We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winter Dene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winter Dene
Ranked #53 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great stay, very clean and comfortable room. Lovely breakfast. good position

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    18
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
blackburn
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have had a few days at the Winter Dene, very clean, nicely cooked meals, and good choice for cooked breakfast. Not the friendliest of welcomes, no offer of help with luggage, but we were on the ground floor so ok. The room was large with kingsize bed, but whoever made the bed put the sheets the wrong way round, side to side instead of top to bottom! So the sheet and blankets only came half way up our arms! Had my suspicions that they weren't freshly laundered and certainly weren't "premium quality" as claimed. Wednesday the bed was changed and made correctly with sheets and blankets covering us correctly. I hate sheets and blankets. At dinner we weren't offered a drink or wine list, we had to ask, and we didn't see anyone else offered a wine list, though again as claimed Renzo has a comprehensive one. Overall disappointed and won't go again. Not in the best position either on a roundabout of 3 roads.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaParkerDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We are sorry you were unhappy with your bed linen. Most of our rooms have duvets and had you told us you prefer a duvet it would have taken us five minutes to swap over. It is always a shame to hear somebody has been unhappy when it is too late to remedy things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've just returned from a week at the Winterdene (chosen through good reviews on this site), and can confirm that the positive comments are correct. We had a delightful, unique room (on the second floor with wood panelling), the hotel is in a perfect location for both the town and the beach, and the breakfast and evening meals were very good and generous. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: If you are less able, request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally_Richard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I have just read the previous review of Winterdene and I have to say I am astounded!
i have spent four fabulous holidays in the Winterdene since Heather and Renzo took over and each time I have had an excellent stay.
The rooms are clean, spacious and well furnished!
During my most recent visit in April we were greeted by Heather and shown to our rooms and asked if we needed anything.
There were six groups or couples staying too.
We had our evening meal which was served straight away and as ever really beautifuly cooked homemade cuisine.
Renzo was serving along with some new staff for the season. They were polite and efficient.
Renzo spoke to every table and made everyone feel welcome.
Breakfast was a feast! Plenty of food and plenty of time to eat it!.
The standards are 4 Star and dserve their rating.
I will certainly be back and other members of our family and friends have already visited in May.

This is a great place to stay, central to Bournemouth and the beaches. Good car parking a great welcome and fabulous food. All that makes a holiday all that it should be.
Can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: All rooms I have had from double to family have been clean,spacious and welcoming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked a short break at The Winter Dean Hotel using our 3 Fresh Weekend gift vouchers. We were told that our room would be on the 2nd floor & did we have a problem with stairs. Normally this wouldn’t be a problem, however see our comments below.

On our arrival we rang the doorbell & waited for quite a while before Heather (co-owner) appeared from nowhere. It was obvious from her manner that we had disturbed her in the back garden. Without even introducing herself or asking if we had had a good journey, we were shown into the hallway & asked in a very matter of fact way “Who are you, can you fill in a registration card” & with a wave of her arm towards a staircase in the corner of the hallway “That’s where you go for your breakfast”. No mention was made to the guest lounge (even though it was immediately behind her). We were then shown up to our room (in fairness she did offer to carry a case for us which we declined as we had been led to believe it was only 2 floors up). However each floor had a half landing which meant that we had to climb 3 floors (40 stairs). Add this to an additional 16 stairs down to the breakfast room thats a hike of 56 stairs or 4 floors up & down every morning.

Our room was a large family room & not a double which we assumed we would be getting & again in a very factual manner she told us we had a room key, front door key & safe key. Luckily we didn’t need to use the safe because it had a touch pad combination lock & we weren’t given any combination code. So why the need for a key??? On the way up to our room Heather had told us that the room was going to be very hot because it was in direct sunlight, & boy was it hot, but there was no offer to give us a fan (The temperature outside was in the 80’s). You would have thought that knowing how hot the room would be why on earth didn’t they vent the room prior to our arrival.

During our stay, despite leaving the windows open whilst we were out, it never cooled down. Because we were directly overlooking a roundabout which had constant traffic approaching it from 3 directions we had to close the windows to block out the noise during the night which meant we hardly got any sleep. The following day we mentioned this to one of the cleaners & she kindly gave us a small table top fan which lowered the room temperature to hot rather than baking hot.

As for the room itself, it was a Family Room with 1 double bed & 2 single beds with just 1 carver style dining chair. Why have just 1 chair in a family room? Although the room was clean & quite spacious the decor was very bland with very old second hand furniture which wouldn’t have looked out of place in Steptoe’s back yard. No wonder they don’t have any photographs of this room on their website. Had we been allocated this room because we had used our Fresh Weekend Vouchers? The owners openly admitted at the time of our booking that, after deducting admin costs, they earn very little from this promotion. If this is the case why on earth do they subscribe to this promotion!!

As for the furniture, the small knob on one of the bedside cabinets came off in my hand when you tried to open or close it, & although Renzo apparently fixed it the next time we opened the cupboard it simply fell off again. We also informed him that we couldn’t close the wardrobe door because it was hanging off its hinges, & from his response this obviously wasn’t the first time that this had happened. His excuse was that it would be a major job to repair it & he would have to leave it until the winter before he could look at it. Bearing in mind this is only the end of May and we have at least another 18 full weeks left of this years holiday season we would suggest that if anyone books into room 14 (Family room on the top floor) you may want to negotiate a room discount to reflect the state of the furniture. We also found that the shower squirted out water from a small leak in the hose, there was no soap dish so the soap continually fell into the wash basin & although our towels were changed on a daily basis they were frayed at the edges. One other niggling thing is that on our arrival we were each allocated 1 small packet of (2) biscuits on our tea tray which was quickly reduced to 1 small packet BETWEEN US for each of our remaining 2 days. Is this penny pinching gone mad or again was this because we were only a ‘Fresh Weekend’ voucher guest.

In fairness the breakfast room was nicely laid out with views looking out over the back garden & the quality of the cooked breakfast was good. However we felt the choice of cooked food for a 4 star hotel was a bit lacking, i.e. it was either a typical english breakfast or kippers or egg / beans on toast.

The thing that really stood out during our stay was the definite ‘Divide’ with Renzo & his guests. He openly spoke & joked with his ‘Regular’ guests & those who had booked in for half board, whereas the B&B guests were virtually ignored other than the standard “What would you like for breakfast”. Surely it doesn’t cost anything to ask your guests “How is your room, did you have a good sleep” or ” Do you have any plans for today”. It’s little things like this that are appreciated by ALL paying guests & shows them that their hosts do have an interest in them other than just taking their money. This ‘Divide’ was highlighted even more on our last morning when one of his regular guests asked about his bookings for the forthcoming Bank Holiday. Renzo clearly wasn’t looking forward to it because he said he had a mixture of families & people who only want B&B rather than half board. Excuse us, we may have only been a B&B guest but we had paid a Premium Rate of £99pn for an £80pn room so can we suggest that you show a bit more respect towards ALL of your guests in future & accept that some guests may want to enjoy the freedom of sampling some of the local restaurants in the evening rather than eat in their hotel.

As for the B&B guests who booked in for 1night only, well their bills were waiting for them on their breakfast table. This is probably done because on their departure, as with ours, neither hosts had the common courtesy to come up to the reception area to say goodbye. I had to go down to the breakfast room to hand back our key (which by the way if you lose the key fob it’s a £20 penalty). I wouldn’t mind but Renzo wasn’t actually doing anything at the time other than staring out the window. After handing him our key I paused hoping that he would at least wish us a safe journey home but alas NO. As I turned to leave he just about managed to squeeze out a ‘Did you have a good stay’. My reply was short “It was OK”. But between you & I this is definitely one place we won’t be going back to.

Room Tip: Unless you like a hike, ask for a room on the ground or 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheTwoOfUsSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed several times now. Free parking central Bournemouth. Super breakfast cooked to order. Free wi fi. Always a warm welcome from Heather and Renzo. Try it out. You will be back. No better value in central Bournemouth.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

This is our second trip to the Winter Dene and we will be back. Very welcoming, large rooms that are spotless clean and it deserves its 4 stars. Renzo is the perfect host and is an expert at serving breakfast which is very tasty and served without any wait.Perfect location We will be back.next year.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room at the back , it is a busy road although its set well back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldwellMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#34 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#18 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Property: The Winter Dene
Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing