We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the restaurant service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 November 2009

Well after reading other reviews I thought I would be giving this a 'very good' but after my experience in the restaurant it gets an 'average' only. I went into the restaurant at about 8.30 and was seated straight away and they took a drink order. A simple pint. …..... And then took my food order about 10 mins later. Fine so far but would by now have expected to have been served my drink. 5 mins. after that I had to ask where it was? "Oh, sorry sir, we are very busy tonight". No way. I reckon the restaurant has about 100-120 covers. There were 14 diners and 3 staff serving on. No idea what the kitchen staffing was like but if they can't cope with 14 diners in a restaurant of that size then they should shut up shop now. No excuses.

I then get the waiter serving my main course despite clearly ordering a starter as well. He looked bewildered when I asked where my starter was! If the same person who took the order served, or if they had a maitre de who would clearly spot at least the lack of drink if not both issues, my review could have been different.

I then have a strong suspicion my main course was then kept warm, rather than freshly cooked again. I wish I'd told them not to bother with the starter. Interestingly the man at the next table smirked at this problem and said originally he had been served the wrong starter. Clearly a problem brain wise amongst the staff.

Maybe after driving 300 miles and half a days work I was cranky, but surely I am not expecting too much to get simple orders right in a relatively quiet restaurant?

Next gripe. I was told said pint and starter would be complimentary. I go to sign the chit on leaving only to see the pint (but at least not the starter were on the bill). Young lad said can't delete it, but will make sure it is not on final bill at check-out. I had doubts about this but in fairness I wasn't charged for it.

On the plus side, the front of house staff on check-in and leisure facilities were/are good. Would I re-visit? Possibly yes but would eat out.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChorleyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,367 - 2,373 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2009

Hotel staff very helpful, and very willing to help too, which is a rare sight these days. Rooms are of a very high standard, very comfortable and extremely clean. Restaurant was very nice and the food was excellent. We did not use the gym or spa facilities, so we cant comment on these. Overall we had an excellent experience at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Only downside would be the location near the hospital, but that did not bother us at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToSumUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

First time we had stayed at a DeVere Village Hotel. It was chosen as previous experiences with the DeVere group have been excellent.

Firstly the room. This was excellent and very clean. Comfortable bed and super pillows, large flat screen TV, two chairs, work station and a small table. Free WiFi which worked very well. Tea and coffee making facilities provided. Bathroom was spacious, excellent shower over bath, nice white towels. Toiletries were only left on arrival and never replaced afterwards, but the room maid kept everything tidy daily. The hotel had a large free car park and leisure centre facilities were included in the price.

Now for the horror of the dining room. Our stay included the breakfast option. On arrival the first morning we and many others were asked to wait in a small area adjacent to the restaurant and our party size was noted by by a member of staff. Looking into the room it was apparent there were many uncleared tables and this is the reason for the delay. BUT the staff only EVER cleared one table at a time as the need required and expected you to sit surrounded by dirty tables covered in some cases in complete FILTH! Very unhygienic as it was warm weather with doors and windows open. Hot water for drinks (which was self-serve) was contained in flasks which were only ever intended for a conference room and totally inadequate for a busy breakfast service, these constantly ran out time after time. Delays also occurred in replenishing juice, cereal and the hot cooked buffet.
The same greeted us on the next morning, a long wait for a table was rewarded with (yet again) to be seated surrounded on all sides by dirty, uncleared tables and poor replenishment of food and beverages. Sausages ran out completely, well before service was due to end and we were told no more were available to be cooked that morning - shock horror - we ate from the remaining hot buffet only to find that 20 minutes later these had been replenished. It just shows that even the staff do not know what is going on!

We noted how the staff operated every morning and the approach was identical, dont clear anything unless you have to! Don't replace anything unless you really must! Make guests wait and as for customer service and satisfaction, forget it!

On checking out we spoke to the Duty Manager, his approach, body language and comments left us in no doubt he was totally unconcerned with our complaint and generally disinterested in his guests.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoudiccaIceniQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

The Hotel was fine (not as good as the Cheadle one, but still OK). However, they are very badly let down by the service and quality of food in the resturant. Please trust me it's not worth doing one of the Great Brtish Breaks or whatever they're called because your experience in the so called Resurant will spoil your holiday. The management didn't seem too interested in the issue either. If your going to Bournmouth look for something nearer town and make your own food plans.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PN2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Had a double family room, booked via Laterooms. The room was small but functional; couldn't find any of the little touches they advertise and if you have a stomper above you, you will hear it! They do allow dogs in the room and not just blind dogs.Three nights £287 with breakfast and the first night £18 voucher each adult for evening meal. They offer a children's buffet (chips, nuggets etc) for £5. The service is slow and they do forget you. I had the spagetti bol. which had no sauce and also the cheesecake with rum carmel with bananas, but no bananas. We weren't offered any discount or compensation, just sorry. A couple waited 20 minutes for a they drink and another 20 mins for their food!
The spa desk staff are not very welcoming and left us at the turnstiles for 10 mins while they dealt with another customer, all they had to do was press a button. The hot tub is small and the pool can get busy. Although the old men in the steam rooms and sauna can be quiet entertaining on their observations of the hen parties. The reception staff are miserable although we did find a happy one. The starbucks is good and the pub and reception area is a good place to sit.
A pretty average but clean hotel....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThorpedoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This is our second stay in 3 years at the Village Bournemouth. The hotel offers great value for money. Try booking a Great British Deal. We got a deal for 4nights, breakfast, dinner for 2xadults, 2xyoung Children (all drinks incl) for just £316. The hotel is modern which we like, it's very clean overall albeit the toilet's do smell slightly so work needed here. The rooms are a good average size, OK for our small family needs. The leisure facilities are great, swimming pool, gym, bar, Starbucks on site, free wifi. All the staff were very helpful especially in reception. Like so many of the other reviews the restaurant is poorly run, it's a mess. Breakfast is a shambles. The food at breakfast is dull, same everyday. Once again beware for chaos at breakfast, short on staff, not organised, food and drink always running out and even long waits to get in. Dinner first night was also a shambles, expect long waits, however, the last three nights have been better, I'm assumming the staff in the week are better than those at the weekend (I could be wrong!). The location of the hotel and parking are fab and a hospital opposite, great comfort in an emergency. Why have I valued it a four star even though the restuarant is poor, because this hotel offers true value especially for families. Expect the worse at breakfast and dinner and you won't be dissapointed by your stay here. Oh, the food is not bad either, but please Village if anyone from your Head Office or the Bournmouth Management, sort out mealtimes and you'll improve your Trip Advisor ranking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DXBXJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

There was a group of us - 4 adults. 5 kids and 1 baby - staying at The Village, Bournemouth in two rooms. We booked under the Great British Breaks which is breakfast/dinner and free room/food/drinks for kids. The rooms were on the small side with a fold up sofa bed for the kids. Rooms were clean. Nice shower.

Excellent, unlimited FREE wifi in your room and around the hotel, and a free paper delivered to your room (The Independent).

Easy to get around from the hotel - there is a bus stop outside across the road, next to the hospital. There is also a Tescos (24 hour round the corner) if you want to pick up sandwiches for a packed lunch if you are out all day. There is also a Starbucks onsite, but it is more expensive than a normal Starbucks.

FREE use of spa/steam room and pool is a plus.

Staff are pleasant.

However, when eating in the restaurant, service was SOOOOO SLOW. Eating dinner will take you around 2.5hours for two courses. On one evening, they had given our choice of desserts to someone else, but they gave us free drinks in this case. The food was good, if staying for a long time (more than 3 nights) the choice of meals may be repetive due to a limited Great British Breaks menu.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanbridesmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
4.3 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.4 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#20 of 67 in Bournemouth
625 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,592 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,026 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £43 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing