We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly acceptable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was booked into this hotel on business, on Upper Deck, and found it better than your average leisure break motel.

The Upper Deck is a mix of genuinely worthwhile extras - like comfy beds, great linen and comfortable seating plus some slightly chavtastic extras such as 'starbucks' instant coffee sachets and complimentary toiletries described as 'pinchable'.

The breakfast was OK. I had thought it would be awful based on other reviews here but it wasn't that bad. There was a good choice of juices (including orange juice with bits), good coffee, a choice of cut fruits including a fresh fruit bowl and the cooked items were not greasy. However, others are right in that the croissants and bread were dry, the quality of the cooked items not great and the usual cheese and ham buffet offerings not in evidence. I was at breakfast as they opened due to work commitments, so everything should have been at maximum freshness.

The Verve Grill early evening menu was fine and a very good price but, overall, it was outweighed by the expensive drinks - £4.20 for a 750ml bottle of still water. Not even served with ice.

Reception were very friendly, happy and made easy conversation - both when I arrived and when I checked out.

I understand there is also a good set of leisure facilities here which would add to the value of a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    555
    349
    146
    101
See reviews for
413
603
64
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The rooms were to a good quality and all staff were very friendly and helpful. We wanted a hotel with a pool to take our granddaughter swimming, on an overnight stay between visiting the beech at Hengisbury Head and Paultons Park. The pool here seems to be part of a leisure centre and there for run like one. Lane swimming, and aqua aerobics, also no children after 7pm (there are other time restrictions I believe to) so if you have children be aware of the time table so they are not disappointed. This is a very good hotel for the price we paid and we enjoyed our stay. Excellent food in the bar restuarant at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickeyboy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

This is a run of the mill village hotel. Rooms are lovely and spacious and very clean, however could do with more light !!
Food was lovely and service was great
Breakfast was a disappointment, only grapefruit in the fruit section, stale croissants and horrendous scrambled eggs. Staff also didn't provide any direction for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodiea80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

A mixed group of us visited here recently for their Sunday Carvery Lunch. WOW! what a pleasant experience - a very relaxed buffet affair with so much choice it was mind boggling!

A 5-course lunch for £12.50 (ish) without drinks is incredible and to execute it with such variety, quality and service is nothing short of miraculous!!

Soup, cold meat, fish and pate starters, sumptuous carvery for mains (or freshly cooked pasta if you would rather) followed by mouth watering desserts and cheese and biscuits was the order of the day - oh yes, and freshly cooked waffles with toppings galore if you've any room left.

Excellent value and very pleasant surroundings with ample parking - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWoodsDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed at the De Vere Village in Bournemouth as we were attending a wedding reception. The room was very clean and comfortable. Check in and out was very smooth. Breakfast was included and was what I expected. Staff were very helpful and professional. You get access to the gym from the point of check in until 3pm the day of check out. Parking is free as well.

Would definitely recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiffy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Good gym, sauna and swimming pool. You can still use it after the beach on the same day you check out. Open until 10 pm, children allowed until 7pm. Good food/breakfast in the restaurant, check special deals. There is a table-tennis in the 1st floor, they should offer a kids club during school holidays. You need a car to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

just come back from a 2 day stay here. Decided against taking the car to keep the cost down, reading on the hotel description its close to the beaches. OMG how wrong were they. we arrived at the train station and asked for walking directions to the hotel only to be told its impossible to walk there. took a cab to a business park where the hotel is situated. £14. checked in then decided to walk to the beach as its 'close'. myself and 15 year old son then walked following directions for 3/4 of an hour. after this we got puzzled and a newsagent confirmed we hadnt gone wrong in directions but it would take another 3/4 of an hour. i dont consider an hour and a half tidy walk to be close to any beaches. there were buses we found out opposite the hotel at the hospital which cost £4 return for 2 to bournemouth and took half an hour. taxis cost on average £10 - £14 each way to get into the town. The rooms are average travelodge quality. internet worked fine, no ipod dock which was advertised, tv channels bog standard terrestrial plus sky news and sport. vibrant decor was a hard bed, a brown sofa, and an obligatory wooden desk and wardrobe. tea and coffee facilities were there. room overlooked a concrete ballustrade and window opened 4 inches at best which meant that due to the temperature throughout the hotel being roasting we had to use the a/c which was a shame. the room was a good size tho. the bathroom had 2 nasty soap dispensers making it feel very M1 service station rather than nice hotel. we had a dirty towel in the bathroom, and the finish was stained in places, peeling and shabby in others.

Breakfast involved a long line to a bog standard breakfast buffet, of cheap sausages, bacon, beans, mushrooms and eggs. bulk bought continental pastries, the toast and machine and cereal and juice. it was fine but nothing special.

Didnt use the leisure facilities as by the time we had made our way back from town they were shut.

to be honest i wouldnt come here again. its too far out and not enough going for it to merit the expense of travelling to and from the town. if i was the hotel and wanted to make things better i'd run a complimentary minibus to and from the town once an hour.

Room Tip: i'd upgrade. our room was like a travellodge quality. it was clean tho other than the towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing