We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ladies Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #61 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ladies Weekend”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel the first weekend in June for a Masonic ladies w/end, the staff were most helpful and given the age range of the guests in our group (4 - 81 yrs) they were amazing. The food and service was very good although breakfast could be quite busy. We will be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUSHEYBRYCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    141
    85
    35
    33
See reviews for
74
170
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Spent the day here to eat and used the facilities (specifically the outdoor pool) for a birthday party. We had a brilliant day and the staff were fantastic, so helpful – nothing was too much trouble! There was a lovely atmosphere. The staff are what make the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Down in Bournemouth for a wedding, we decided to stay an extra night, so we were looking around at hotels at 5.30pm. We booked the Ocean View, and made our way there. Fantastic location, we parked in the somewhat small car park, and made our way into reception. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, and we were soon shown up to our room. We booked a double, but ended up with a large triple room. We didn't have a sea view, and because we took about the last room, we didn't ask for it - I would imagine that they fill those rooms first, and we were happy anyway.
The room itself was immaculately clean, the bed huge (two singles zipped together) and although I found the bed quite hard, the bedding was clean and fresh, as you'd expect. The TV was quite small for the large room, although adequate. We had room 114, situated above the reception at the back of the hotel. Not too much noise, but I would imagine Saturday nights are perhaps noisier.
The bathroom could definitely do with being refurbished - some cracked tiles here and there, and a generally jaded look, but the shower was fine, nice and hot, and the shower head removable from the wall (I hate fixed shower heads!)
Biggest drawbacks in the bathroom were the fact the towel rail was HOT! On a very warm July evening, that was not a welcome touch! And it couldn't be switched off. Also, the large bathroom window looked out onto a flat roof, which was home to a number of pigeons (noisy) a broken glass roof window, and also meant security was compromised if it was left open, which I wanted to because of the towel rail.
Breakfast.... Second to none! Buffet type, help yourself to cereals, full English too, as much as you want, there was plenty there - all served in the large airy dining room with views over the superb gardens, pool and across to the sea. I went and relaxed for half an hour by the pool, in the sun, before we had to book out - the garden is a lovely sun
trap.
We were given a voucher for 10% off a meal at the Cotton wood next door, so we dined there. Gorgeous food, well presented too. Unfortunately, we dined rather late, at a time when there seemed to be a staff changeover. The first course arrived quite quickly, seeing as it was freshly cooked, but after that, our waitress disappeared. No-one enquire if everything was ok, and no-one asked if we wanted a sweet. It appeared that we, along with another couple, had been forgotten about. It was only when my partner got up to go and find someone, that we got any further service. Quite shocking.
Apart from this, though, we would stay there again, good value for the money we paid, and next time we'll ask for a sea view!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sue8868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week Sunday to Wednesday I was with my mother the staff at the hotel were great lovely clean hotel great food great location.
We had a lovely big room ocean view which was great we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at the Ocean View Hotel last night and really liked the place. Somebody with lovely taste has done up the communal areas very stylishly. The gold wallpaper and mirrors and pretty little touches made it nice to spend time in. I enjoyed a happy hour with my feet dipped in the lovely pool (really clean and attractive terrace) The waitress bought me out a pot of coffee and a cool drink and crisps, they were very reasonably priced and the waitress very obliging.

All the staff I met were really good, they were professional and friendly too. My room was a sea view one and one of the last ones they had available as I booked mid afternoon of the day I was going. It was very clean, plenty of really hot water and my bed was comfy. It was fab being able to have the sea air blowing into my room all night.

The bathroom carpet did smell a bit of wee and I got the impression this may have been one of the rooms they were working round to refurbishing. Having said that the room itself was really clean.

This is one of those hotels you can really relax in, not like some of the 4 and 5* hotels that feel like being in your stuck up auntie's house,snarling at you if you put your glass down without a coaster. It is Stylish but relaxed and homely.

I will stay again, thank you Ocean View :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodnfunfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night over the Easter weekend and managed to get the "discounted" rate of £95 per night which for the facilities and state of the hotel is disgraceful. We chose the hotel because of a function being held there and the convenience of staying on site.
Firstly the car park is miniscule and you do not have a hope if you arrive late afternoon early evening. Reception...they say first impressions are everything and this is not good. It is tiny and scruffy - I thought this was a doorman's desk and the reception was elsewhere. Check in staff unhelpful.

The room we were allocated was awful. It was tiny, so small that one of us had to stand in the bathroom while the other changed or moved about. There was just no room to swing a cat. The furniture was something out of a 1970's junk sale, tatty old laminated wood. The draw on the bideside unit would not stay closed until I wedged it shut with cardboard.

Service was poor. Beware if you want a meal in the hotel. In the room there is information about meals that can be purchased in the bar up to 9.00am. However when we tried this we were told they did not do food - we could try their sister hotel next door if we wanted. No offer of finding out if we could get a meal there - we had to walk around ourselves only to find out that we should have pre-ordered and so nothing available. Anyway thanks to Domino's for delivering..no thanks to the hotel staff as no one offered any help, despite us having two 80 year olds in our party.

I am afraid this just reminds me of a poor run down British sea side hotel overcharging because of it's proximity to the beach. The sooner these are upgraded the better - they could learn a lot even from the budget hotels around the country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterstoneboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

New Malden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel on arrival seemed small, a tiny little reception desk but staff were polite.
The room itself was 203, spacious, light with a few faults.
The room had no air conditioning and it was a very hot couple of days, by opening the windows only filled the room with flies as the large lights to illuminate the hotel at night were right under my window, which was also an issue when sleeping as curtains were thin with gaps at the side and the small side window had no curtains at all.
The breakfast was tasty and hot, lots of selection and the hotel decor itself was nice but not sure who laid the carpets. Very creaky floors too so i could hear every step the person took above me and i am sure those underneath me would say the same.
Great view from the window and the pool look well maintained and clean.
Would have preferred proper shampoo rather than HAIR AND BODY which was in large bottles in the bathroom.
The sister hotel next door was a boutique hotel, good food 12pm-7pm in bar area but pricey.
Great decor in this hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room or book one as they are worth it for the view itself. Some room also have ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t7azqcb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing