We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average sums it up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Blackpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average sums it up”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Just a one night stay and we arrived to face a £2 charge for paying by card. Even debit cards. Room whilst basic was sufficient and the view was of the roof and air conditioning unit. Room was clean apart from bathroom window which needed more renovating than painting. Good shower and plenty of hot water. Lifts are very small and can only accommodate two or three (at a squeeze). Breakfast was the basic help yourself buffet and quality will depend on how long after its been cooked you arrived.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pidg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    186
    230
    211
    410
See reviews for
190
521
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
moonrakerproud
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed here on 26th Feb 2013 for two nights.We did'nt pre book this hotel.For a start Britannia should sort out their phone numbers,Why charge customers 10p per minute to book by phone???We arrived mid afternoon.We entered reception,and when enquiring about a room,the receptionists (the blonde one)was aloof and rude.We decided on a superior room,and I really don't know why they call it that!The view outside is a huge block of flats,no privacy!The room?Looks like something from the 70's in an old peoples home.Dated furniture,old box type tv,bed too small for the headboard.Bathroom was fine,tolietries included which I thought was a nice touch.Plenty of hot water and a nice deep bath(shower is over it).The food?The first night,not sure what the other main options were,but we arrived at 7pm and all that was left was liver!!!So we had liver,new potatoes green beans and cauli.Puds were cheap looking cheesecakes & gateaux's with cheap tasting icecream.Second night was more choice,had the breaded fish with croquettes peas and carrots,and puds were the same.Breakfast?Ok I guess!Can choose from cooked (all help yourself type)cereals,canned fruit,yoghurt,toast,jams,hot drinks and juices.Not sure what the cooks do with the mushrooms but there are under cooked and rubbery.Dining furniture?Chairs nice,tables are cheap melamine material.Should cover them with nice tableclothes.Dining room staff are too quick to collect crockery.NO ONE LIKES TO FEEL RUSHED WHILST EATING!!!!! Jesus,I just finished my meal,had'nt yet decided whether to go and get something else and my plate was whipped away without them asking me if they could take it.This happened several times.As we gazed around the room it became quite clear we were surrounded by lots and lots of very old people,We were also aware that all of the staff we had spoken to were from eastern europe.Almost felt like we were staying in Poland.We did'nt use the pool,as it is charged now at £6 per person,which we felt was a rip off.We were charged £3 for car parking per night,another rip off.I think if we visited Bournemouth again,we would stay at the Premier Inn.More central to town and cheaper.Sorry but its the first time we stayed at a Brittania hotel and very very unlikely we would use this hotel group again.We were glad to get back home.Did'nt sleep well either due to people in room next door.You can hear their bathroom fan come on during the night,the floor boards creaking etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonrakerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we arrived on friday as a party of 40,the room we had was very small but i asked at reception if we could move rooms and was fine,the room was basic not particulary nicely decorated but as a base it was fine could be cleaner there was grime under the bath taps wouldnt take 5 mins to clean it properly.The breakfast and evening meal was lovely and plentiful,the waiting staff were always clearing away and replensing food,the entertainment was good but made it all the more fun as we were in a big party made our own fun shame bar was not open later to residents,overall had a lovey stay would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1965_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The parking was a problem but once my husband found out we could park at one of the sister hotels it was fine. As I have to walk with a stick luckily not that far away. We had a room on the first floor and I think the bathroom was brand new as it was spotless, there was a bottle of sparkling perry cooling in an ice bucket and 3 little chocolates in a heart shaped box. We had a view towards the sea front but also above the bar area where outside they gather to smoke and overlooking the indoor pool. The dining area was very smart and the staff were on the ball when clearing tables. The food was very good even though I couldnt find a veggie option, I think I should have asked but was happy with the salad. There was entertainment in the bar but we didnt stay that long. Had a good nights sleep although the bed was a little hard, breakfast was good. Our biggest laugh was the lifts which are tiny but gave us a giggle.

Room Tip: pay a bit more dont go for the budget rooms we only paid £10 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank widgetparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel for one night, and it was terrible, terrible and the staff were rude.
We arrived to a room that was dirty that had hair all over the bath and someone poo from the occupants before.
So we asked to be moved and for the cleaner to come in a clean up.
The cleaner came in the room with one cloth to clean the bath and the toilet with, to my horror she actually used the same cloth to wash the bath with and to clean the rim and the toilet seat with.
So we demanded another room and after the third room change we were told at the price we paid which was a good price I can't deny what did I expect.
How can they treat people like that, even if I payed a pound it still should be clean.
Won't stayed they again. EVER. Which is a shame because Bournemouth is beautiful.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Polinablessed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I had their so-called Valentine's Romantic Offer, with a Bottle of Bubbly and a box of chocolates in the room upon arrival. Would a couple expect to be in a Twin Room with very dirty and full of mildew bathroom? There was no any sign of a Valentine's special in the room either. I called the Reception and asked for a Double Room and we were asked to go back down. Reception staff seemed that they didn't have any idea about their own special offers. They were unapproachable and never said a word apart from our room number. Very unwelcoming and poor customer service skills. We had the Bottle of Perry and a small box of chocolates after asking them twice. The same thing happened when we checked out after our 3-night stay. There was no "Thank you for coming or we hope you've enjoyed your stay, and so forth..." Nothing at all, as if they could not open their mouths. Restaurant staff were also very rude. They just clear the table even without finishing your food. All staff lack a proper training in customer relations, food and hygiene, and table service manners. Speaking of hygiene, the Waiters wipe the tables with cleansing chemical, then lay the new cutleries straight on top of the wet tables. We are extremely disappointed with all of the staff in this hotel. We never saw any of them who actually gave a little smile. They all looked miserable and unhappy with their jobs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JChurches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Only booked this at very short notice. Cheap rate, but make sure you are aware, £2 admin fee, (no matter how you pay) plus £3 car parking charges. (Gotta say parking very very bad) got boxed in last night.... So had to take taxi to venue we were going to. So that was another £9 to add to the bill. Although hotel is really in need of update and good lick of paint. Was very dissapointed that if you wanted a swim £4 adult £2 kids. Pool, sauna, etc very nice, changing rooms and lockers bad..... Breakfast very very good.... Would definately recommend but make sure you get the cheapest starting price...... Staff all friendly.....

Room Tip: We had twin room, not much space, but comfortable, quiet room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing