We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel & value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lampeter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lampeter Hotel
Ranked #58 of 133 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel & value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel is very clean, welcoming & in an excellent location with views of the Lower Gardens & it's air balloon. Food in restaurant & for breakfast was excellent. Will definitely return back to this hotel when staying in Bournemouth again.

Room Tip: Room 109 is a twin room looking over the park and great as long as you do not mind the noise of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    100
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
110
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

great location right by the gardens and free parking. With lots to do near by when the sun is shining. close to all the shops, restaurants and only a short walk to the pier and beach. The food was lovely and it was nice to be able to sit and have food and drinks looking over the gardens. The room was clean and comfortable. There was some noise in the night due to central location. Not from within the hotel. Would stay again. Nothing in the hotel to entertain children.

Room Tip: rooms with views over the gardens have a better view however the noise in the night outside the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank appleSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel is close to the beach and overlooks and has a walkway to the park. High street is not far either. As you go to the beach you go right past the BIC so is close if your going to a show as I did. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good parking , only problem was they had a tour so part of the parking was taken by the bus, but not a problem for me as I walked everywhere. I would recommend this hotel not only to families but business and couples also.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

we booked a short break not knowing much about this hotel but I'm glad we did. It is a smaller hotel tucked into a cluster of similar buildings off the main road, The room we were allocated was on the ground floor, it was a spacious room suitable for three people easily with all the usual comforts we come to expect these days the only niggle was the lack of power points . The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant offered a varied menu including locally sourced produce superbly cooked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have just returned from two nights at The Lampeter, and reading previous reviews I think either previous reviewers must have been deaf or we were just unlucky with very noisy revellers!
The hotel is very clean, brilliantly located for everything, beach, shops, gardens etc. the staff are very friendly and helpful, but sadly our stay was soured by the fact that our room overlooked the gardens, it was very hot so we had to have the windows open and my Grand-daughter and I hardly got any sleep for two nights because of the constant screaming, shouting and singing once the clubs & pubs turned out! My daughter and two other grandchildren had a room at the back of the hotel so they were not disturbed. So my advise to you is make sure your room is located at the back of the hotel if you want to sleep at night or go mid winter! Unfortunately I will not be returning to this hotel unless I have the reassurance that the rooms overlooking the gardens have been fitted with triple glazing and air conditioning!

Room Tip: Make sure you do not have a room overlooking the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swannie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a 3 night break at the Lampeter and the weather was fantastic , we have been very lucky with weather in Bournemouth over the last 20+years of coming down .
We have dined at the bistro at the Lampeter before and decided to book a break there this year ,it's is early in season staff very good all round it's easy access to center of Bournemouth is fantastic , easy parking we always park up when staying in bournemouth and walk everywhere so tucked car in corner and forgot it.
Breakfast good not a lover of fresh grilled tomatoes / but not many hotels in the south of England do plum tomatoes in juice .
The evening meals fantastic , Scallop starter beautiful ,that's a keeper on the menu ,mackerel main lovely , the deserts looked great but we were full.
Room very clean the artwork a bit dated , and decoration patchy ,but hey your not living 24hrs a day in it , en-suite wares clean and tiling clean nice little touches .
We only wish we had a room with garden views as requested via info box when booking but I guess we should of called maybe a week or two before arrival , book today you won't be disappointed

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank smethamsfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Spent a bank holiday weekend here with friends, the hotel is in a very central location. Average hotel but we paid above average price per night (90 GBP/night) for a hotel of this standard. When we arrived we were told we had to hand in our car keys to reception so they could move the cars in the small hotel carpark to allow departing guests cars to be moved out. So trusting the receptionist I handed the keys over. I didn't need car for duration of stay. On departing the hotel I noticed my hand brake had Been yanked really hard up. To the point it could be damaged, so that really annoyed me , as the stay hadn't been that bad. Don't know which careless member of their staff was responsible, and even if I had gone back to the hotel manager to complain, He would have not been able to prevent his careless staff from doing it again. So if u have to stay here make sure they don't damage your car like they tried to do to mine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SG80London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#10 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel Bournemouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Trouville Hotel
The Trouville Hotel
#44 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#54 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#19 of 133 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lampeter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampeter Hotel

Property: Lampeter Hotel
Address: Exeter Park Road | Lower Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lampeter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lampeter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing