We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great family friendly hotel”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We've stayed at this particular De Vere Village twice now. It's ideally located, near lot's of things, including Castle Point out of town shopping centre (TK Maxx, Next, River Island, Asda etc) and Snowtrax (outdoor ski slope etc). There is a Tesco literally behind the hotel, so if you need anything you can just pop in there. We have done dinner, bed and breakfast on the first night, and then bed and breakfast on the following nights both stays. The dinner is not great quality, but both times has been available in the package deal so I guess is still worth it, as it is a three course meal and the sticky toffee pudding is lovely. The breakfast is very generous, although it could do with being served slightly later, as 10am for last sitting at the weekend is not that late.... Having stayed at a few of the De Vere Village hotels, this one is looking slightly tired compared to some of the others, but still has all the brilliant facilities, like a great gym/pool etc and a Starbucks and has the same relaxed and comfortable atmosphere that they all seem to have. Another big plus is that the staff are all brilliant, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    648
    401
    164
    113
See reviews for
491
707
76
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were looking for a New Year break. We would normally book a sea-view hotel, but decided to book at the Village so we could use the spa facilities & pool - it was certainly the right choice, well placed - within 10 minutes of the sea, Bournemouth Town Centre, Castle Point Shopping and the New Forest. Other pubs/restaurants are nearby.

The staff were excellent, and we were made to feel truly welcome from booking in right through to check-out.

The hotel could have received a 5 rating, but the breakfast was only average [I feel Premier Inn offer the best buffet currently], and the bathroom was looking tired, and the towels were getting thin.

+ Well located, good facilities and friendly staff. Free onsite parking.

- Refocus on the Breakfast. Refresh bathrooms with new towels and sealant. Retune the TV to avoid break-up & missing channels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked this a while ago to spend my 40th there in mid December. Two nights in the upper deck, which is well worth the investment for such a small increase. The hotel Is probably a couple of miles out of town centre but with the increasing noise from stag and hen parties in town and the ease of transport links it was worth the taxi ride.

The car park is huge so no trouble parking. The reception is large and inviting and the staff are polite and efficient. The upper deck rooms are sumptuous and worth the investment. Beds are comfortable and the sky tv with all the sports/movies thrown in proved worthwhile on a hungover Sunday.

First night we ate out but the next morning's breakfast was the standard continental/English buffet collection but the ingredients were better than the cheap salty rubbish at most hotels of this price range.

Sunday was spa day and we changed our minds countless times on treatments and numbers but nothing was too much trouble. The treatments were outstanding for the price. In the evening we ate at the pub in the hotel, the only disappointment of the stay was the absence of any proper ales despite cask marque but that was the only thing. The meals were decent and not too expensive considering the lack of choice in the surrounding location.

In all a very enjoyable stay for a very reasonable price. Worth the journey into town as you couldn't get this sort of treatment and standard in the town centre for this price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stuartorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over Christmas , it was myself, partner and 1 year old son. Location was great as we were visiting family only 5 mins away, the room was a good size for what we needed and a cot was provided. The only downside to our stay was that we wanted to take our son swimming which was advertised until 7pm but when we got to the pool were told it was 5pm as it was Christmas , surely they should keep children's swimming open longer with all the families staying! Obviously the members take priority to paying hotel guests. Apart from this everything was ok.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieMarchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Quite busy hotel excellent value for money. Bar staff and the reception staff very helpful. Nice location not too far from the station and the Beach. Plenty of car park. Take your on toiletries if your lucky you might be able to buy at the reception. ( THAT WAS ONLY MAIN ISSUE) Nice Starbucks coffee shop very friendly.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rioram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Booked a last minute weekend break for my family. 4 sharing a room but it was fine as the room was big enough. The staff were fantastic, everyone was friendly, attentive and eager to please. My only gripe was that, due to the Xmas party season, the only food was served in the bar. Billed pub grub it was, frankly pretty awful. Their idea of a pizza was a piece of brittle, dry flatbread with a strip of cheddar cheese and some ham up the middle. Nacho's had a piddly topping so basically £7 for a bowl of warm chips. Service was very slow and the staff apologised that it was due to pressure in the kitchen. When we tried to order desert we told that the kitchen was closed but, to be fair, our waitress appealed on our behalf and we got puds. Its a shame because the spa and rest of the hotel were great. Would I go back? definitely, I'm sure it was just a bad shift in the kitchen.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moorman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I have been here many times for conferences with work and food and service has always been excellent.
but the Christmas meal was awful.
Starters salmon dry been left on plate in hot kitchen, chicken pate tiny potion, cheap pate inedible.
Main course, which you collect yourself from small service area, processed turkey from a roll, beef more like braising steak.soft roast potatoes and parsnips, veg was cooked well
pudding, tiny slice of xmas pudding and I mean tiny, 1/2 inch thick, same with chocolate roulade.
mince pies, one small bite was enough, dry soft pastry little to no filling . cheapest pies going I would imagine.
felt this meal at £30 a head was nothing more than a money making exercise by the hotel, and hum a few empty tables maybe they went last year or word is out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stjean11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
859 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
991 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Village Hotel Bournemouth
Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing