We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Service and atmosphere generally was good, relaxed and suitable for a short family break, pool is huge, restaurant and pub food very good, 3 of us in a family room a bit cramped with a zed bed taking up all the floor space and you can't upgrade to upper deck with children, not sure if that's fair especially over Xmas!? Room wasn't cleaned well during the stay and neither were communal areas which after 3nts got a bit too noticeable :( children can't use the pool until after 9am but on Xmas hol/school breaks I think they should make exceptions as it was very quiet and they don't make this clear until you go to get in to the pool area, Xmas day lunch and staff excellent, could have used a little evening entertainment later on though.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank GloucestershirePips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,784 - 1,790 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

A family member booked 10 of us in for a meal on Sat 15th. We all live in different parts of the country so we met for a night out for a get together. We all chose to have the set menu for the Valentines weekend. The starters were good, the main courses were terrible, and the majority did not get what they ordered which was Roasted cod with lobster sauce. It arrived covered in mussels, as one of our party hates mussels this had to go back and the replacement was uneatable. The £10 supplement for the special, in normal circumstances would have been justified but when you are served an overcooked dried out piece of poor roast beef, instead of fillet steak, (we know our meat, one member of the party is a retired beef producing farmer) which is sent back because it is un-edible the whole evening went from bad to worse. Some choose to have sweets but most of us had lost our appetites. Obviously we complained and the manager and staff could not have been more apologetic and offered us discounts and meal vouchers. We marked it down to experience and did not let it spoil our evening. Can't comment on rooms etc as did not stay over. Went to the Cumberland for Sunday lunch next day, excellent made up for Sat night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RobbieEnglishLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Rooms very clean and nicely decorated with all mod cons i.e. Sky tv, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer and toiletries provided. Stayed on a deal so very good value for money on a bed and breakfast basis. Good leisure facilities and a nice Starbucks on site for a good coffee. What the major downside to this hotel was the prices of the drinks in the bar and the fact that most of the draft beers were off for some reason and then the ones they served you were flat and undrinkable - BUT still wanted full price for substandard drinks. We had lunch in the Victory Pub only a sandwich but we had to send it back as the bread it was served on was stale. They apologised and replaced it with no problem but gave us stale bread again and at £6.00/7.00 a sandwich you expect it to be fresh. Would stay again but probably eat/drink somewhere else.

Room Tip: We had a party of 10 and all the rooms were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal5166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Met a friend for a quick bite to eat at around 7.30pm. Only three tables in use in the restaurant so you would think no issues in getting a table. Unfortunately the computer said 8.15pm was the earliest we could have a table, we said we would eat in the bar, thinking the girl might entice us to stay, but no not a word. The bar menu is very limited, ended up having a veggie burger with pesto dip. It came out with mayonnaise and coleslaw and no explanation. The food was OK, but nothing special, what a disappointment. I recently stayed here over Christmas and had an excellent stay, tonight however it felt like they couldn't quite be bothered.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Aliflump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as got a great spa break deal. The hotel itself is great everything you could need. Unfortunately the majority of the staff just appear uninterested and really do not want to be there, not rude just not really fussed. That said however the ladies in the spa were fab nothing too much trouble and extremely welcoming

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was my second stay in a Village Hotel. I'm impressed. Rooms are large and very well equipped, good beds and bedding; wifi everywhere, very sociable staff, and clean and modern public areas, very well used by locals and visitors. Not my ideal place for a longer stay, but perfect for an overnight. This one is out of town, but next door to the general Hospital, so well serviced by bus and taxi, and handy for Ring Road.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Upgraded to 'upper deck' room and was really impressed. Lovely room, Sky Movies, IPod docking station, nice toiletries etc. The hotel has good facilities too, including a really great gym, Starbucks, bar, etc. Staff were v friendly and helpful too. The only downside was the wifi. Poor reception. However, would definitely return!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Antony_of_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
941 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
985 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing