We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast!”
Review of The Winter Dene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Winter Dene
Ranked #40 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Friendly welcome; room more than adequate, clean and comfortable. Really excellent breakfast, which set one up for the day splendidly. Convenient location - centre of Bournemouth easily accessed on foot or by bus. Excellent value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Colin6612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location with easy access to the beaches and the town. Easy parking and very friendly and helpful owners. Excellent breakfast...well coked and wide choice. Evening meal available if required, although we chose to eat in the town.

Room Tip: Top floor is a bit of a climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pbeswetherick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked this hotel only 1 week before we stayed. We booked the family room for 2 nights. We arrived early (1pm) and the owner was kind enough to allow us to leave our car in the car park whilst we went to the beach with our 7 year old son, which we ealsily found - about 10 minute walk away. When we arrived back to the hotel at 5pm, we checked in to our lovely spacious family room (ground floor - Room 2), it was very clean and was lovely and cool as the windows had been left open, a large kingsize bed and a single, and the room had 2 bathrooms ! The room was so large it even had room for a sofa. We had two a great nights sleep, really comfortable bed and the room was quiet (it overlooked the garden at the back). Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and cooked to order and lots ot toast kept appearing on our table. The Italian gentleman owner was lovely and chatted to my son about rocks and minerals and even showed him his collection of Blue john rocks in the garden. We checked out about 9.30am and again we were allowed to leave our car in the car park whilst we had one more day at the beach (we were very lucky to have 3 beautiful sunny and warm days). I'm really pleased we chose the Winter Dene and would definately recommend, for comfort, cleanliness, friendly owners, value for money and good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a short long weekend break. Our travel to Bournemouth had taken much much longer than planned. Our journey down the A1 (A1M) was fine, but unfortunately after that it became horrendous as we endured long delays on the M25, M27, M3, A31 and finally the A338. It was a Friday after all! When we finally arrived, all the stress evatporated when we were greeted by Renzo, who after he had checked us in, made us welcome and given us the key to our room pointed out different location directions for the places we said we would like to go. We stayed for four nights and had room 11. A lovely large room with a king size bed at the back of the hotel and good facilities. Each morning when we went down for breakfast we were greeted by Renzo and his humour. Heather cooked up for us a great breakfast each morning (fantastic). Unfortunately our stay came all to quickly to an end and it was Heather who checked us out. Thank you both for a great stay, we would certainly stay at The Winter Dene again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed 2 nights B&B. Chose this hotel because it is in walking distance of the BIC (about 10 -15 mins walk). The room was large, clean and well decorated, and the bed was comfortable. The en-suite was also large. The service at breakfast was very efficient and the food was good. Location was great. Will definitely stay at the Winter Dene again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Booked two nights, Monday 28th & Tuesday 29th July! Arrived early & was greeted by heather who instantly knew who I was.. Was early so knew room wasn't going to be ready, was given key & map of local area & could leave luggage with them till room available.
Well room 14... A fantastic room, king size bed, plus 2 singles! Right in the tower, lovely bathroom, with a fab shower! Tea, coffee, teapot!! & water in the room! Breakfast also a great choice & once again brilliant service.
I work in a hotel & can recognise fantastic customer service & the winter dene delivered. Thank you :0)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smithy161283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words - it is much appreciated. We hope to welcome you again here sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the town, parking was easy with plenty of spaces. Excellent breakfast choices, one small negative point was the size of the room my husband and myself were allocated, it was on the top floor with a sloping ceiling and very little floor space. A tall person might have problems avoiding banging their head on the sloping ceilings. One other point is that there are no emergencies exits on floors one and two, in case of a fire starting. Overall we did enjoy our stay at Winter Dene

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MrsB070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast. We did discuss your room being on the top floor before you made the booking.

If you had raised your concerns about fire safety we could have showed you that we are fully compliant and certificated in all areas. All doors are fire retaining doors and negate the need for external stairs. It is always a shame to hear about people's worries once they have finished their holiday, when just a few words with the Proprietor would have settled things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,009 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mory House
Mory House
#3 of 132 in Bournemouth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Winter Dene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £118 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated in 2016 by Visit Britain as 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing