We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #60 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights as a break away for my partners birthday. When we arrived they had put a card in the room for him which I thought was a lovely touch ! The room was very nice and clean with a sea view. Staff were friendly and would do anything to help on request. The pool was very good and the bar was very reasonably priced for drinks. Over all we really enjoyed our stay and will defo return. The only thing that we thought was a let down was the breakfast wasn't very tasty and over priced for the standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    137
    83
    34
    32
See reviews for
71
165
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked this hotel at the last minute whilst on the road so didn`t really get a chance to do any research. Have to say I`ve never experienced anything quite like this. The place reminds you of a shabby 1920`s museum which is more than likely the era when this hotel was last decorated. The hotel is in need of major renovations. Our room had a massive hole in the wall and was very dated in all aspects.

We went out for food as having seen the hotel didn`t fancy staying in for dinner as not sure we`d still be alive after it. In which case you need to go to the hotel next door anyway.

When we returned to the hotel after dinner we decided to go to the bar. It then appeared as though we`d been transported into a starring role in a new version of Fawlty Towers. First there was nobody serving at the bar at 9.45pm. When we went to the reception to ask about what was happening the receptionist said the barman would be along soon i.e.he wasn`t scheduled to start until 10pm. When the barman finally appeared just before 10pm he didn`t know what a fresh orange or a lager shandy was to which I had to explain. I then paid for my drinks only to be told there was no change in the till and that he would need to owe me the money.

Various other comedy moments in the bar with the barman giving a women her change only to ask for it back as he thought something was wrong only to realise there wasn`t. John Cleese would have struggled to write this script.

We thought the Ocean View was for overspill of the other hotel hence why it was so bad in all aspects but suspect we were wrong.

I parked my car in the sister hotel`s car park as the Ocean View`s car park was full. . When leaving I could hear a lot of shouting coming from the reception. It was an angry guest threatening to get his lawyer so I guess the sister hotel was just as bad.

Overall I`d give this place 2/10 only because of the location. Truth be told you`d need to be off your head to stay here.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Starting with the negatives, I requested a particular room beforehand (a fancy looking one from the pictures which also had a sea view balcony) and was promised this due to it being my partners birthday. This request was not met and we were given a bog standard room worth 1/3 of the price!

The floorboards were so damn creaky that we found ourselves creeping to the loo at night so as to not wake our little one up! This wasn't even easy to do as the room ("double sea view") could have in my opinion been slightly bigger, especially as it needed to accommodate a cot. It was more like an oversized Single with all the random and useless furniture (£1 shop chest of drawers, plastic see-through dressing table chair and blue dated armchair).

The shower pressure was very minimal and the hot water stopped running after around 5mins!

They advertise Wifi, but that was some type of myth as it did not work at all anywhere!

They also ask for a £5 deposit per towel for the pool, so prepare yourself for this.

On a more positive note, I paid for a Romantic package directly with the hotel which included a very delicious dinner for 3 (baby also included which was a surprising plus), varied breakfast (which you can have bought up to your room), rose petals, Prosecco, handmade chocolates and dove towels all for one night only.

It would have been nice to just have the dinner at the hotel, but food is only served at their sister hotel, The Cottonwood Boutique. This however was place was lovely to dine, and it had a warm atmosphere despite not being full. The live music there was brilliant and to top it all off, the staff at both hotels were very helpful and genuinely willing to help.

Room Tip: Avoid room 204 if you don't want to creep aound creaky floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very dated...with the exception of the bar area. We were in a room facing the road and side /back area of the hotel. Bed bases looked like they were taken off a skip...two single bases moved together to make a double....one of bases was covered with material which was stapled onto it.....mattress bit hard.....red runners on the bed had fluff on them....room carpet looked disgusting.....very old....
Looked grubby! Shower n bath water slow running..shower drain blocked.....n toilet poor! Floors very creeky....n noisy..

Positives....close to beach....pool is family friendly

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Communal areas are nice. Room was the worst I have every stayed in. The bathroom is carpeted with carpet soaked in urine. The mattress will give you a back ache as it is ancient. The management are terrible. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Every floor board on every floor creeks, You can hear every sound. Tired, dirty, uncomfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britvick2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very good experience overall. Booked a twin room with adjustable beds. My partner booked this hotel for my birthday and I personally enjoyed every day spent there. The pool was clean and the services were great from every member of the staffs.
Room services were excellent.
The room should have at least a mini fridge and a/c to make the stay excellent! I went in July and it was really very hot in the room despite the windows opened. However, the hotel is located in a very nice place and the beach and town centre is so close from there.
Had a few difficulties to park our car as the parking space is quite small.
Overall I would rate the Hotel 4 out of 5. Really enjoyed my stay there :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khamajeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed in room 211 ( a family room for 2 adults and 2 children), it has a double bed and two single beds. The room is nice however I would say the uneven flooring is quite irritating. Nonetheless, the room is spacious and the bathroom is nice too, the creaky floor doesn't really affect us. The swimming pool is fantastic and my kids just love swimming in there every morning. Breakfast was very nice, food and fruits are both very fresh.
Location is also fanstastic, its just opposite the beach and you can hear the seagulls wake you up in the morning.
I would highly recommend this hotel, especally a big thumbs up to the staff, they had been exceptionally helpful and friendly. The beach is lovely too, nice yellow sand and a blue sea. we had a wonderful time, no negative comments about this hotel really as it is value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
The Cottonwood Boutique Hotel
#38 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean View Hotel

Property: The Ocean View Hotel
Address: East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AR, England (Formerly Ocean View Hotel Bournemouth)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With beautiful views of the coastline from the cliff top, the elegant Ocean View B&B has an outdoor swimming pool and leafy gardens. Bournemouth's vibrant town centre is 10 minutes' walk away. The spacious bedrooms each have a private modern bathroom and tea and coffee-making facilities. All rooms have a TV, free Wi-Fi, and some feature spectacular sea views or a private balcony. Guest can relax on the terrace beside the swimming pool, set within the gardens. The Ocean View's restaurant offers a menu using fresh local ingredients, with classic cocktails on offer in the stylish bar. The seafront hotel is directly above miles of golden sandy beach, accessed by pathways or the cliff-top lift (in summer only). Guests have free parking, and Bournemouth Railway Station is 1.2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing