We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel overlooking the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #61 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel overlooking the sea”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived and found it difficult to park as we couldnt see any designated disabled parking paces the car park is small and there is a door to enter as there are steps at front but this door was blocked by the coach which had parked in front of it, I had to use the front stairs and then ther are a further set of stairs inside to get from reception to the lift, the staff were very helpful and did assist me, lovely room with a big accessible bathroom with walk in shower and a seat which was lovely, the views are wonderful the room very large and comfy. plenty storage space and nice tv small but ok for what you need, very quiet all night lovely breakfast in the morning, had to use the on street parking it was annoying as i struggled with the luggage but its just the car park small.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view then request one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginariva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    144
    90
    39
    34
See reviews for
76
180
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at the Ocean view in the half term for one night in a family room with our 16 month old baby. The family room was very large, we bought our own travel cot but could have used one offered by the hotel. The decor of the room was very nice newly decorated and pretty. The bed was very big and comfortable. We had a nice view of the sea. The car park was fine and we had a permit for the 2 days we were there. The hotel is in a perfect location in between Boscombe and Bournemouth main beaches. We walked to both within 10 minutes.
The breakfast was great , full english and continental , high chairs were available for babies.
We had no problems at all and really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We will be back !!!!!

Room Tip: If you book in advance it seems you get one of the nicest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianneBunte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice hotel right on the seafront, we booked a family room for 4 people, we all had proper beds, the room was clean and spacious and the beds comfortable. We had dinner at the next door hotel part of the same chain, food was nicely cooked although portions on the small side. The occasion was a family birthday party, we were up until 3am and the bar staff was friendly and corteous throughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BOURNEMOUTH
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After attending a wedding function recently I wanted to thank the staff for an amazing day. Food and service faultless and overlooking the sea. Hotel has lovely grounds with an outside bar.We will be back.

Room Tip: Try their sister hotel next door lovely bar serving food and live music on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERLBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We used the Ocean View for a Funeral Tea and have to say we could not fault them. Their prices were amazing, the food was delicious and plentiful and the room bright and airy, unlike some of the others we saw which were dark and dreary - not what you want on an occasion like this! They also offered us beneficial rates on accommodation which we took them up on and booked 4 rooms - all upgraded to sea views at no extra cost. Okay, so some parts of the hotel are a little tired and the floors creak like mad but if you're not paying five star prices you don't expect five star accommodation. The staff were all friendly and extremely helpful and I would have no qualms in recommending this hotel to anyone - especially for a function such as ours.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dollydollop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were to stay in ocean view hotel but we where up graded to sister hotel next door Cottonwood with sea view really lovely room hotel lovely would recommend this hotel staff friendly,food good breakfast in the garden restraunt excelent

Room Tip: Sea view excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Nice location, very friendly staff member hence 3 if not maybe 2. The rooms looked out of date and VERY TIRED. See view room booked looks like a pool view room.

Lady on reception was lovely. The room was adequate but as I said need some work to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing