We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely busy hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend break after finding a deal through Late Rooms. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from Bournemouth town centre/beach. We stayed in a standard room which was very big. The room had tea/coffee making facilities, iron/board, tv etc. breakfast was included in the deal and we had the choice of cooked English breakfast, cereal, fruit, toast, pastries, fruit juice, so a very good selection. The swimming pool was nice. As a non-swimmer I liked the fact that there was no deep end, the pool was all one depth. There was a couple of lanes for swimmers and an area for those who just wanted to bob about! There was also a steam room, sauna, jacuzzi. There was a towel borrowing service as well. The hotel has a bar serving pub grub and also a bar which serves more upmarket meals. There was also a Starbucks on site. Just a couple go niggly things: the double bed was two singles pushed together which we were not impressed with. Also the rooms were very warm, including the breakfast room. Bar prices are expensive and very busy due to parties in the early evening before these party goers retired to their own areas. Overall, a very relaxed laid back stay. Will certainly use this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 20141008mte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    677
    411
    169
    119
See reviews for
516
730
87
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Me and my partner only wanted a short stay and this hotel was perfect for that but would also be perfect for any stay. It had everything - leisure facilities (free to use) including swimming pool, steam room and sauna, Starbucks coffee, it's own pub and restaurant! The room was lovely and breakfast in the morning was good too! The hotel had free wifi too which was a bonus! The hotel wasn't too far away from the beach (about 5 mins) and wS close to a shopping centre (about 2-3 mins). I will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are nice enough but the sound of the upper deck rooms sound even better with sky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Great 2 night stay, staff extremely helpful and friendly, free wireless, had food in pub which was tasty and great value for money £3 for Friday special. Fantastic use of leisure facilities at no additional cost. Hotel is a £10 taxi ride away for town centre or you can use a bus that stops outside hotel from hospital opposite

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pardoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We have stayed here before and it is always a good standard. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and seem to work extraordinarily long hours. The room is clean and warm. Spacious would be too much, but it is serviceable and one can move around with reasonable comfort when the sofa bed is out. However, our kids are now 9 & 7 and I would suggest that the sofa bed is too small for them to share and the boys are not gargantuan merely average size, so it is unlikely we would stay again but only for that reason.

The food is good, service in the restaurant is friendly if a little haphazard. The breakfast is fantastic.

Any problems were rectified with efficiency and minimum fuss. We managed to lose a key, required extra pillows (only 4 provided for 4 people in the room) and our bath plughole needed unblocking.

Tea and coffee is provided in the room and hanging space is good. Although could have done with some hooks on the wall behind the door for coats. The space is there and would have left more room in the wardrobe for other clothes.

The pool and leisure facilities are great and overall the hotel is great for families with smaller kids than ours (only for the bed situation).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theladylunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Used this hotel for one night stay and sunday lunch, as always great service good food,great pool/gym would always stay here. this hotel is 15-20 mins drive to the beach but very easy to drive to.if you want to upgrade to the upperdeck you get more in the room and a higher room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ste12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here on 8th to 11 Nov as we have family in the area. We have stayed here may times and always found it very good. It is really easy to find, just follow the hospital signs. The staff were very polite to us all the time. The rooms could do with a little makeover but they are very adequate. Breakfast is a buffett and you need never go hungry. You can go to th buffet as many times as you like. We used the swimming pool as we took our grandchildren as you would expect Saturday afternoon was very busy, but we had a good time.

This is a good hotel to use as a base when in Bournemouth.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 237 you are overlooking a flat roof so have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1-night in November as I was due in Bournemouth for a meeting. I didn't want to stay in the centre so we decided on this hotel.

The check-in procedure was excellent, Matt (I think that was his name!) was really warm and helpful which was a great start. Our room was a decent size but we had no view - just a flooded roof.

We decided to eat at the hotel in the evening as there was nowhere within walking distance to choose from (other than a Tesco Café!) but the choice of menu was poor. The price of £29 total for 2 people was a good offer but even if you chose not to do this offer the choices didn't increase.

Breakfast was ample; choice of continental and full English but the bacon, eggs and sausages were cold. I would return as there was nothing wrong with the hotel but it was just average - I wouldn't eat there though next time unless they add some options to the menu!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bchilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,523 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
894 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,033 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing