We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beers In The Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Beers In The Sun”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Food was good and the beer selection was great! Enjoyed them both out on the deck! Wish this was my local...

Food was slightly delayed (not sure why) but apology was extended and discount given before we'd even raised the issue! Fantastic experience

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    94
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
230
28
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My mother in law and frail father in law stayed at the Urban Beach last weekend for one night and could not stop talking about the service, room quality and breakfast. It was all first rate and they rated it amongst the best hotels they have ever stayed in! (they have travelled the world).
pillows were especially soft and beds comfy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahleah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just stayed for 3 nights whilst visiting family and couldn't have booked a better hotel. The hotel rooms are excellent but what makes it is the staff and the vibe of the restaurant and bar. You don't want to go any where else. Thank you for a wonderful stay we will definitely book again for our next trip. Would also recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 8 which was good, but all looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuliePigott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is what a boutique hotel should be like.

Positives-
Such friendly staff. So welcoming.
Great decor.
Restaurant had delicious food and the whole restaurant/bar area had a warm and friendly atmosphere.
Free Wi-fi
Free parking

Negatives-
In terms of location, its not in the nicest part of Bournmouth
Breakfast served from 8am so if you need to leave early, not ideal. Also Breakfast was nothing special... no better than at home.

Conclusion-
Would I stay again? Yes, because of the great service and atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Urban Beach Hotel for 2 nights with our little 21 month old toddler, after it was recommended to us by a friend who came to visit a few months back.

The room was a little more expensive than we would usually pay, but due to the recommendation we thought we would treat ourselves. Must say, really impressed by the whole experience! Lovely modern room & bathroom, fab breakfasts, the staff went out of their way to be as helpful as possible, and we loved the outside terrace area in the sunshine. Plus it was only a few minutes walk to the beach.

We had a great stay - we'll definitely be coming back if and when we next return to Boscombe, and would recommend The Urban Beach to anyone wanting a luxurious yet funky and fun stay somewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vossy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place by accident on a day trip to Bournemouth with my girlfriend. We decided to stay the night and found this on trivago - the location is good just 5 minute walk to the beach at Boscombe. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the place Has a really chilled out vibe - it's a small hotel and we stayed in room 6 which has a 4 poster bed and nice modern bathroom. The outside deck/bar area is great and overall I can't fault anything - would recommend to all my friends and will come back here if I'm in the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank colebrooke1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted a really funky vibe for a one night away walking distance from the sea. We got it! Stayed in the room with bathroom up a couple of stairs (maybe 7?) fab room and furnishings actually nicely spacious too. Only negative was a cooking smell.

The bar area and outside decked area is brilliant, great cocktails and the hotel even treated us to one free for hubby's birthday. We had cooked breakfast which was lovely too.

We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,385 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.6 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#3 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Beach Hotel

Property: The Urban Beach Hotel
Address: 23 Argyll Road, Bournemouth BH5 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Urban Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Beach Hotel is an award winning 12 bedroom boutique hotel located in Boscombe, Bournemouth, just five minutes walking distance to the beach and to our sister venue, The Urban Reef Restaurant. Open seven says a week, all year round, we also offer a modern bistro area, with both inside and outside seating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Urban Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing