We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy Linda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #63 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“happy Linda”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel the begining of August our room number was103 and was decorated very nice. The breakfast was outstanding. Staff were very nice but they seem to be next door at the Cottonwood. I never had a problem with the car park. I had a nice time sitting around the pool as this was to cold for me. I would stay here again as we really did enjoy ourselfs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    142
    86
    36
    34
See reviews for
74
173
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2013

There was just one twin room with a Sea View left for the Air Show, we booked it for 3 nights with half board. Delighted when opening the door, we had a huge terrace - room 110, lovely sea views and a great view of the air show. We were expecting just a window. Room was nicely furnished and decorated. As others have said the floor boards do squeak!! Breakfast was in the hotel, very tasty full English, (eat as much as you want buffet) plus fruit, cereal etc., Tables facing the wall of glass with views over the garden. Dinner was served in the sister hotel Cottonwood Boutique. Not a problem, (maybe if it was raining it would be) just a minutes walk through the garden. There's not a lot of choice but what was on offer was delicious and nicely presented. 3 courses plus a glass of wine is included in half board. All staff we came across were very polite, helpful and friendly . Nice garden and the pool looked inviting. Its a 15/20 min stroll to the town. About 5 min to the lift to take you down to the sandy beach or just walk down the zigzag path close by. We had no problem with parking, although the hotel was full and they do say parking is limited. Overall we were really pleased with our hotel and room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunburntDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed Thurs-Sun for the Air Festival. Had 2 of the packages on offer in the Ocean View and The Cottonwood next door. Great service.
We had a double ocean sea view and twin ocean sea view.
Spacious, comfortable rooms with great view.
Dan in the bar was outstanding member of staff.
Although we did have an unpleasant moment with a female member of the bar staff with our special needs adult son. We appreciate he is 22 and needed id which he didn't have, so he had a coke. She then came upto the 4 of us with a very unpleasant manner and told him he couldn't drink. She fetched the manager, who dealt with the matter and he could finish his drink.
It is a shame as put us off a return visit to this hotel.
The only other issue was 'no entertainment' in our hotel it was all in the Cottonwood.

Room Tip: Take id for any young adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovely location, beautiful sea view, staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Quite expensive for what it was though and very dated, not sure if I would stay there again. Had to double park (block someone in) as there isnt really enough parking for the amount of guests that the hotel can cater for.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for one night for the Air Show and as they only had one room left we took it, reasonable price for the bridal suite! It was lovely, huge balcony (well a terrace really) with great sea views. We didn't eat in the hotel but the bar staff were friendly and receptionist was very knowledgable. Petra ensured we had parking when we arrived and a lovely gentleman took us to our car parking space. All the staff seemed happy, housekeeping staff in the corridors always acknowledged us and smiled.
The night porter was very helpful but everyone waited quite a while for everything!
Would stay again though as very easy to walk to beach and town within a few minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank averytiredtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Went to Bournemouth for a girls night out, and due to the air show had limited choice of hotels. Managed to get a room here, the Bridal Suite! Room 103 was amazing, had stunning views of the sea, with a large balcony. For the air show it was perfect, could of stayed there all day and evening in all honesty!

After putting bags in the room we ventured to the bar/lounge area. Bought drinks and went outside to the pool area, which was lovely. Well kept gardens, however the garden furniture was a little tired looking. All the service was good, however would warn that the lovely night porter is not the quickest! All staff we were served by were all very accommodating and very professional. They were working extremely hard in high temperatures and it was very busy!

Would recommend this hotel, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed here for a friends birthday Thursday-Friday. Couldn't believe how nice the rooms were for the price we had paid. Right on the seafront, 15 minute walk from the town, swimming pool, although it was not filled due to time of the year. Not much space for parking but this wasnt an issue as we arrived at check in time. Only thing was there was no lock on the toilet door and I wouldnt normally expect that in a twin room. Had a great stay, free taxi phone in reception friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing