We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alright hotel, could do with a full refit to bring it into the modern era!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #62 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Alright hotel, could do with a full refit to bring it into the modern era!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I booked this hotel back in January and managed to get it for £70 for two nights, without sea views. The actual rooms are a decent size and were clean, beds are comfortable and there is plenty of storage space. In your room tea and coffee is supplied. The bathroom is not very big, but is of adequate size, plenty of towels were supplied which were clean. Staff were polite and helpful and the car park is a reasonable size which is free to park in, though I wouldn't want to try and get a space when the hotel is busy.

I would say those are the positives. Some of my friends that I went with paid quite a considerable amount more for the hotel, up to £150 abet this was with sea view. For the standard of the accommodation I wouldn't of wanted to pay anymore than I did. The hotel does creek a lot, sound insulation is poor between floors and rooms, and the hotel is dated it could really do with a complete refit to bring it up to modern day standards because it is in a good location. It appeared that the majority of people staying here were pensioners, though I did see a few families. On booking in I had to wait 10 minutes for anyone to show up at reception and it was the same situation when I was booking out which was frustrating. If staff need to go and do other jobs or the hotel isn't that busy I don't have a problem with that, but they should have a bell or something so you don't have to stand around in limbo.

Bournemouth has a lot of hotels and if I come back again I would probably choose another, especially at the price bracket they're charging.

Room Tip: Try to go for a room on a higher floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin22y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    139
    84
    35
    32
See reviews for
73
167
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Had a lovely stay at this hotel, friendly staff, a a hotel with great decor, lovely breakfast with an extensive choice even for vegetrian diets and plenty of fresh fruit on offer. The Bar was lovely and well stocked and great views of the coast,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

managed to get a great deal for the week leading upto easter and must say that although the weather was cold the Ocean View was great, hotel was a little dated in places but we had a great sea view and the room was a good size. the receptionist was very helpfull giving us codes for the free wi-fi etc, the hotel is also in a great location between both of the bournemouth piers. if i was being really picky the only thing i didn't like was there was carpet in our bathroom but i always wear slippers in hotel rooms anyway, but as i say this is being picky, for what i payed for the room it was a bargain and i would return.

Room Tip: we had room 208 on the second floor, it had two windows with a panoramic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a great Easter break at this hotel. Good location. Clean room, lovely clean comfortable beds (Twin room). Breakfast was great lots of chioce, everything you could want, (sausages really good). It was very cold outside so was really pleased that the room was lovely and warm. Great staff very freindly and helpful. The floor boards squeeked quite a bit from the room above on the first night but didn't hear it again after that. Would recomend this hotel for great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraW675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Ocean View is good value for money, we paid £285 for five nights. The room was lovely and clean,the bedding was clean, and the bed was king sized, the towels were changed every day.The room was lovely and warm.The shower was very poor and needs replaceing with an electric one. The breakfast was very good and the staff were really quick at moving dirty pots off the table, and they were very friendly. The Receptionist lacked interest and never bothered to look up or speak each time we past,which gave a poor impression. The seaview was great.

Room Tip: Floor 3 room 304 has a seaview,but floor 2 has bigger windows,with a full seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia1963Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Just returned from an Easter weekend break in Bournemouth. Hotel was lovely albeit a little dated, but the room was lovely and clean, comfortable (I would say fairly new bed), beautiful view and fresh towels daily. Breakfast was brilliant having everything available and all the staff were extremely friendly including Dan the bar man who was very conversational. Would definitely recommend this hotel for friendliness and value for money.

Room Tip: Our room was number 209, at the front overlooking a fantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim_sperring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
160 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

Very expensive for what it is. £160 for a double room with sea views for 2 nights. First impressions were of a very jaded and down at heel hotel. Great location with a fantastic view however the room was freezing, one window didn't shut properly and the radiator was like warm. The shower was very dated with tepid water. Complained and got moved to another room which was more suitable, until the "double bed" moved apart during the night and I fell between the two.

A wedding party on the second night was very loud and you could hear everything through paper thin walks and floors. Left feeling very exhausted.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75CARM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#40 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing