We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #67 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in the bridal suite the night of our wedding, beautifully laid out room and the view of the sea from the balcony was breathtaking. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was of a really high standard -we will be visiting again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmrsstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Our daughter booked this hotel for her same sex wedding and wanted to make it unusual. The staff were excellent and the ceremony room superb and the function room unbeatable especially with the views. The weather was good so the guests were able to scatter themselves around the gardens and pool - later some in the pool! Many thanks to Liz and Julie and her team, Oscar in the bar and all the catering staff for an excellent day and night.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've stayed here a total of six times for courses over the last three years, and I'm afraid to say that the standard declines every time.
In terms of location, the hotel couldn't be better - overlooking the sea on East Cliff and there's a lot of promise in the character of the building, which I'd guess at being 1930s in construction. That said, the interior has lacked a coherent vision of renovation and maintenance.

The floors are unacceptably creaky for a modern hotel - yes it's old, but no, that's not acceptable - it needs the carpets bringing up and the boards renewed and repaired - you cannot ask people to sleep in a building that sounds like a spanish galleon on the high seas.

The front of the hotel is illuminated at night with orange sodium lights, which shine through the windows of the rooms, and the unlined curtains in them - making true darkness only a 3 hour event during the summer - less than ideal if there to work and study.

The "desk" in the room is not provided with a chair suitable for business use - which would be OK if that wasn't how the package was sold - this needs to be addressed.

Breakfast quality is pretty poor - ingredients seem very cheap, with leathery, fishy bacon and greasy fried eggs floating on a skim of grease.

Furniture elsewhere in the hotel is falling apart - chairs creaking and moaning as you sit on them - clearly either long beyond their use, or not suitable in the first instance.

Finally, I intended to have a relaxing bath (to cool off, as my room was like a furnace upon return in the evening - windows closed and curtains opened by the maid) but decided not to when faced with what looked charitably like a urinal (picture below)

A real shame, as much of the 1930s-50s fabric remains and could be exploited so much more - I think that will be my last visit.

Room Tip: If you MUST stay - top floor - as only your own feet will be causing noise - but prepare to be VERY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Me and my wife had stayed at the hotel for 3 nights over easter this year. We wanted a room with good view of ocean for complete relaxation. so looking at the room on the internet , i booked one at the hotel. the room was a little bit disappointment for the price i had paid with just a window view of the ocean. The location of the hotel was good with excelled view of the ocean from the cliff. hotel was near to the both the pier i.e bournemouth pier and boscombe pier.breakfast of the hotel was good and the service was also good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sshetty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights over easter. Due to the timing, I think we paid a maximum rate which was a tad overpriced but it was easter and that was the price. We were invited to park next door but it was a minute away so it didn't cause any difficulty. Our room was ok. We had single beds owing to the late booking which was a bit rubbish but again, it was fully booked so there wasn't a lot we could do, we made it work! The view from the room was stunning and we had a small balcony which was nice.

The breakfast was a continental/hot buffet and it was nice. The breakfast waiting staff were so helpful and pleasant. Really friendly!

We took bikes with us and a special mention has to go to Paul, one of the duty managers who let us store them in a maintenance workshop. He was there to let us in and out as necessary so that we could store them securely when we weren't exploring the stunning New Forest, which isnt far away at all!

I would return to this hotel, and I have plans to occupy the outdoor pool at the height of summer!

The hotel is not ultra modern or new, but it is comfortable and homely. It has a charm that you don't find at a Hilton or a Best Western and if you can get it at a good price you'll love it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lolapoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

On arrival we discovered no spaces left in its tiny car park. Has a neighbouring car park which was just as pathetic. Hotel is old fashioned and has floors and stairs like a fairground funhouse, warped and creaky. Rooms are basic and musty smelling. Terrible nights sleep. If we weren't listening to toilet flushes going off all around us or people walking around above us we were being kept awake by the many floodlights which shine on our windows. Hotel has zero disabled access and the breakfast which disgusting. The cooked food was bland and the fruit was a pile of mush. Service was non existent. Sat eating cereal with bowl in hand coz no one took away used plates. Had breakfast out the next morning. Location is the only thing this hotel has going for it really. Will never stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannahclarke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed in Ocean view and was lucky to have our breakfast in their sister hotel Cottonwood boutique. Both were fantastic with approachable friendly staff and clean rooms. We will definitely be staying in either hotel when we next visit Bournemouth.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,120 reviews
0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#33 of 67 in Bournemouth
821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £50 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing