We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bonnington Beach Hotel
Ranked #118 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two friends late September last year, great price last minute booking especially as it included breakfast. Great location for ease of walking to the beach/pier and walking into town. On arrival the hotel manager greeted us and asked us if we wanted a room with 3 beds or a room with 5, so we opted for the bigger room which was great. Room was very basic but great for what we needed and met our expectations. Some of the beds we comfier than others so glad we had two spares. Room felt safe and staff were friendly, were even told the night before we left not to worry about checking out at 10am and that we could have a lie in as we were going out for dinner and drinks, which was really nice of the manager as this was free of charge. Hotel has links with a hotel across the road that has spa fasciitis so we made the most of this and went for a swim, was a bit confusing with how to access the pool but we got there in the end! Worth the money and would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    101
    65
    42
    82
See reviews for
46
114
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a small hotel very close to the town and beach, each are approx.: 5-10 minutes walk away. Its not the Ritz, but if you are staying for perhaps 2-3 nights its ideal and you get what you pay for which is cheap accommodation,

The room was small and the beds almost touched wall to wall very small bedroom.

Its not a honeymoon place,

The room I had had a small bathroom with just enough room, the shower was very small which made having a shower a little tight,

Beds were comfortable, the rooms have tea making facilities which is a welcome. Floors are a little squeaky so if your arriving home back it wont go unnoticed

I had a room overlooking the main road, at the time we were there, there was a lot of stag and hen parties around in Bournemouth which meant it was noisy outside until late into the morning.

Breakfast was good

The parking in the area is very poor, I paid £5.00 for off road parking at the hotel, but this is a lottery if the hotel is busy as it all gets a bit congested.

Room Tip: its pot luck I think, I only stayed the once so cant offer any comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT6Texan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked last minute as we were attending a funeral nearby. Paid £35 which included parking. I actually booked the wrong night by mistake, but the staff were helpful enough to switch the booking without charging us the cancellation fee. Our room was clean with 3 lovely big windows and a bit of a sea view. The bathroom would have benefited from a wall mounted shower, but the water was hot. Breakfast was nice enough, nothing fancy but came quick and was all cooked well. Would have liked filter coffee, but for the price paid am not grumbling. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location - Perfect if you are going to a concert at the BIC, it's within walking distance. Lots of restaurants / bars within walking distance

Quality of hotel - Absolutely fine if you are looking for something 'cheap and cheerful'. Very clean

Staff - really friendly, welcoming and accommodating

Rooms - the rooms are fine, nothing special, but if you are just looking for a bed for the night, this will suit you just fine

For what we paid we were very impressed. Personally I would use this hotel again if I was going to another concert at the BIC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EventsBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. The room was minut with 4 single beds which meant that we couldn't even pass each other to get in and out but had to climb over the beds. We had a glitter ball? Cracked sink in the bathroom, no fixing for the shower head and you then had to run around the bath to try and catch the water to wash., curtains that didn't fit. All this luxury (not) for the price of £320 absolute rip off. On the plus the breakfast was okay and the sheets clean. We did though fair a bit better than some others in our party who had the most disgusting dirty room I have ever seen with ants, cobwebs, holes in the wall, sticky floor, no opening windows and a curtain that was too short.

Room Tip: There aren't any tips I could give
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WalesSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah b, Public Relations Manager at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello thank you for your review
When you arrived you brought with you what seemed like a brewery when you fell out of your minibus most of you were drunk all of you were abusive and compared to the rest of the groups we had in you were by far the worst.What we normally do is give best rooms to the nicest guests and the worst un refurbed rooms to the drunk rowdy and abusive guests.You fitted all three catagories which is why we put you in the worst rooms.The whole time you were here you were a knightmare losing face masks shouting being abusive and being sick.
I just kept telling the staff don't worry they will be gone on sunday and how relieved we were when your minibus turned up and you fell out of our door and on the bus back to Wales.It is a shame because everybody else had a great weekend apart from you guys.
Have a great wedding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for one night Easter Sunday as were attending a concert at the BIC.
Good point - close to the BIC so a quick walk and we were there.
Bad points - family room, poorly furnished and if I had my family with me would have returned home! Very uncomfortable double bed, stained carpet, poor condition furniture, overall dirty and grubby, poor wiring with two electric heaters. (no central heating)
Bathroom - dirty, no hot water, very small sink - unable to get kettle under the tap to fill for a much needed cuppa.
Bedroom window overlooking main road - this in itself was not a problem but the flat roof outside housed two large lights which illuminated the hotel signage. When I woke at 3.30am, it appeared to be mid morning due to the light outside.The room would definitely benefit from a black out blind!
We both woke having barely slept, did not bother with breakfast so unable to comment on the quality.
We paid £60.00 which is a lot for the room - definitely would not recommend to any friends.

Room Tip: Say no to A10!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALISON J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah b, Public Relations Manager at Bonnington Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review
we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay ,we are like wise sorry that you could not fill the kettle from your tap in the bathroom.It is a pity you never came down as we could have swopped your rooms about as the room you were in has a bunk bed in it and we could have swopped you to a double.The view I can do nothing about but we do take on board your comments and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
311 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Not sure if this is typical of B & B Hotels in Bournemouth or not. The room was small and very sparsely furnished and decorated. But it was clean. The strange thing was the disco glitter ball above the bed! Likewise the bathroom was ok except for the dripping shower which could have been a problem when trying to sleep. Towels were very small also and only one each.
The staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful particularly regarding the parking which was a nightmare. A tip here is to book parking when booking the room and get there early.
A nice breakfast in relaxed surroundings was a most welcome to start the day. All in all a good hotel for an overnight stay, particularly for access to the BIC, which was why we were there., but I wouldn’t want to stay longer.

Room Tip: Get the room with the Disco Ball and train the single bed light on it for added fun................
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorbertSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#33 of 66 in Bournemouth
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carisbrooke Hotel
Carisbrooke Hotel
#55 of 132 in Bournemouth
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
Brooklands Bed and Breakfast
#27 of 132 in Bournemouth
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mount Stuart Hotel
Mount Stuart Hotel
#24 of 132 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#4 of 132 in Bournemouth
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonnington Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonnington Beach Hotel

Property: Bonnington Beach Hotel
Address: 44 Tregonwell Road, Bournemouth BH2 5NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bonnington Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bonnington Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing