We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE AND BRILLIANT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked through UK Breakaways but had to phone the hotel to ask about bringing our dogs. Had no problems booking and was done in a matter of minutes. We took our 2 dogs with us for the weekend which was great - pets only allowed in reception and our room but that was enough for them as loads of places to walk them. Hotel was so clean - food was absolutely brilliant (some guests ate for 3 people at the help yourself buffet!). Lots of choice food wise and all cooked beautifully. Staff couldn't do enough to help us. We couldn't understand why some people went out of their way to find something stupid to complain about. For what we paid it was outstanding value. They wanted clean mattress protector (as seen on Hotel Inspector!!!). Rooms weren't huge but then you don't expect that. Extra pillows, duvets nd banklets available. Even had an extra heater in our room but we didnt need to use it. Bathrooms were a good size and really hot water so plentiful. We found everything so spotlessly clean. . Even smoking rooms - how often do you find them?? A lift to all floors - some floors had a few steps but if this was a problem just phone before going and they will change your room. The staff were brilliant and try to accommodate everyone - even though some guests could moan for England!! Had a swim In the pool which was warm as was the Jacuzzi. Friends tried the steam room which was also good. Only a few minutes walk from the beach. If not fit enough, there is a lift to take you up and down to the beach more or less opposite the hotel. Plenty of shops in Bournemouth too. Prices are really cheap and you get a lot for your money. What more could you ask for??

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMACJAKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

So bad is Britannia, that I have logged in here just to warn other people about it.
My wife is wheelchair bound, so when I needed to attend a funeral in Bournemouth, I contacted Central Bookings and explained very clearly that we needed a Wheelchair Accesible room in a hotel relatively near to the crematorium. Not only were we booked into the one of three Britannia hotels in Bournemouth which was furthest away from the crenmatorium,but Central Bookings definition of a room suitable for someone confined to a wheelchair had a bath, not a level access shower!
Fair play to the staff at the hotel, they apologised profusely that they could not get us booked into either of the other Britannia Hotels in Bournemouth, apparently only Central Bookings could do that, and they offered us another wheelchair accessible room when it became available two days later. So we stayed in the hope of getting the "better" room, this turned four not only to have no real wheelchair access, but a stand in shower with a six-inch step to it.
Having asked the hotel off the contact derails of someone to complain to at Britannia, I wad given a compliments slip, that helpfully had no contact details other than a website and the Central Bookings details. So I sent a complaint using the "Contact Us" section of the website, as they are very careful not to give any email addresses. Five months later, I have not heard so much as one peep from them.

Personally, after this, I would avoid any Britannia Group Hotel at all costs,

Room Tip: Try and avoid the ground floor, they appear to have squeezed rooms in places that were never intende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

From the outside it looks fairly nice and location was ideal 5min walk frm the beach. Even though we got the room at a fairly decent price considering we booked the nite befor u stil expect one thing....for it to be clean! It wasnt, the bed had pet hair on, the seats in room had stains, the radiator was broken with the bits on the floor, the room generaly didnt feel clean. We slept awful, kept wakeing up every hour. Just glad we had one nite there. There was also awful choice of pictures, not very appealing, quite scary lol The hotel itself needs an uplift! Wouldnt reccomend sadly, but bourneworth itself made up for it. Beautiful place :) x

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sarahlouise28x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First of all we had a very good deal for our 5 day stay so really was excellent value for money. There were 15 of us, in 7x twin and 1 single. All rooms were adaquate and clean although some were better than others, some were larger and some had been updated but no one had real problems. The rooms were hot and some people had difficulties turning radiators off but hotel staff helpful and this was soon resolved. Rooms were very soundproof (unless window was open, but it is in city centre so street noise is inevitable), walls are thick and no noise from neighbouring rooms.
Breakfast and dinner had plenty of choices and eat as much as you like, waiting and bar staff were helpful and friendly.
Pool and gym area was a bit tired, worn tiles etc but £10 for whole stay was cheap enough, that gives you use.of all physical activities, pretty good value.
Hotel lounges etc were faded elegance, as were stairways, but that was fine.. 3 lifts, each carrying 6, sometimes you had to wait, but not for long. All in all, impressed and would definately return.

Room Tip: Not by lift, unless you want mechanical voice interrupting your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We just back from a lovely 4 night break with national holidays staying in the Britannia hotel Bournemouth this hotel is very clean the rooms were cleaned everyday and beds made the bathroom was spotless and the towels changed everyday, the food was good but there wasn't much selection however what was there was nice and we had no complaints. The hotel itself is a bit dated and is in need of some TLC but for what we paid we couldn't complain. Oh just to let you know we were on the first floor and the music from the bar was very loud but you will most probably be in the bar anyway so won't be affected. Anyway that is our only niggle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mavisrileyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we bought a groupon deal. Was a bit dubious but the staff were really friendly, food good and room adequate- we updated to an executive room so I don't think the nornall rooms would have been very good though but u never know.

We had a lovely weekend.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyhuts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is what it is, a 3 star, very cheap abode in Bournemouth. Have not stayed in a hotel quite like it. We were part of a party of 14 on a weekend in Bournemouth with the brief for cheap rooms, well the hotel ticked the box on this, only £23.50 per person for bed and breakfast per night. However, with this price you get a very run down, 70's decor hotel, full of coach trip elderly guests. The rooms were very poor, beds the worst I have ever slept on, and paper thin walls where you could hear next room breathe let alone snore!!
Avoid at all costs unless you really like us have to budget at silly prices. Think if I had known would have brought a tent and pitched under the pier!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Molby_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Durley Dean Hotel
The Durley Dean Hotel
#36 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £22 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing