was your journey?" etc. We were then told we had to pay a deposit of £20.00 each in case of "un-necessary late noise or breakages" - none of this were we informed of before we arrived.

When we arrived at our room, it appeared that a great deal of damage had been done already, to the point where we made sure eveything was photographed to ensure the safe return of our monies. There was very visable damp/black mould in the corner of one room, the dressing table stool was stained to the point of not really knowing what colour it originally was, all the furniture was chipped everywhere (not even a charity shop would accept it), the beds were ripped at the bottom through age as opposed to intention - they were rock-hard and not one of the party slept well on them, plus there were very visable stains on some of the sheets - in fact the curtains, bedsheets etc. all felt slightly damp. There was dry sand all over the chairs, the bathroom was little more than a toilet and bath/shower in a broom cupboard. Plus, the hotel windows were single-glazed which meant that everyone could hear all the late-night revellers coming back late. It was more like a Bail Hostel - even the pictures on the wall were faded through being there probably around 20/30 years; taking them down or buying replacements for little or no money would make things better but the owners, as I said previously, are either bone idle or really have no interest in providing even the most basic level of accomodation.

The breakfast was of the same quality if you can believe it. The staff were polite enough, if a little bit unsure of the English Language. We ordered cereal and orange juice (no "help yourself" option which features in even the most basic, budget hotels) - it tasted like the cheapest of the very cheap & served lukewarm in the most laughable tiny glasses (imagine Mouthwash-size), enough for a couple of mouthfuls and little more - everyone asked for another glass almost straight away which seemed to cause some consternation but was served at the very least. The toast was almost cardboard-thin and had no real flavour. The breakfast itself was insulting - I have never been served any meal at any point in my life on what we believed was a cake-plate - one tiny teaspoon of beans, one microwaved bacon slice, one hash brown, one extremely dry overcooked egg, one cheap flavourless sausage and a tiny quarter slice of fried bread. None of our party could quite believe what we were seeing - such a terrible insult in this day and age when food is so very cheap - another 15p's worth of ingredients would have made all the difference. All of us left still feeling very hungry and pretty queasy - it didn't sit well at all.

Overall, it's an appalling disgrace of a hotel. We paid and expected basic accomodation but all we received was a dirty, damp, cheap, nasty, insult of a hotel which seems not to have changed an ounce of it's operating procedure or decor since around 1975. I said above that they either don't care or are bone idle - I think it's a combination of the both. I have never also experienced such a miserly approach to accomodation or food - £20.00 a room and another 15p spent on each breakfast would improve things but they don't seem bothered. We don't feel just like we were ripped off, we feel our intelligence was insulted to the point of indignation.

I would say avoid but it's only a matter of time surely for this place - it cannot operate at this level for much longer and hopefully, it will be one less place taking advantage of your hard earned money.

Room Tip: Sleep outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dunmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Well, having read the 84 previous reviews of this place I thought it cannot be that bad....
It was!

The room can only be described as very very basic (although that is probably unfair to the word basic.

The breakfast was...... Well it happened!

This was part of a £90 package which included this hotel, a “comedy" night in central Bournemouth and entry to a nightclub. I am not sure if the hotel or the company Maximise are to blame, but someone is.

Thankfully the people I was with did make it an excellent weekend, despite this hotel.

PS The 1970's just called, they said can they have their carpets and pictures back!

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHairyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

On the website it looked just what we were looking for so we were disappointed when we arrived. The double beds were like sleeping on concrete, the single bed was damp, lumpy and you felt you were on a slant. You could not swing a cat in the bathroom, the shower hit the back of the bath. The toilet roll was positioned behind you which made it almost impossible to reach. The breakfast was appauling, small & unappetising. Full english it was certainly not served on a tea plate! Bacon was under cooked, sausage and fried bread over cooked, the baked beans were heated in the microwave and dry. When it came to the toast, this was either under cooked or burnt and the tea was like dishwater!! We were meant to stay for 3 nights but had enough after 2, all came away with bad backs and exhausted through lack of sleep. The staff need training in customer service and the hotel - if you can call it that - needs a complete make over to come out of the 1950's. It may be cheap but you got far less than what you pay for.

Room Tip: Dont go there !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BekshirePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I honestly don't know where to begin...

Alright I came here on a stag do, and I know there are crowds of blokes who will wreck places, (me & my friends are quite civilised people so not a worry for us) however that does not mean they can't keep their hotel in a fit state.

The hotel looks like it hasn't been decorated since the 70s and I wouldn't be surprised if that was the last time it was cleaned.

Our room had mould in the corner, BBQ sauce stains on the wall, the floor was damp, the pillows were dirty, the bed covers had stains and the beds look like they were literally nailed together with whatever wood and nails the owners could find. One of the young lads on reception was extremely rude and had no people skills or a clue of what customer service is.

The bathroom was like a scene from a horror hostel movie based in Eastern Europe. The toilet & bath are about 30 years old and have been kept in an awful state. The water was impossible to balance and was either freezing or boiling.

The breakfast? Basic at best and the service again was terrible. One sausage, an extremely under-cooked rasher of bacon, dirty fried toast, an egg and about 3 baked beans! Then when the waiter brought the toast over, his hands were all over it.

The only saving grace was that we only spent about 10 hours in our rooms over the whole weekend and it was only a 10 minute walk in to town.

Hotels like this should be shut down and I'm amazed it can even be given 1 star. A "hotel" in the UK should never be in such a disgraceful state and it should be shut down. Get this place on tv and show it up for the disgusting shambles that it is.

Don't stay here, the street is cleaner.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Drewster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.5 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,011 reviews
0.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Hotel

Address: 6 Suffolk Road South, Bournemouth BH2 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £40 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Laguna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing