We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even make it though front door ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Pictures look ok and when we pulled up at the hotel it looks like it should be shut down. Absolutely disgusting really we didn't even want to walk through the doors to find out what it was like outside as we saw enough of filthy net curtains and dirt from outside in the car. And the free cancellation what a con, still got to pay money for it even though cancelled before time specified and they didn't reply back with confirmation till late that even what a disgrace

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
There are newer reviews for Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Location few minutes walk to the beach,few minutes to the town centre..Parking at the hotel you have to pay for,i managed to park on the road,but between 9-5pm charges will apply.Check in was fine,but reception area,lifts requir a good clean..The room i stayed was ok.But found the room cold,the tv was to small a portable 14 inch from years ago,the spicture was terrible..The walls seemed very thin,due i could hear guests next door.The carpets & furniture very old..I stayed one night,would not want to stay longer than this..So many better hotels nearby for the same price..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rico3625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was my 4th stay at the hotel but thought it had gone down hill a bit. The heating in our room had broken but when we told the reception in the morning nothing was actually done about it. The previous times were great value for money and staff were more helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank car151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Don't be fooled by the bad reviews. The hotel is what it is. You will see when you get there. It does need lots of money to bring it back to a former splendour but I don't think that is the intention of the current management.

In a nutshell. Bed and linen are very good. The bathroom was spotless. Staff very friendly, considering the language barrier and the location is handy. So, if you are lucky as we were paying almost half of the usual B&B, go for it and enjoy Breakfast by the sea.

Room Tip: ask for it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SebastianCarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

what a good place to stay warm room comfy beds great food we will be back thanks to all staff involved in our lovely stay in did write a great report in caps but this was rejected by trip advisor which is a shame cos im tired now and my hands are hutring so britannia does not get a propper review becaus of silly rules

Room Tip: all good i spoke to others in the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudsocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed on 4 night trip with National holidays. Walls dirty with grease where people have been laying up against them in bed. Visible cobwebs in corners of room. Not very clean. Walls paper thin and could hear clearly the ordinary conversation of people next door and every word on their TV. When I asked to change rooms female receptionist lied and said they were fully booked, two minutes later another receptionist changed the room, but admitted it might not be any quieter, it wasn't. Second room was divided from next room by a door with handle removed - again could hear every word, even their room light shone through the door edge. Some of the staff friendly, but working in Basil Faulty conditions. Mattress very uncomfortable. Not worth staying here no matter how cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked last minute and paid £30 for both of us which was why we chose this hotel through laterooms.com when we arrived we wished we had paid more for a better hotel. No where to park even at 8pm so had to park by the seafront and walk back although was please as realised it was £3 to park and had to check out by 10am which is a joke. Checked in and got in the smallest, dirtiest, worn out lift in the world. Stepped out into the hallway and it was like being in a hostel. Worn carpets, dirty walls, everything just needs a good clean and paint. Got to room, was old and worn and stains on every item of furniture, pillows smelled like 10 years worth of dribble. Small bathroom was probably the best part as water was hot and pressure was good but it did smell like wee. The bed if it was good enough to be called that, had a flat, springless mattress which was like a few duvets chucked on some slats. TV worked but was positioned in a way so you couldn't watch it from the bed and last but not least in the morning even though checkout was at 10am a maid banged on our door at 9 and scared the living day lights out of us. It was a Saturday morning. Not impressed. Never ever would I recommend this hotel not even for the price. I've seen better hostels!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank stacey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#15 of 67 in Bournemouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing