We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #33 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Just ok...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed recently for one night.
Location is pretty far out from city centre...it's in a business park type of place beside the hospital.
Check in is effIcient and friendly.
Public areas are ok - plenty of room and a large starbucks there as well.
Bedrooms are a reasonable size and are clean. Lots of "missing" details - no tea of coffee facilities, bathroom run out of shampoo or shower gel. However the bed was comfortable and the room clean and quiet.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic - lots of people, few staff seemed to be on so lots of dirty tables, piles of dirty dishes and buffet needing stocked and largely empty.
I wouldn't rush to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    555
    349
    146
    101
See reviews for
413
603
64
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Me and Sarah stayed here for 2 nights (sat - mon) for a cycling event held in the new forrest. Its roughly a half hour drive to the forrest which we thought was perfect in fairness.

Well on arrival at hotel your check in time is from 15:00pm....we arrived at 16:15 to find our room was not ready yet. Now my self i am not to fussed by this (im on holiday :-) ) but Sarah was just about to rip the recepionist's throat out - untill he offered a free drink in the on site Starbucks. She was still annoyed but it took the blow out of it! The Starbucks was a bit dirty but nothing more than you would find in a normal street one.

Reception was clean with plenty of seating. The bar/pub (yes onsite proper pub) looked nice but we did not go in here (shamefully).
We recieved our key cards - For me slightly annoying, i know its petty but the plastic round the edges had started to raise and i just think a hotel like this should be better! after all its the little things that make the big changes right!

Room - Well we was shocked at how spacious it was! big double (twins) bed, sofa, big tv, desk, wardrobe, and most likely one of the biggest bathrooms i've been in for a hotel! was excellent! Air con little noisey but other than that all fine!
Later discovered the walls are pretty thin - Someone playing music at half 6 in morning was not needed but hey just count the beats and back to sleep i go! All the eye hole on the door...didnt have a cover....so on opening my eyes...beam of light directly at them! again a little thing but it did annoy me!

Our main purpose for going was a 60 mile bike ride....Our plan to have brekkie then go to the ride. Unfortunalty on a sunday breakfast does not start till 8am so that was annoying (starbucks is also shut till then) So we found this annoying as we had paid for it but we really couldnt wait till then to have it! I also found this really late even for a sunday? maybe something could be done to change this?

Once back from the bike ride (like a tropical storm) we went to spa area......Changing rooms clean, with family and disabled sections. Loads of showers, the pool is huge with a hot tub inside which was nice. The sauna, steam room and hot tub were all clean and the sauna was the perfect temp! There is also a sun lounger part on the other side of the pool which is a good idea in the summer. Towels also supplied with no questions asked!

Wifi was free - Great! Car park barrier - not so great! Was very on/off whether it would work when you left the hotel!
One lift for the size of the hotel....sort of worked but at times it needed 2!

Monday morning - the breakfast was well needed as im sure you can understand! it was perfect! great scrambled egg and sausages too! plenty to choose from! My only thing to add to this......NO HASH BROWNS! get this added and it would be perfect. Sarah mention the coffee was horrid - for a hotel with Starbucks on site, maybe offer their coffee in the morning (again little things)

So overall we had a good stay at the Village hotel and would stay their again - but could do with some little changes to make all the difference!!

P.S the price we paid (£100 a night) seems a bit high, we bth agreed the £70-£80 would of been more suited!

Also check our my other review for the trusty servant pub.....Well worth the 20 min drive!

Room Tip: we had room 311....there was no view! just next door's air con. but that didnt really bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigdave645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Check in was friendly, but efficient. The rooms were neat and tidy with free wi-fi which is always a bonus as a business traveller. There was however no tea or coffee making facilities which let it down slightly - it's just something you come to expect more than anything.

I didn't get to use the leisure facilities, but colleagues have told me that they're of a high standard from previous visits.

The breakfast was good - very similar to a premier inn breakfast which can't be beaten really. Dinner however left something to be desired, and after my first night I wasn't going to be eating there again - poor selection and poor quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAshleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is modern and comfortable my only reservation with it was the health centre and spa facilities (although very good quality) were mainly used by leisure club members so it was like staying in a David Lloyd centre with bedrooms!! I suppose this would be good for a business trip but not really geared up for holidaymakers as we wanted to explore the area and there wasn't a single leaflet advertising anything to do in Bournemouth the only literature positioned in reception was trying to get new members to join the centre (too full of posers for us)also half the pool was taken up with kids having private swimming lessons

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on higher floor as the gym and fitness classes were on the first floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in Bournemouth for the air show.. Luckily for us, the hotel was a short walk from one of the air show park and rides, which was well-organised, so our journey to the cliffs and back was very straightforward. The room was spacious and satisfactory for our two night stay. The pool was excellent, you could have a proper swim, with lanes roped off. The changing room facilities were good with spacious shower cubicles with shampoo dispensers, and a swimming costume spin drier. The breakfasts were as good as expected and we could park free, you sometimes have to pay for this. My only criticism was that the lift was slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelerine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is basically a business hotel but it is dog friendly and the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was a little disappointing in that the bread was processed sliced - no home baked bread or rolls. Croissants and nice pastries.though . All the usual hot stuff which I don't normally eat. I had 2 fried eggs but although I like mine runny I had to be careful as they all looked under cooked. We had a drink in the bar and as expected the drinks were very expensive. The pool is large and had swimming lanes which suited me as I like to swim when I'm in a pool. The staff were very friendly. A bit disappointing that they had no information for tourists - they said because it was the end of the summer ( 4th Sept !). There is free wifi so we searched the internet for info. We toured the area - Boscombe, Poole Quay, Swanage - what a lovely area ! Beautiful beaches which unfortunaltely our dog is not allowed on until 1st Oct. The hotel is easy to find as it is opposite the main hospital. A couple of miles from central Bournemouth. We booked the hotel thro exedia so it wasn't too expensive but there was a charge hidden on expedia of £15 per night for the dog.

Room Tip: The top floor has upgraded rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H0rseybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I was booked into this hotel on business, on Upper Deck, and found it better than your average leisure break motel.

The Upper Deck is a mix of genuinely worthwhile extras - like comfy beds, great linen and comfortable seating plus some slightly chavtastic extras such as 'starbucks' instant coffee sachets and complimentary toiletries described as 'pinchable'.

The breakfast was OK. I had thought it would be awful based on other reviews here but it wasn't that bad. There was a good choice of juices (including orange juice with bits), good coffee, a choice of cut fruits including a fresh fruit bowl and the cooked items were not greasy. However, others are right in that the croissants and bread were dry, the quality of the cooked items not great and the usual cheese and ham buffet offerings not in evidence. I was at breakfast as they opened due to work commitments, so everything should have been at maximum freshness.

The Verve Grill early evening menu was fine and a very good price but, overall, it was outweighed by the expensive drinks - £4.20 for a 750ml bottle of still water. Not even served with ice.

Reception were very friendly, happy and made easy conversation - both when I arrived and when I checked out.

I understand there is also a good set of leisure facilities here which would add to the value of a stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Collingwood
Hotel Collingwood
#7 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing