We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well looked after - great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed on a 2 night visit to Bournemouth and was very pleasantly surprised [particularly considering the great price we paid!]
Hotel was very clean, room was a great size and nicely furnished, and great staff really seemed like they couldn't do enough for you. We were very well looked after.
Didn't dine in the hotel, but Starbucks on site was a nice touch!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kategxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Was such a shame as we booked through a Spa website but this hotel is no good for that at all. On arrival we were sent straight to the Spa, only to be told that as hotel guests staying the night we weren't eligible for dressing gowns and slippers (even though our confirmation showed this) and that we could get a towel instead from the leisure club reception. So we went back down and went off to use the sauna/pool for a bit. Then we had to go back out and upstairs in our damp towels to the Spa for our first treatment. Then as it was lunchtime you have to go back down to the public places for lunch so off to the pool changing rooms again to get dressed so we could eat. Then we checked in and went back for our second treatment, so hardly a relaxing easy going Spa experience so although the treatments were good I wouldn't recommend it for a Spa Day. Our stay included a three course dinner so we went in for that, the menu was limited but we were ok with that. I chose soup but realised after they served it I had no spoon so had to spend a few minutes trying to get one, no problem as soup was hot so I took my time as we were chatting. I was gobsmacked when half way through eating my main was put in front of me. He said he could keep it warm which wasn't ideal so he ended up taking my soup away so I could eat the main. My daughter wanted sauces but two members of staff and almost ten minutes later seemed a bit of a wait. Burger was horrible, chewy and gristly so we both left them. Then when we came to chose puddings there were four, two were ice cream, two contained nuts. We asked if the sticky toffee with nut sauce could come without sauce, it could he said, but the pudding had nuts in too. Gutted! So ice cream it was and that was cheap nasty ice cream so that got left as well. So disappointed, I stay in Bournemouth two or three times a year, and this doesn't compare to the likes of the Norfolk Royale which is also four star. Their food is fantastic, this wasn't even Wetherspoons standard. No shampoo or conditioner in the rooms, rooms only slightly better than a Travelodge. Wouldn't stay again unless they brought their prices in line with a Travelodge which is where they need to be if this is what they offer. Bitterly disappointed De Vere, two birthdays spoilt! One plus side, breakfast was good so at least we didn't starve.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarajayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The hotel is perfectly fine if you are happy with a slightly upmarket Premier Inn /Travelodge experience at the company’s expense but if you want a holiday experience you might want to look for somewhere a bit closer to Bournemouth.
In particular, with respect to the website wording:-
“Where life’s a beach” – the beach (and life) is 3-4 miles away.
“You’ll love to be beside the seaside at Bournemouth Village” – you might if this were true but you might instead love to be beside the Hospital, Tesco 24 hour megastore and the rest of the business park.
“Learn to surf” – in the indoor pool maybe?
“Catch some rays” – admittedly the sun does occasionally shine on the outside tables which are in the car park.
“Dine al fresco in beachfront cafes” – just a short taxi ride away, £14 each way.
“When the sun goes down head for cocktails in the town’s vibrant nightspots” - just a short taxi ride away, £14 each way.
To sum up, nothing much wrong with this hotel if you are a business customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a clear view of the hospital rather than a concrete ballustrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank I_and_she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I think Trip Advisor need to change the name.

I slept over here twice on business, and both times it was perfectly serviceable. No frills, but felt classier and nicer than an Travelodge with thoughtful fixtures and fittings. Good amount of pillows and good lights in the room. I slept very well both times and will return.

They boast a spa & gym but I didn't use these facilities. There are options within the hotel for dining at a pub or grill & there is a Starbucks too.

Wifi was painfully slow. If you're going to offer superslow free Wifi, please can you offer a pay-per-use fast Wifi too? I had work to do and this really slowed me down. (I do appreciate free Wifi, but relying on it can be difficult!)

Tray charge is £3.00 for those that prefer to eat in bed ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wandering_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a couple of nights here as a treat for our Granddaughter to go to Monkey World during the school holidays. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful. The family room we had was clean although when the beds were made after the first night it looked liked it had been rushed. Breakfast was OK, not a huge selection but good enough for a good start to the day. My Granddaughter loved the pool BUT over half it it is roped off in two sections for swimmers doing lengths we must have spent a total of six hours over the three days we were there and there was never more than four people in that side of the pool and most of the time they were resting against the edge while the kids and parents were crowded into about a third of the area. there was also exercise classes which were conducted at one end of the pool meaning that a dozen family's were crowded into now about a sixth of the pool while the other side was empty. It is a small point but one that means we would look for another hotel should we go back with her. When I pointed this out the staff were understanding but obviously had no authority to change the set up. The restaurant was very good huge portions especially for the ribs and the flat bread although the bar did charge us close to £10.00 for an admittedly large glass of wine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights, and had chosen the hotel for its location close to Poole and within an hour of Portsmouth, and it's leisure facilities. Service was very good, friendly helpful staff (especially at Breakfast) and an excellent range of facilities. Huge swimming pool with excellent changing facilities, and a lifeguard present - but it wasn't as well supervised as it could have been (a lot of families ignoring health and safety rules which were not enforced). Reasonably expensive for what you get (no free biscuits!) but a very nice large room with plenty of space.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPeterDRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

£142 for this standard is over the top, okay the hotel is cleanish but needs some tender loving care and a make over.
The book in time of three oclock is poor, get there early or you may wait an hour to be booked in. The location is not great if you do not want to use your car, all beaches and shopping centres are a drive away.
Come on De Vere you did much better than this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngal45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
985 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing