We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Winter Dene
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
88
21
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
21
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishtop floortown centrenight staysuperb breakfastfamily roomwouldn't stay anywhere elseeasy accesschoice of cerealsfriendly hostsgreat positioneaster breakgreat showercooked breakfastsingle roomminute walkwould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Been here a few times great hotel, very quite, all the rooms are good value, breakfast is just how it should be. Very friendly
But you are left alone to enjoy your stay. Only usually have bed and breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat out later.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We chose this hotel because of the wonderful reviews and we were not disappointed. We booked on the HB 3 night offer £190pp (4 nights only £240 high season). Our double room on the first floor was huge with an extra single bed as well and 2 ensuite bathrooms. It overlooked the lovely, flower filled back garden. The old pine furniture and antique armchairs made a nice change from the uniform Ikea style of other places. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and tidy.

Meals were delicious, gargantuan and beautifully cooked by Heather. Good quality, fresh ingredients are used. Renzo recommended some excellent wines by the bottle, which were very reasonably priced. This was much more relaxing than eating in noisy restaurants and pubs. Heather and Renzo are very welcoming and charming.

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the bus stop to the town centre and rail/bus stations (Route 2a and 2b) and 5 minutes walk to The Square where more buses leave for other destinations. We went to Poole, which is well worth a visit with its quaint streets and tiny pubs. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach which stretches for miles. Turn right and walk towards Alum Chine or left to Boscombe.

We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel. My husband wanted to stay an extra night......

Room Tip: There is no lift, so avoid the second floor if you have mobility problems. Although some reviewers have complained about the traffic noise, we had our windows wide open all night due to the heatwave and the murmur of traffic was low.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalcatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

John and Val Cheshire
First time in Bournemouth returned 2nd july after a 4 day break.We had a large well furnished first floor room overlooking the front garden and road. This hotel is a quiet haven in what can be a lively resort, very friendly ,clean ,good food and excellent wine at a reasonable cost.A lot of large hotels charge for parking its included here and very central with easy distance to the centre
Of Bournemouth.We choose it through this site and it worked!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Great stay, very clean and comfortable room. Lovely breakfast. good position

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have had a few days at the Winter Dene, very clean, nicely cooked meals, and good choice for cooked breakfast. Not the friendliest of welcomes, no offer of help with luggage, but we were on the ground floor so ok. The room was large with kingsize bed, but whoever made the bed put the sheets the wrong way round, side to side instead of top to bottom! So the sheet and blankets only came half way up our arms! Had my suspicions that they weren't freshly laundered and certainly weren't "premium quality" as claimed. Wednesday the bed was changed and made correctly with sheets and blankets covering us correctly. I hate sheets and blankets. At dinner we weren't offered a drink or wine list, we had to ask, and we didn't see anyone else offered a wine list, though again as claimed Renzo has a comprehensive one. Overall disappointed and won't go again. Not in the best position either on a roundabout of 3 roads.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaParkerDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

We are sorry you were unhappy with your bed linen. Most of our rooms have duvets and had you told us you prefer a duvet it would have taken us five minutes to swap over. It is always a shame to hear somebody has been unhappy when it is too late to remedy things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews