We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #61 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great stay at a great hotel in a perfect position for town and the beach, could not fault it. You go next door for breakfast which again is up to a good standard. I would go back to the Ocean view again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    141
    85
    35
    33
See reviews for
74
170
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Ocean View hotel in Bournemouth is a lovely clean hotel but it is not recommended if you have sever mobility problems.

The car park is small so you are not always guaranteed a parking space and there are no disabled spaces.

There are half a dozen or so stairs up to reception of the hotel, no ramps and another four up to the main part of the hotel/bar/lift/restaurant.

The rear of the hotel has lovely gardens that I would love to do something with and the swimming pool but once again there are several steps that have to be negotiated.

A word on the pool, it is freezing, I think I saw an iceberg or it may have been the nausea caused by the extreme cold.

The room we had was large, clean and sea facing, the views are breath-taking. We had a LCD TV with Freeview, kettle with a selection of drinks and a hairdryer.

The double bed is comfortable although the quilt was way to warm but getting an extra sheet for the bed was not a problem as with getting extra tea, coffee, sugar and milk.

There is a toilet, bath and separate shower although the shower is very small and cramp and the water that comes from the shower is not very powerful at all, the bath is a much better option.

The rooms are cleaned every day and there is no problem getting towels or toiletries.

There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including the rooms but it is very slow.

All the staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

One small note, the floorboards are the noisiest I have ever known in any building I have ever been in.

The hotel is less than a mile from the centre of Bournemouth with a bus stop right outside the hotel. Parking in the centre of Bournemouth is near impossible.

Room Tip: Sea facing gives exceptional views especially if on the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level Contributor
175 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Originally we were a group of four that had been booked into the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel next door, a week before we were told that this hotel had been overbooked and that we were now staying in the Ocean View. This hotel was a fine replacement, our room was a re-furbished sea view one with balcony which was fine. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were delicious with a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LighthouseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at this Hotel twice whilst training a group at the Hotel next door. The first week we did have to go next door for meals, we didn't really mind this.The second week we had breakfast at the Ocean View, Both breakfast were equally good, with pleasant staff serving us.
Some of the bedrooms have been refurbished and these are pleasant rooms to stay in, in particular rooms 205 and 207. These rooms have lovely big bay windows and you can sit up in bed in the morning with a cuppa and have gorgeous veiws of the sea.
There is an outdoor pool which I noticed people swimminmg in although I didn't go in myself .
The decor is more calming to the eye than the Cottonwood Boutique next door!
Staff were generally helpful and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

great sea views from room, good rates, thoroughly enjoyed my weekend stay with the girls, coming back for the bournemouth air show in august.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fieldmouse1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom England London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Stayed for two nights 22-24 June at the ocean view hotel.
I'm going to keep it brief has I was very disappointed. Here goes...
Don't stay in room 314 box room.
Shower didn't work properly dripped more than shower, no shower curtain.
WC/toilet was old and made a very loud noise.
Bed kept moving from its spot, very annoying.
Room was right next door to lift, so a very loud noise all night/early morning creaking.
Floorboards were creaking.
Awful view if the roof.
Enough said!!! Don't stay there...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelacsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel is under going refurbishment which is nice on the surface but so badly and cheaply done. I stayed there for business reasons but if I'd been paying out of my own pocket I'd have been really disappointed. The service is appalling and the staff couldn't have been less customer focused if they tried, asking (and paying) for a bit of photocopying was even a bridge too far! On the plus side the housekeeping staff were good as it was all very clean. Sadly the same cant be said for the kitchen, every other cup was dirty. I hate giving such negative feedback but just hope they can make some minor changes and it would make the world of difference.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melontree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing