We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off by moaners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just had 3 nights stay at the Brittania hotel Bournemouth with National Holidays having read other reviews we were apprehensive but found all the staff pleasant and helpful . Our room was spacious and clean. The towels were changed every day . Food was varied and well cooked with plenty of choice. The swimming pool was clean and inviting and the evening entertainment good. The only thing we can find to moan about are the MOANERS ! - This happens on every trip we have ever been on why can't people realise that you get what you pay for and if you expect 5 star service go to a 5 star hotel and pay accordingly . This hotel was clean and good value for the money nuff said ! Our coach driver Danny was very pleasant and funny well done National Holidays - We will be back .

Room Tip: Our room 120 was spacious and as requested had a nice bath not a good view but as we didnt pay extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hissyfitLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with Superdeal from National Express for £99 each, was worried about this hotel from previous reviews on here! Several Coaches were all checking in at the same time and it could not have been more efficient, the staff were all young and foreign, but very pleasant helpful and hardworking, from reception staff to dining room staff nothing was too much trouble.My request for extra pillows and a room near reception/or lift were met, Our twin room and bathroom were spotless clean (Room 130), and serviced every day,food was excellent, ideal location, on the negative side lifts were small, the hotel is a bit jaded and worn, the majority of the people on this trip were pensioners and felt it their duty to find something to complain about!!
Overall fantastic value for money, good location, food and staff - my husband normally can find something to complain about too, but even he said he couldn't fault the place.

Room Tip: We asked for room near reception due to husband walking difficulties, got room 130 which was on firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelann58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Room was ok for price however the lift stopped and the doors would not open on two occasions within 24 hours so for the remainder of our stay we used the stairs as the lift is only for 2 persons at a time and so is very small and did not want to risk being trapped in such a small lift for too long.
Did not have sufficient towels in room so phoned reception and told would have to wait until next day as linen service was closed.
We were charged GBP3 per night for parking however on our last night there was no where to park and we were told to park out in the driveway even though we had paid for parking on the premises.
Were awake half the night due to noise from hotel guests both inside and outside the hotel. Breakfast was ok however there was a long wait for some items once they had run out. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Not much to say other than the room was good & clean. Very rude lady in dining room greeting us at every mealtime.In the afternoon,you have to wait for the bar to be staffed,after waiting for 45 minutes,we went to Heathlands (sister hotel) where we were served immediatly by a rather pleasant young lady.Mealtimes were farcical at the very best.Duty manager told us it was due to understaffing,but come on Britannia,5 waiters serving 200 guests ??????
Despite several emails to Britannia,viocing our concerns.........SILENCE !!!
Stayed at several Britannia hotels with no problems,but this one ,STAY CLEAR !!!

Room Tip: 402 Has a nice sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darick121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here last month for a girls night with my best friend. We didn't need much, just somewhere to get ready and put our head down for the night. Check in was slow, the receptionist didn't seem to know what he was doing, my booking was incorrect, part fault of hotels.com. I had booked with breakfast, they insisted i hadn't. Phoned hotels.com, it as their fault. Our room was ok, poor view of the where the staff smoke, rubbish everywhere and gas canisters from the cellar fallen over. Our sink basin blocked, we informed reception, and told them we were going out for a couple of hours so they had plenty of time to fix this problem. When we came back we checked with reception that the problem had been fixed before we went up to our room, the receptionist had forgotten all about it, scrambled round for the scrap piece of paper he wrote it on and told us the maintenance man would be up soon. I told him i wanted to move room as we where about to get ready to go out so both needed to have showers. He continued to argue with me, telling me to wait because the guy would be up soon to fix it. He kept going into the back office to speak to someone, i assume this may be a manager, if it was, i don't understand why they hid and did not help the receptionist? Eventually he gave up when i told him i wasn't going to wait to get ready or let a maintenance man in the bathroom while im having a shower, so he moved us. This could have been done instantly! The bar staff where friendly and cheerful...only good thing about the place. Our new room wasn't better either, what looked like dead bugs hanging in the corner behind the tv. I might have only wanted somewhere to sleep for the time but i will def not be returning! Staff need some kind of customer service training!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddy2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here this year with my wife, brother & sister inlaw. The reception needs brightening up' I felt it a bit off putting, The reception staff, a young lady in this case quite unwelcoming. We arrived a hour early and were told by this young lady quite coldly' booking in time 1400, not the sort of welcome you expect from the front desk, and one that needs to change if customers are to return. We returned to the car and returned our suitcases to the boot and walked into town for a beer, returning later to be greeted by a very polite young man. the room excellent, also the buffet breakfast. highly recomend this hotel as good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONLIN1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

After searching last minute for a hotel in Bournemouth costing between 30-100, we paid £80 for a room thinking it would be of a fairly good standard, oh boy were we wrong! The 'spacious' room was a small double with a single headboard?? No available parking, no fridge, no tv, the hairdryer smoking when plugged in?!?!
We requested a room change unfortunately there were none and as it was already 20:00 and we were getting up at 04:00 decided to stay but knew we would have review to warn others!
To sum up ... the location is good and the rooms were clean but the whole scenario was very 'Fawlty Towers!'
If you pay £20-30 it is fine but be aware the hotel needs upgrading and the rooms are very small & if you are disabled do NOT book as the lifts are so small, 2 people is too many.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enalsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,616 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing