We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just peculiar but not unpleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #59 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just peculiar but not unpleasant”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

I suppose this hotel is similar to most in the area. It's certainly not somewhere I'd have chosen for myself but it was adequate for my needs. We were staying as part of a conference and the staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. The food, they had a special menu in a separate dining room for us, was good. The bedroom I was in was a little tired, massive but lacking a lot of the extras I like. The bathroom really needed doing up. The hotel has some lovely period features but could do with a freshen up. The whole hotel was so hot. The average age of the guests was probably 70 so I understand this but myself and our group constantly moaned about feeling too hot. Fantastic view of the sea and an outdoor pool which would be lovely in good weather. The rooms, and hotel in general, although very tired were spotless. Really clean, credit to the cleaning staff! The whole thing felt (and smelt) a bit like staying with your Nan.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ryfka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    147
    91
    40
    34
See reviews for
80
181
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Externally this hotel looks passable but when inside there is a deceptive air of grandeur which does not go much further than the ground floor.
The room was small, not necessarily a bad thing but the decor was very tired, the bed creaked and complained when you looked at it and the bathroom, despite looking as it had been refurbished had only had part completed, this showed up when we noticed the rust on the soap holder!!
This is one hotel I would not recommend or return to.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a small function in a private room at the hotel. All requests regarding the layout and planning were carried out and special diets catered for.
Staff were friendly,helpful and efficient but not intrusive and all guests felt well looked after.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a function and look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastcliffProject, Manager at The Ocean View Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Joyce
Thank you for your kind words, I'm delighted that your event went well. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Ocean View in 2014.
Wishing you a very happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our ten month old baby at the end of September in room 203. The location was excellent, right on the seafront with views of the sea as promised. Our room was very nice, spacious, well decorated and some stylish furniture with a good view of the sea. The downstairs communal areas have been refurbished and are quite respectable. The corridors upstairs are in urgent need of redecorating and there was an unpleasant smell from the toilet on the first day which was sorted by the second day. The staff are all friendly and made a big effort towards our baby, always had a high chair ready for us for dinner and breakfast. Dinner in the cottonwood boutique was very reasonably priced and a pleasant meal. Breakfast was good with an ample buffet and conscientious staff who would not have been out of place at a 5 star hotel. The only real problem that I had with this hotel is the noise. The floorboards are really creaky so you get noise from anyone walking up the corridor and noise coming from people moving about upstairs. The sound insulation is absolutely awful. There were a couple of ladies staying in the room opposite and when they arrived back in their room in the evening it sounded like the two of them were chatting in our room we could hear them so clearly.When people are only talking in normal tone you can't really ask them to be quiet as they have every right to talk in their own hotel room but it was loud enough to stop us sleeping. It was actually noisy enough to wake our baby who usually sleeps through the night despite normal household noise. This left us tired both nights which isn't ideal for attending a family wedding with a tired baby. If you only want somewhere to crash and will not be getting in until late anyway then this hotel would be fine. If you have a young child and so have to be in early and flinch at every loud noise as you don't want baby waking up then this isn't ideal. Its a real shame as I get the impression that the staff are trying really hard but the building lets them down and needs some money spending to sort it out.

Room Tip: Room 203 is spacious enough for a travel cot and nicely decorated with a view of the sea but very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
here and now
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Service = good.
Buffet style breakfast = fine.
Evening meal is served at the Cottonwood Boutique Hotel Restaurant next door, which is a minute's stroll - cuisine great quality and value.
Wireless signal unimpressive, poor speed and kept dropping out / resetting.
Room 307 single - fair furnishings/quality room, shower fed from bath taps was a bit poor.
Clean and tidy each day which was nice.
A great view!

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linxrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel is in a superb location, with wonderful views of the sea and coastline in both directions. It has a spacious and gracious feel.
However, we upgraded to a room with a sea view, and were told that this was a good move, as these rooms had been refurbished. This was clearly not the case: everything about the room was a little tired, and the bathroom quite shabby, with mouldy grouting, and the worst shower (over the bath) I have come across. I gave up and had a bath.
The breakfast spread was impressive and the quality of most of it was very good. However, the sausages were undercooked and still pink inside, and the mushrooms appeared to be from a can, not fresh.
I would stay there again: the view makes up for a lot!

Room Tip: Upgrrade to a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiePEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Nice Hotel pleasant staff,breakfast good plenty choice.floorboards extremely noisy.Overall would stay here again,lovely room with balcony 104 could do with a/c room terribly hot.Bathroom ok though towels very shabby,room serviced every day.No cans of coke just draught,would be better if they changed this hate draught coke,but bar staff very good.In fact all staff were very helpful and pleasant.Would stay again.

Room Tip: Book room at front,great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,908 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing