We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not 'v.good'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Everything at the Village is 'V.' V.Happy V.Good V.ictoryBar, V.erve Restaurant V.elocity Health Club etc. Well it's C.lean E.fficient F.unctional, but N.othing Special.
The restaurant is dated and the menu is unexciting, the breakfast rather average - why nanny guests by not providing fried bread - an essential part of a traditional 'Full English' and then providing unhealthy sticky pastries for breakfast? We stayed in the premium 'Top Deck' rooms, which were nice and stylish, but small and no better than one might expect a normal room to be. The pool is nice and big but can be packed with noisy classes which detracts from the luxury relaxed experience many guests will be looking for. More a business hotel than a premium destination. Oh, and the mobile network reception in the hotel is V. bad to nil - which is unforgivable these days. V. out of X for effort V.illage.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthseaMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,126 - 2,132 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

we (a family of 4 females) visited her on the 21st September for one night. We had booked 1 night the works spa break. The receptionist was very polite and helpful, rooms were ready on arrival and were very welcoming and spacious. spa treatments were amazing and one of the best we have had (back massage, facial & pedicure) - absolutely love the heated massage table you lay on - what an experience and the staff are really friendly. we felt so relaxed after this. Pool, sauna and steam room were lovely - a nice way to end the evening before enjoying a delightful 3 three course meal. The food was lovely (although slightly rich for me) and all my family thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast - fantastic variety - a well worth experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannahlr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed recently for one night.
Location is pretty far out from city centre...it's in a business park type of place beside the hospital.
Check in is effIcient and friendly.
Public areas are ok - plenty of room and a large starbucks there as well.
Bedrooms are a reasonable size and are clean. Lots of "missing" details - no tea of coffee facilities, bathroom run out of shampoo or shower gel. However the bed was comfortable and the room clean and quiet.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic - lots of people, few staff seemed to be on so lots of dirty tables, piles of dirty dishes and buffet needing stocked and largely empty.
I wouldn't rush to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Me and Sarah stayed here for 2 nights (sat - mon) for a cycling event held in the new forrest. Its roughly a half hour drive to the forrest which we thought was perfect in fairness.

Well on arrival at hotel your check in time is from 15:00pm....we arrived at 16:15 to find our room was not ready yet. Now my self i am not to fussed by this (im on holiday :-) ) but Sarah was just about to rip the recepionist's throat out - untill he offered a free drink in the on site Starbucks. She was still annoyed but it took the blow out of it! The Starbucks was a bit dirty but nothing more than you would find in a normal street one.

Reception was clean with plenty of seating. The bar/pub (yes onsite proper pub) looked nice but we did not go in here (shamefully).
We recieved our key cards - For me slightly annoying, i know its petty but the plastic round the edges had started to raise and i just think a hotel like this should be better! after all its the little things that make the big changes right!

Room - Well we was shocked at how spacious it was! big double (twins) bed, sofa, big tv, desk, wardrobe, and most likely one of the biggest bathrooms i've been in for a hotel! was excellent! Air con little noisey but other than that all fine!
Later discovered the walls are pretty thin - Someone playing music at half 6 in morning was not needed but hey just count the beats and back to sleep i go! All the eye hole on the door...didnt have a cover....so on opening my eyes...beam of light directly at them! again a little thing but it did annoy me!

Our main purpose for going was a 60 mile bike ride....Our plan to have brekkie then go to the ride. Unfortunalty on a sunday breakfast does not start till 8am so that was annoying (starbucks is also shut till then) So we found this annoying as we had paid for it but we really couldnt wait till then to have it! I also found this really late even for a sunday? maybe something could be done to change this?

Once back from the bike ride (like a tropical storm) we went to spa area......Changing rooms clean, with family and disabled sections. Loads of showers, the pool is huge with a hot tub inside which was nice. The sauna, steam room and hot tub were all clean and the sauna was the perfect temp! There is also a sun lounger part on the other side of the pool which is a good idea in the summer. Towels also supplied with no questions asked!

Wifi was free - Great! Car park barrier - not so great! Was very on/off whether it would work when you left the hotel!
One lift for the size of the hotel....sort of worked but at times it needed 2!

Monday morning - the breakfast was well needed as im sure you can understand! it was perfect! great scrambled egg and sausages too! plenty to choose from! My only thing to add to this......NO HASH BROWNS! get this added and it would be perfect. Sarah mention the coffee was horrid - for a hotel with Starbucks on site, maybe offer their coffee in the morning (again little things)

So overall we had a good stay at the Village hotel and would stay their again - but could do with some little changes to make all the difference!!

P.S the price we paid (£100 a night) seems a bit high, we bth agreed the £70-£80 would of been more suited!

Also check our my other review for the trusty servant pub.....Well worth the 20 min drive!

Room Tip: we had room 311....there was no view! just next door's air con. but that didnt really bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigdave645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Check in was friendly, but efficient. The rooms were neat and tidy with free wi-fi which is always a bonus as a business traveller. There was however no tea or coffee making facilities which let it down slightly - it's just something you come to expect more than anything.

I didn't get to use the leisure facilities, but colleagues have told me that they're of a high standard from previous visits.

The breakfast was good - very similar to a premier inn breakfast which can't be beaten really. Dinner however left something to be desired, and after my first night I wasn't going to be eating there again - poor selection and poor quality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAshleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is modern and comfortable my only reservation with it was the health centre and spa facilities (although very good quality) were mainly used by leisure club members so it was like staying in a David Lloyd centre with bedrooms!! I suppose this would be good for a business trip but not really geared up for holidaymakers as we wanted to explore the area and there wasn't a single leaflet advertising anything to do in Bournemouth the only literature positioned in reception was trying to get new members to join the centre (too full of posers for us)also half the pool was taken up with kids having private swimming lessons

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on higher floor as the gym and fitness classes were on the first floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ktester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in Bournemouth for the air show.. Luckily for us, the hotel was a short walk from one of the air show park and rides, which was well-organised, so our journey to the cliffs and back was very straightforward. The room was spacious and satisfactory for our two night stay. The pool was excellent, you could have a proper swim, with lanes roped off. The changing room facilities were good with spacious shower cubicles with shampoo dispensers, and a swimming costume spin drier. The breakfasts were as good as expected and we could park free, you sometimes have to pay for this. My only criticism was that the lift was slow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pelerine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
4.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
624 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £42 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing