We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Booked this hotel through Groupon. Great deal including room, dinner, breakfast and a bottle of wine. Read previous reviews, mixed bag, as to be expected with most hotels.
Turned up hours before check in and were allowed to park the car and go for a wander. We came back and used the Spa facilities (just a jacuzzi and swimming pool and small sauna but nevertheless). These were clean and a good way to while away an hour or so. The rooms in the hotel are dated but clean. We had a standard double room with masses of wardrobe space, a TV, a bath, separate shower and two sinks. More than ample.
Dinner was a buffet, good choice and delicious puddings. I enjoyed a bottle of rose free of charge and bar drinks reasonably priced. Breakfast was hot and lovely, again a good spread.
Overall we were really pleased with this hotel, especially in light of previous reviews. The hotel is a bit worn and dated but this is overcompensated for in price and service.
Good location, would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank claire e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

On arrival there were no parking spaces so had to pay to park on the road. The reception staff seem to have given up any attempt at customer service, no smile, no greeting and certainly not helpful.The room was cold and smelt damp. Carpet filthy with a myriad of old stains. Pillows too thin, duvet cover ripped. Headboards, which were screwed to the wall did not align with the beds. The windows were dirty and the ceilings stained. Lighting was so poor I had to resort to putting the bedside light on top of the upturned waste bin in order to read. The public gents' toilet had a very large hole in the wall. Went to dining room. We we were told to "sit anywhere". We sat, and we waited, and waited. No one offered us a drink so back to the receptionist who said we'd have to fetch our own drinks from the bar. Asked for jug of water which never materialised. Entered the fray of the buffet meal, food looked and tasted abominable. Had a go at coronation chicken which was vile then tried fruit salad, this tasted so old it had begun to ferment. Gave up on dinner and bought sandwiches from local garage.Tried for drinks in the bar but told we'd have to go to reception to pay as there was only one card machine in the place. The "spa" is not a spa, its a lukewarm swimming pool, a marginally hotter hot tub and a sauna that doesn't seem to be working properly. Pool attendants were unfriendly. Breakfast was slightly better apart from black pudding which tasted rancid. I saved it for my dog but he turned his nose up at it! The meal took a long time to assemble as it was impossible to have a plate, an egg, a teaspoon and bread at the same time as they kept running out. Plates on the hot plate were dangerously hot. The dining room decor reminded me of the worst kind of elderly peoples' home. Tried to play a game of pool but when we asked for cue chalk we were told they had stopped buying it because people stole it! On return from meal out tried again for drinks in the bar but were told all drink was locked away (11.30pm) - but if we handed over some cash the night porter would get us a bottle of wine! Checkout was just as gloomy - I think the receptionist was afraid to ask if we had enjoyed our stay so tried to avoid engaging in any conversation at all! The hotel is in a great location but needs major refurbishment and the staff need some serious training in customer service. Perhaps too many "hen and stag" nights have made them lose their morale. People should not be prepared to put up with sub-standard service just because the price is low - a smile costs nothing.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hboss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just got back from a weekend trip to Bournemouth. Paid £150 for two rooms for out family of 5. Awful experience. Firstly, you are charged £3 per day to park your car at the hotel. To use the leisure facilities, you have to pay £6 per adult and a few pounds per child. I argued this at reception as I couldn't believe I had to pay to use these facilities. After looking through the window, I am so glad we didn't use the pool. Filthy dirty and very dated. The lift to get up stairs is tiny. Just fit our pushchair and me at a squeeze. As soon as I got out of the lift on the 3rd floor, I was shocked at how grubby and worn the carpet was. Huge stains and rubbish outside our door. Our room smelt musty and dirty. Stains on the chairs and old throws on the bed. Rusty pipes and dated furniture. Truly awful. I didn't want to let my toddler out of the buggy. Our second room was the same. Mould growing inside wardrobes. Dirty carpets, stained carpets and awful furniture. Possibly one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I complained to the manager (who was also dealing with another similar complaint). To be fair, he was very kind and found us another hotel and offered us a full refund. Would never ever visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoJoJo012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just returned back from a two night wowcher deal.
Checking into hotel and were put in a double standard room, room was dirty and severely dated, literately wanted to go home spoke to reception and they moved us too a twin executive room black mould next to radiators severely damp walls and the smell made you gag.
As we had tickets to an event we had to make do, asked to get money back but was informed it would take three days to go back to my card so had no choice but to stay.
I will never stay or recommend the hotel, I had booked my dogs in kennels and I think they were in better accommodation then us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights staff polite bedroom on the corner larger room than some of the others, bathroom and shower very small, only for slim people. Food ok limited for vegetarians usually pasta.Needs updating. We had a good weekend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186390Popi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on a voucher deal for 1 night and then the other through the hotel. Food was on a buffet basis for breakfast and dinner and there was a good variety to choose from. Both days included these meals and a bottle of wine with both evening meals.We also recieved a basket of fruit. Check hotels deals before you buy a voucher as some you dont recieve a second evening meal. Room was ok and we were upgraded as well but the heat in the room and hotel was far too hot. We are staying in the Royal Bath in January on another voucher which belongs to the same group. We would come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

It's not the ritz but was clean, food was good, staff helpful and polite. Exactly what we needed and fab location. Just what we needed. No complaints at all. Would definitely go back. Car parking a bit scarse but alternative supplied.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siancush88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £22 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing