We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Haslemere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Thankfully we only stayed one night, great location, minutes from the beach.
Room was dated and grubby, the wall was so damp wallpaper was missing.
Mold on tiles in bathroom - seeming a recurring theme of almost all the reviews.
Bathroom celing leaked, and clearly had been leaking for some time.
The whole hotel was in a very poor condition.
Carpark was full so we had to park on street, luckily there's a fair bit of parking in the area and it was cheaper than using the hotel carpark.
Breakfast consisted of a buffet style, no staff involved or tablecloths, hygiene seemed to take second place to profits, the dirty ice cream scoops in a bucket next to a freezer full of cheap tubs was possibly last nights desert.
Very very smal lifts, only one of which seemed to work.
This is a hotel that would suit demolition.
At £97 a night this would have been good value had the hotel had been in a clean and presentable condition, but given the dirty rooms, battered state of the decor and the aloof staff it will be a nice clean Premier Inn next time.

Room Tip: Read reviews here first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    183
    227
    207
    398
See reviews for
185
510
54
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We arrived with some anxiety having read some of the recent reviews but overall we were pleasantly surprised by the experience of our short stay at the Britannia. The hotel itself has a good location a short walk along the cliff top to Bournemouth town. It could do with some refurbishment and feels a little dated but a small amount of money invested in the building would make a big difference. Car parking is limited but they have just introduced a charge of £3 a day so that may help to limit demand.
The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable and were well tended by the daily maid service. The food at breakfast and dinner was self-serivce. It was plentiful and of a good quality. However, the coffee urn had usually run dry by 8.30am and nobody seemed in any rush to top it up. The staff were very good, polite, welcoming and helpful. If the owners of the hotel have any ambition they will spend some money on the building, furnishings and general infrastructure which are all a little tired but the staff, food and cleanliness we found were of a very good standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllBeingWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here briefly on a stag do. I did not realise that use of the pool costs extra (£4 at the time we stayed) so I didn't bother going. It was expensive (as bournemouth is in general), so thought it would be included. The room was OK, pretty clean, just a little mould in the shower. One of our party got locked in the bathroom for a short period of time. The checkout rather rather slow. Breakfast wasn't too bad, nothing special though.

It is in a good position though, if I was staying for any longer I would have been pretty disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayMikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Awful hotel!
The internet pictures look nothing like the hotel in real life.

The reception staff and other staff members are rude, the hotel is really run down and so scruffy and dirty. The rooms have old broken furniture, non working bathrooms and mouldy windows.

The breakfasts were disgusting so we bought breakfast at another hotel. The hotel was so awful we didn't even bother looking at the pool!

This was a quick last min trip and all hotels were pretty booked up, so ended up here. We were not expecting a lot because it was a cheapy hotel, but it really is awful! I will be sleeping on the beach if I ever have to go here again.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived on Saturday 2nd June 2012, upon seeing our room we went straight to reception and said we thought they had mixed up our room booking as we had booked a superior double room and were given a very basic family room on the 5th floor that was in no way superior. We were told by the manger that this was a superior room, to which i stated that the room looked nothing like the pictures on the internet. The manager swiftly told us that he wasn't responsible for the pictures on the internet and that he didn't have any other rooms available.
The room was smelly, the furniture looked like it had come from a charity shop. The bed was rock hard and the sheets were torn.
We had no hot water when we arrived and was told that it was because lots of guests are staying at the hotel and all using the water at the same time.
Our booking included dinner, however once we had looked to see the hospital type food that was on offer we decided to eat elsewhere. The internet states they have a carvery each night, this is also untrue as the meal that was on offer was Turkey slices in Gravy, boiled potatoes and frozen mixed vegetables, the other option was Liver pie (Yuk). For dessert there was a chocolate cake that looked liked something you would buy from Iceland.
The next morning the whole of the 5th floor still had no hot water and we informed the management, we were told that they are working on it and these things take time. We went out for the day and when we returned in the early evening we still had no hot water, we were told that a gas valve had broken, however another guest was told that it was a burst pipe and another guest was told that "Head office only allow us to use 1 specific plumber, and unfortunately he is on holiday".
When we booked out of the hotel a delivery of Meat arrived. The delivery driver could not get into the car park so he left the pallet of meat on the street. We went into Bournemouth town for some last minute shopping and as we were leaving Bournemouth to return home some 2 hours later we passed the hotel and were shocked to discover that the pallet of Meat was still on the street and had not been refrigerated.
Unfortunately for us the whole of Bournemouth was fully booked due to the Diamond Jubillee so we could not book into another hotel. The manager would not give us a refund of our money and told us that we would have to take the matter up with head office, whom i have since heard do not even reply to the hundreds of complaints they receive regarding their hotels. I have written a letter of complaint backed up with photos that we took of the room etc, i await to see if i get a response.
Hotels like this should not be allowed to operate, the service was non existent. It felt as though once they had our money they did not care and were so used to getting complaints that it was like water off a ducks back to the manager.
I would definately not recommend this hotel, and from what i have heard about this group of hotels, all of their other hotels are the same.

Room Tip: Do not go to this Hotel unless you are prepared for a 2 star hotel.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FBremner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Thankfully our stay was for only one night, would firstly like to say Anita from reception was a huge help very friendly and the only staff member to wear a smile. When reporting to reception that our 5th floor room had no hot water we were told yes you have it was fixed yesterday, quite comical really when explaining that my partner is an heating enginer and he can assure you there is definitely no hot running water lol.. After them checking the temp of the water we were given a key to a first floor to us for showering which was no problem at all until the following morning when the lift broke, now breakfast was an entirely different ball game we were seated at a table with half a table setting to be told they had run out of tea cups, the buffet style breakfast was shocking run out of all meat, cold milk, and to top it off hot water lol a shame really fantastic location and with a few changes could be lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wouldham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

this is a very tired and dated hotel, the brochure and website give the impression of chic and slick which could not be further fron the truth. yes parking is free, but there is none, well for about 30 cars you need to park on the road and pay between 9 and 5. if you are lucky enough to get a space you will find your car coated in whatever falls from the trees surrounding the carpark yuk.
the interior is drab and tired, the lift is the smallest i have ever seen claustrophobia on your own. the rooms are in the same state the bathroom was stained and blown tiles everywhere. the only saving grace was the place was clean. we only ate breakfast once which was the most disorganised buffet ever a cross between hidi hi and fawlty towers without the humour, and the cheapest of the cheap quality everthing used. our bedroom view gave us a good view of the bedragled chef out the back along side tons on dirty laundry having a fag with the teatowel over his shoulder i am sur he did wash his hands but the image was enough for me. if they were charging 60 pounds a night b and b it would just about be ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#30 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing