We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and great service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
essex
1 review
“Excellent value and great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I can't believe some of the other bad reviews that this hotel has received! My wife and I booked a 3 day stay via Tesco's clubcard points, which I would have thought put us somewhere near the lower part of the pecking order re service etc....Well not a bit of it. The room was spacious, very clean and the decor was quite smart. It was cleaned immaculately every day. Also the breakfasts were delicious...piping hot, lots of it, and the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient to a tee. Our only problem was that an inconsiderate guest had decided to smoke in a room near to us, and when we complained, it was dealt with discreetly but effectively. I would certainly stay at this hotel again, and recommend it to others! Well done Britannia!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexAngus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    183
    227
    206
    398
See reviews for
185
510
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We had B&B and it was just up our street. We stayed 3 nights, the room was a twin and we were situated on the 4th floor. The lift is poky but as we were in our 40s and 50s it was no trouble to use the stairs. The place was clean and the outside reasonable, we have stayed in a worst hotel in Bournemouth and the value was £15/pppn midweek was just f-a-b. Location on a hill but a bus stop is just around the corner if needed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightsparkBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Surly reception staff - limited english. Room not over clean. Blanket didnt cover the bed (it was more like a rug) VERY noisy bathroom extractor fan (kept my husband awake for most of the night). A number of coach parties of elderly people were also there, they had were allocated meal times and if they didnt get in on time there were arguments that could be heard around the dining room. Not a god atmosphere! The food was buffet style and the coach party people were so greedy that there was not enough food to go round. There needed to be a chef serving the main course and just help yourself to vegetables, or table service. Couldn't wait to come home!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2010

We arrived early as we'd read reviews warning of limited parking (and were lucky to get a space). When we tried to check-in we were informed that the hotel had been overbooked and that we were actually booked at their sister hotel up the road. This wasn't acceptable as we were with another family that had already checked-in, so the receptionist altered the bookings to accommodate us, but this meant someone else would be inconvenienced later.
The room was fairly clean but extremely dated. The tv remote didn't work. There was no hot water.
The evening meal was surprisingly good from the buffet. The head waiter was doing his best, but they did struggle to keep the servery topped up and there was a wait for potatoes.
The entertainment was dire, designed for a generation that are, sadly, no longer with us!
The worst problem was that the toilet pan in our room was clearly leaking into the laminate flooring, which meant the bathroom stank of stale urine.

All-in-all, the staff really want to give good service, but Britannia need to make massive investment to bring this place up to standard, and I wouldn't stay here again until they have.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daved2008Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

after reading the reviews i was worried that the weekend would be a flop but how wrong i was. Room was fair but nice and clean, meals were good and you served yourselve.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank badgerWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

stayed 22-26th February 2010, booked ourselves, self drive, parked no problem, weather not so good, reception very friendly and helpful, booked superior, sea view room, dinner & breakfast + 3 hours free bar all for £250 for the 2 of us BARGAIN! thoroughly enjoyed it, room lovely, large and clean, food plentiful, and hot and very good, yes it is a buffet. Entertainment 2 nights out of 4, swimming pool. What more could you want. Totally disagree with others bad reviews, we loved it and would certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

The hotel was clean as was the room. It was an ideal spot to stay especially as we were off into town for a night out. Hotel parking was a real squeeze as we checked in quite late in the afternoon/evening. However they did have an overflow car park. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing