We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #62 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel facilities”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel on arrival seemed small, a tiny little reception desk but staff were polite.
The room itself was 203, spacious, light with a few faults.
The room had no air conditioning and it was a very hot couple of days, by opening the windows only filled the room with flies as the large lights to illuminate the hotel at night were right under my window, which was also an issue when sleeping as curtains were thin with gaps at the side and the small side window had no curtains at all.
The breakfast was tasty and hot, lots of selection and the hotel decor itself was nice but not sure who laid the carpets. Very creaky floors too so i could hear every step the person took above me and i am sure those underneath me would say the same.
Great view from the window and the pool look well maintained and clean.
Would have preferred proper shampoo rather than HAIR AND BODY which was in large bottles in the bathroom.
The sister hotel next door was a boutique hotel, good food 12pm-7pm in bar area but pricey.
Great decor in this hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or book one as they are worth it for the view itself. Some room also have ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t7azqcb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    142
    87
    36
    34
See reviews for
74
173
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband booked last minute as a treat for me & I definately couldn't have been happier (well only by having a bit softer bed). Beatrix on reception checked us in with a smile & gave us a great room overlooking the sea & the pool, where I found a card from the staff, lovely personal touch... thank you all very much! The room was large, but slightly tired, although clean & we couldn't complain for the price. The lounge/bar was large & overlooked the pool, but there wasn't ever anyone in it? The pool area was a suntrap & the sea was only a few minutes down the cliff path, about half way between Bournemouth & Boscombe Piers. Overall a great relaxing break, we'd love to return, especially if the hot sunny days could be repeated :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were welcomed with a fantastic lady on arrival called beatriz as she was more than happy to help with any difficulties or trouble we had with our booking through laterooms.com which was our own fault, she helped us and gave us the most fantastic rooms with stunning views!

The rooms were immaculate and well presented! Any angle you look through the window you see clear blue seas and sky!

The location is perfect with a romantic feel and a lovely walk into the town centre. The bar and swimming pool were perfect size and we'll maintained

Overall we are overjoyed and happy that we received such amazing customer service from a great team, with the help of a lovely receptionist Beatriz,

I would highly recommend this hotel to families and Friends and couples that are looking to get away as we were!

Thank you ocean view hotel we were amazed :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabiandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed at The Ocean View Hotel for the weekend for an event. Staff are friendly, the food was excellent both evening and breakfast lots of choice. Had a room overlooking the sea which was great view. Only downside is the room quality. Very old, although new wallpaper the bathroom had fixed shower head you can't move, old looking, broken window. The bathroom floor was ripped at the lino. The bedroom had burn and carpet marks and looked old. Needs a good modernise in the rooms to bring into the 2014 era in my opinion. The lift was something from the 1940's. You can tell it is a dated hotel. However, service great, food excellent, overall a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great, lovely views and very easy access to the beach just in front of the hotel.

We booked a standard double room the day of arrival, very last minute so weren't expecting anything great. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived and found we had a sea view room. I would suggest anyone staying here upgrades to a room with a view!

The staff here were very friendly, although we didn't eat at the hotel we did eat at their sister hotel next door. The food here is great - would definitely recommend.

The hotel rooms need a complete upgrade - very dated. The bedding wasn't very comfortable and the bath was very stained. It was clean but just very old and tired looking.

This hotel could be very nice overall if they would spend some money on it as the location is just lovely.

Basic hotel - would only stay again for the location and restaurant in sister hotel next door.

Room Tip: Definitely get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu1234Mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My Husband and I got married here in May 2014. As we're both local to Bournemouth he was keen on having a view of the ocean for our wedding day. The room we had our breakfast in was very spacious and neutral, which was key to our theme. Food was really lovely, wait staff were super friendly and helpful and all our guests who stayed were very happy with rooms and breakfast. Overall we were both really glad we picked the ocean view for our wedding reception. Yes some parts of the hotel need updating (few creaky floorboards upstairs, and wheelchair access to be improved, but these were only minor things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfordy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We arrived and found it difficult to park as we couldnt see any designated disabled parking paces the car park is small and there is a door to enter as there are steps at front but this door was blocked by the coach which had parked in front of it, I had to use the front stairs and then ther are a further set of stairs inside to get from reception to the lift, the staff were very helpful and did assist me, lovely room with a big accessible bathroom with walk in shower and a seat which was lovely, the views are wonderful the room very large and comfy. plenty storage space and nice tv small but ok for what you need, very quiet all night lovely breakfast in the morning, had to use the on street parking it was annoying as i struggled with the luggage but its just the car park small.

Room Tip: If you would like a sea view then request one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginariva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing