We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Winter Dene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winter Dene
Ranked #54 of 144 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the town, parking was easy with plenty of spaces. Excellent breakfast choices, one small negative point was the size of the room my husband and myself were allocated, it was on the top floor with a sloping ceiling and very little floor space. A tall person might have problems avoiding banging their head on the sloping ceilings. One other point is that there are no emergencies exits on floors one and two, in case of a fire starting. Overall we did enjoy our stay at Winter Dene

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsB070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We did discuss your room being on the top floor before you made the booking.

If you had raised your concerns about fire safety we could have showed you that we are fully compliant and certificated in all areas. All doors are fire retaining doors and negate the need for external stairs. It is always a shame to hear about people's worries once they have finished their holiday, when just a few words with the Proprietor would have settled things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    18
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
49
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Winter Dene for a single night. Room smallish but clean and comfortable, with all necessary facilities. Bed very comfy. Per-person pricing meant superb value for solo traveller, with good breakfast included. Friendly hosts. Good car park. Nice garden. Easy walks to town, beach and cliffs. WiFi worked throughout hotel, though a bit slow at popular times.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

An excellent find. Spacious room with all facilities. Good breakfasts. Plenty of parking but anyway only 5 to 10 mins walk of beaches and town centre. Very fairly priced for such good quality accommodation.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious,comfortable and well equipped.Feedback from others staying at the same time wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGYHighWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed two nights, perfect room, over looking garden, huge & comfortable bed, immaculately clean.
Hosts very helpful especially during breakfast service! which was excellent with plenty of choice.
Would highly recommend for your next stay in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul3000mk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Beautiful building, easy to park and a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Highly recommended. The room was big (room #11) and clean. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice (juices, coffee, tea, yogurt, cereal, full english, jam, marmelade, toast, etc). The view of the back garden from our window was beautiful.

Room Tip: If possible get a room at the back of the hotel, they are quiet and the back garden is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvrijssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed for a week in a family room, which was very comfortable, clean and great for a family of 4. Fantastic food- we had breakfast and evening meals, lots of choice and generous portions and even special hot chocolate for my son. Heather and Renzo and all their staff made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay special. V. good location for beach and town centre - quieter location than hotels in town. Lovely garden and dinning room conservatory. Free off road parking too. Very good value for money. Will definitely return for another stay - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Family room is well designed and ground floor rooms are great if you have mobility difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisathomastina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

The room was very good, thought the idea of separating wall was ingenious for travelling friends, breakfast was very nice but was sad to see there was no dinner at non-peak times as the reviews looked good
Customer service was brilliant, everything was catered for!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jgfunkygibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#6 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#37 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#34 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.7 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#16 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Property: The Winter Dene
Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing