We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

we have just returned from a weekend break at the OCEAN VIEW which it certainly has.
Hotel looks really good on outside and ground floor where it has been recently decorated.
staff are freindly and breakfast was good.
Now the disappointing points. we had a room on the second floor, large superior booked, but would not call it superior as it had wall paper hanging off by the window, television would not work unless you wanted BBC only. The wardrobe I am sure was for decoration only as although it had hangars you could only hang a pair of boxers on the rail as it had a non removable shelf 12 inches below. anything else you would have to hang on the outside of the wardrobe.
the floor boards creaked as they were about to cave in and the carpet needs renewing on the stairs. bare patches and silver duck tape hol;ding it together. Anyone with a bad back watch out for the lift as it jolts to a halt.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
I am pleased that you felt the Ocean View was worthy of its name. However I am very disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. I think you may have used ‘artistic licence’ to describe some aspects of the room. However I appreciate some of your comments and certainly take them on board. The televisions are of course in the process of being replaced in time for the digital conversion next year. The lift I will agree is very old, however some feel it creates a certain nostalgia and adds to the charm of the building. It is a shame you did not share this feeling. I hope that your overall stay was an enjoyable one, despite the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    142
    86
    36
    34
See reviews for
74
173
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

just stayed at the Ocean View for four days and i must say i was pleasantly surprised after reading a few reviews.The hotel was in very good condtition, our room was excellent with tremendous views and a spacious balcony.The staff were superb, cheerful and very helpful. Breakfast was good and the evening meal in the sister hotel next door was excellent.my wife and i would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: first floor sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments, I am happy you feel we are worthy of recommendation. We value your comments very highly and hope you will return to one of our hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Booked 2 rooms at this hotel for a night away, was not expecting the ritz but was surprised by the quality of the hotel. still basic but the rooms where big and clean.

Some of the walls need a little redecorating but unless your a snob then you'd overlook this but I think the hotel group is slowly refurbing the hotel so it should be sorted soon.

Did'nt go in the pool but it does look inviting and in good weather I'd imagine it would be busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelmanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
I am pleased to see that you recognize our hotel for exactly what it is – a quality three star hotel in the final stages of refurbishment, that meets all the fundamental needs of our guests. Your comments are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This hotel claims in its welcome leaflet to have completed a major refurbishment in 2011. They may have redecorated the communal areas on the ground floor, which looks quite impressive, but step into the corridors upstairs and you enter a different world. We stayed on the second floor having been 'upgraded' without even requesting it. A nice thought - until we saw the room.
The room was quite small and adjoined the neighbouring room with a door between the rooms secured with nothing more than a cheap padlock from poundland. The wallpaper was badly patched up, with multiple stains and peeling away from the walls. The corners of the room all seemed to host the wiring for the fire alarm, which curiously weaved it's way around.
Pillows were next to useless, and a request for more (we ended up wth 4 each!) took over two hours to arrive, and only after we had to telephone reception to remind them as nothing had appeared after 90 minutes of waiting. Bed seemed quite small too, smaller than a usual double, and very uncomfortable. I had the worst nights sleep ever and have slept more comfortably outside in a bivvy bag.
The furniture in the room seemed to have been sourced from a late 1970's hotel, and was a dirty grey with blue and gold trim. The edges of the furniture were splintered and chipped.
The bathroom had an interesting odour, probably due to the use of a carpet on the floor. I'm not sure what was holding up the coving on one wall, but there was a huge gap, and it looked like it would fall down sometime soon.
Outside in the corridor, the wallpaper is very obviously water damaged, with signs of mould and mildew and bare walls in places. Repair attempts have been made with a staple gun and wallpaper has been taped back into place around the lift controls. Carpet is threadbare in places - overall a less than pleasing appearance.
The lift is in dire need of a service as it jerks from floor to floor and makes some interesting noises.
From the outside, the hotel appears to have been painted. However, the walls around the windows have not been painted and there is a clear difference between new paint and old paint - obviously done on a tight budget.
The staff did not seem particularly bothered, On trying to use the lift we were greeted by member of male staff who asked if we wanted to use the lift. As we had luggage we said we wouldn't all fit. He shrugged his shoulders hit the lift button and the doors closed again. This superb act of customer service would not win any prizes.
Had we been able to secure alternative accommodation at a similar price (we got a half price deal through a price comparison website) we would have left, but being a busy bank holiday we either had to put up with it or come home. I'm glad we didn't pay the extra £8 each for breakfast.
I feel sorry for the couple who were looking around the hotel in view for booking a wedding as 'surprisingly' they were not shown upstairs. The downstairs does indeed look lovely but I wouldn't want a load of angry guests who have booked nasty urine smelling rooms.
Save your money and go to a campsite or a hostel - at least you'll have better accommodation and service. Quite how this is AA 3 star rated hotel is a mystery, unless they are using inspectors with very low standards who like to stay in damp, smelly rooms. I'm sure there are good, independent hotels in Bournemouth but our experience here has put us off and we will only be using the popular chains in the future.

Room Tip: Don't bother, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
I think that your comments regarding our refurbishment are very unfair. We do not claim that the hotel has had a complete refurbishment, and in fact we are still very much in the process of redesign. All communal areas have been redecorated to a very high standard, and currently 16 sea view bedrooms have received a complete makeover. We are yet to redecorate the remaining rooms, and our prices are reflected in this. This is evidenced by the half price deal you utilised for your own stay here. I would have to say that although basic, none of our bedrooms have all the problems that you have listed here. I also have to disagree with your comments regarding our staff. If you review the majority of comments on this page, you will find very positive remarks about the service we offer, and how helpful and friendly our staff are. I am happy to take on board any negative comments that I find constructive, and regularly use feedback in order to improve our service. However I do not find your remarks constructive and I do have to question the motives behind your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

South UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Just back from 1 Nights stay at the Ocean View Hotel and we had a lovely stay. 1st floor room was newly decorated, lots of space, brand new bathroom and huge balcony looking directly over the sea with fabulous views.

Staff all attentive happy in their work, breakfast was served this morning quickly and efficiently oh and very tasty !

We had BIC show tickets and the walk into town was about 15-20 minutes so ideal location for our needs.

We loved our stay and think this Hotel is quirky and fun.

Many Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuffleBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so pleased that you found our staff attentive, as quality customer service is something we value very highly. I do hope you will visit us again for another enjoyable stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Good points: Great location; looks great on outside; lovely staff.
Badpoints: Very dated. The worst I've ever stayed in

Given upgrade on arrival to sea-view room on 2nd floor (woo!hoo!) - and then we saw it ... what a disappointment (dread to think what our original room was like)! We entered our shoebox, extremely tired & dated looking decor/furniture, even had carpet in the ensuite - and that didn't fit! The bed and very old/tired pillows were awful - had better in a caravan/butlins. But it was all CLEAN.

The upper floors in the hotel was a mish mash of different old tired carpet, looked like remnants that had just been pieced together and very old tired wallpaper/paint. I did hear that the hotel is in the process of being refurbished and the first floor did look much nicer in comparision with the other floors.

This was a late deal for us, paying £147 for two people for 3 nights (not inc breakfast). It served its purpose, just somewhere to lay your head at night. Would not of been impressed if we'd paid in full.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JELST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukaszGM, General Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Many thanks for your comments regarding the hotel decoration. We have so far refurbished all public areas and 16 sea view bedrooms. In the quieter months we will be refurbishing more bedrooms. If you are planning a future trip to Bournemouth you may want to sample the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel, next door to the Ocean View, boutique in style and also offering competitive rates similar to what you previously paid at the Ocean View.
With kind regards.
Lukasz Dwornik.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in a seaview double room on the top floor and our friend was next door in a single room. The double room was really nice and the single room was fine - the only problem with both rooms was the very poor shower - no water pressure and difficult to control the temperature. Other than that we were pleasantly surprised, the breakfast was buffet and full English and the gold/silver decor in the bar and restaurant was great! They should make more of this on their website. The pool was good too - it was even hot enough for a swim. I gather the seaview rooms are better than the back ones.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoTonyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing