We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked a one night stay for two, through Groupon, which included B and B, evening meal, a bottle of wine, fruit basket in the room and use of spa facilities for the amazing price of £39.
5* it was not....but despite the hotel being frayed around the edges the room was clean and spacious and the staff friendly and helpful.
There was plenty of choice for both breakfast and dinner ....and I'm a vegetarian...not haute cuisine but edible. It was centrally located and my friend and I enjoyed a great stay in the area visiting Lyme Regis, Abbotsbury swannery and Christchurch. The only down side were the paper thin walls and noise from other rooms from loud talking to noisy televisions. But despite this minor annoyance a brilliant stay. Thank you.

Room Tip: Request away from lifts and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bathsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    184
    230
    211
    410
See reviews for
190
521
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked 2 night Wowcher deal with one dinner and 2 breakfasts + free bottle of wine and fruit bowl. Extra £3 per night for parking and not enough spaces for size of hotel. The hotel was looking tired and in need of TLC. Carpet in bedroom badly stained. En suite shower room very small. Dinner adequate; but plenty to choose from for breakfast. Would not recommend it but I suppose you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My booking was clearly for the Britannia hotel,Bournemouth booked last year on the 1st September.

On arrival 8 months later we were told we were in their sister hotel-the heathland !!!

Was only around the corner but
an email would have been nice!! So my ratings are poor because I didn't stay at this hotel!!

Very poor Britannia hotel group!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lincolntricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

First of all, the place is really run down and shabby looking. I found staff unfriendly upon arrival and there was never enough car parking spaces.

Our room was small, dirty looking and had an adjoining door to a stag do. When they heard by voice they assumed i was a lone female and proceeded to try and meet me via the adjoining door (I was with my boyfriend)

The rest of the stag party were located in the room on the other side of us, which made for a very noisy stay.

After we eventually got to sleep gone 2am, the room above us decided to start having a thumping party. This went on until i called security.

When the stags rolled in at gone 4am they decided to torment us by continually knocking on our door, spraying fire extinguishers and playing loud music.

After complaining to staff, we received no apology or an offer to even move room or checkout late. I then had to drive home on very little sleep.

I emailed the hotel customer service team to let them know of our horrendous stay. They never responded. Would not stay here again or recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The location is perfect for the beach and the town, staff are friendly and very helpful, breakfast is good, swimming pool excellent, but........ the hotel is very tired, shabby, unpleasant décor and worst of all dirty. In reception there are just 2 sofas - filthy old sheets covering them.
Our room was small, with an almost unusable wardrobe (front to back hanging rail) for 2 ladies going to a wedding. Many broken or missing tiles and cracked walls in the bathroom, a broken shower screen which was impossible to close. The carpet in the bedroom was indescribably filthy, I wore shoes the whole time! Mould in the corners of the window. The bedding was very clean which was a relief. Our other room, supposedly a twin, for my 2 very large sons, was the size of a cupboard, with a double bed pushed into the only available corner - absolutely useless.
Come on Britannia - you have great staff, a good building in an excellent location - do something about it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Beware the evening meal is a buffet and served between 6 and 8.30pm, we didn't realise this and were rudely told we were late and ushered in to eat whatever was left without being given our room number


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Elena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Looking its age not sure what !makes it 3 star needs a good clean and dust in the rooms and some attention to detail. Ladies singing in the bar were good :-)

Don't get your hopes up about the pool ! Parking is not free but just £3 your get blocked in at night. Its free in the road at night.
Would I stay there again ...yes but only if its cheap I paid £72 for two nights for two people. There's a pub down the road if you wasn't a cheap breakfast and lots of places to eat with in a few mins walk.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing