We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent, great service, cant wait to visit again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 29 July 2010

checked reviews online about this hotel and have to say this was very well run, service was excellent, food very nice and all staff very pleasant, nothing was too much for them.

Our room was spotless and very comfortable, large screen tv in room with drinks facilities always stocked up, sleeping was lovely and even had air conditioning, also various nights had entertainment on in the bar, Friday for the kids beef burger & chips only £2, would stay here again was well worth the money we paid, greta hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,059 - 2,065 of 2,137 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2010

I visited the Village hotel expected clean, decent rooms but bad service. Prevoius reviews complain about staff and food. I contradict these reviews.

When I first arived the huge carpark really caught my eye. Never were the spaces cometely full! It was a breeze. Whe we checked in, the recptionist was so very cheerful. She was more than happy to give us a map of the various attractions in Bournemouth. This particular woman was middle aged (nice speaking to grown up rathr than all these teenagers who work in hotels nowadays). I'm unhappy to tel you that other hotel staff were unhelpful. Another receptionist didn't want to answer our question about restaurants in Bournemouth.

Our room as very clean and spacious. I was very pleased :)

The breakfast was also very pleasing and offered everything.From fry up, to yoghurt and pastry.

Generally this hotel was good. The gym and swimming pol are perfect for adults. Not cluttered with children! :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xholidayxgurux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The staff and facilities at the hotel could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble and always with a smile. Perfect location for me, I would have died if I had been in the middle of town with all the football celebrations going on, but may not be ideal if all you want to do is party. Rooms were quiet and really comfortable, air conditoned in the height of a heatwave - sheer bliss. A swim and Jacuzzi after a hard days shopping was just the ticket.
Only problem was the GPS could not find it! I suggest you tell it the hospital, and turn right instead of left at roundabout (it is opposite hospital entrance, you can't miss it). And the shower in the room lacking water pressure, but was good down in the leisure centre, so was not a big problem. If I had been there on business I would not have been a happy bunny. It may just have been room 415, because the water pressure was okay, and plenty of hot water for a bath. I have told the management to check it out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianecarole2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

You know what get's my goat is a hotel that could do it but is just let down by attention to detail. The evening food is ok in both bar and Verve Grill, but with a bit more effort could be so much better, less time under the hot lamps and prompt service may help?? Breakfast is consitently bad here, stayed several times now (location, location, location...) and each time it is dried out and tasteless. Saving grace is the afternoon and evening stafff who have always been great, check out is ok but I hate being stiffed for a credit card fee on top of my rate - what next, £1 to use the lifts? Rooms are fine, bathrooms a little basic but having a Starbucks on site with free WiFi is excellent.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
Thank dirkoflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed here for a 3 nights on business, first impressions was nice hotel with modern facilities and very clean. Being situated in the middle of no where I was forced to eat in both restaurant and pub in the hotel. for the price the food, the quality was definitely not matched and burgers/steaks from the grill were dry. When waitress asked how my meal was I was honest and her reply was "Well you have eaten it so you must of been hungry". When working a 10 hour day and waiting 40 minutes for my meal to arrive I had no other option as to eat it or starve! Not only was this type of attitude but the amateurishness was resonated in the pub. To be frank It was either attitudy teenager syndrome or the personality of a rock you got behind the bar! Although on the quizz night they seemed to have different staff who were much more friendly and accommodating. What im saying here is if they want to charge £10 for a burger, £3.50 for a draught beer then you expect the service to go with it rather than inexperienced, underpaid to care staff!

I have been booked to stay in cheaper hotels in Bournemouth and got a lot more and centrally located. Feedback on this will be going back to head office!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoffADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This seems like a very new hotel. The rooms are a good size and are comfortable enough. The rooms and hallways are cleaned sparingly. Some parts are unfinished, like uncarpeted stairwells. The staff were pleasant enough though they all seemed new on the job. There is a Starbucks in the front lobby and fast wireless internet all through the hotel. The breakfast restaurant was mostly fried buffet stuff so you're overcharged if you want cereals and fruit. One strange point: there are no ice machines in the hotel. You need to go to the bar on the ground floor for ice.

The fitness center is also a club for members outside the hotel. This restricts the times that hotel kids are allowed in the pool. This was not too bad but the pool staff were often enforcing their 'rules' like swimming in certain lanes and directions; even when the pool was almost empty! There are signs and rules everywhere. The gym upstairs was fairly busy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeSQL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

The hotel rooms are very spacious with a lovely double bed and a small sofa to, bathrooms has plenty of room and good power showers, location isnt the best but only a very short drive to local villages and beach etc and almost next to a tesco if anything is needed. The food is good and the all you can eat breakfast is plentiful. The gym is good and the pool is gorgeous with low lighting and very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ju00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
943 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#35 of 66 in Bournemouth
989 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,539 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Bournemouth

Address: Wessex Fields Deansleigh Road, Bournemouth BH7 7DZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £33 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Bournemouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Bournemouth is a short drive from the town centre and boasts 7 miles of sandy beaches that Bournemouth is famous. Conveniently located just 3 miles from Pokesdown Rail Station and Bournemouth International Airport. Village Bournemouth is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Nearby attractions include Monkey World, Castlepoint Shopping Centre, New Forest and the Oceanarium. Village Hotel Bournemouth has 116 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Village Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Bournemouth Hotel Bournemouth
Bournemouth Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing