We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful beds/lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Dawlish, Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dreadful beds/lovely staff”
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We used Tesco vouchers and came to visit eldest daughter at uni here.
Staff helpful,room pleasant but bed just terrible-lumpy and uncomfortable. Window didn't shut properly so we got a through draft on the first night.
Looked at 2 other rooms but all beds the same. Staff tried to help make bed comfortable and wedged window shut but, until they invest in new and decent mattresses we won't be returning there.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied but didn't compensate for sleepless nights!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawlishdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your review.

We did, I believe organise a credit for the problems you had with the beds. We have replaced a large number of the hotel beds over the past few months and are continuing to replace the remainder.

Thank you for your kind comments about helpful staff. We do hope to welocme you back to a new comfortable bed before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    193
    240
    216
    424
See reviews for
196
539
56
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2010

For the price we paid it was fine, plenty of choice including rump steak on the first night, lamb on the second night, starters were salad and soup etc and deserts, ice cream with a mixture of cheese cakes and other sweets. Coffee in the bar afterwards. Also a two piece group entertaining in the bar (good girl singer). Fabric of the buildings and rooms left a bit to be desired, but excellent location, staff as friendly as they could be. I have paid more for a B&B with no amentities.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikecMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

At Britannia we aim to be 'best in value' and provide a good level of service. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Me and my partner booked two days out in this hotel at the end of November. We used our tesco vouchers for £130, and topped up with card for £40.

We arrived on Friday and a little early. We were told to come back after 3pm, which wasn't a problem as we decided to take a walk on the beach, which is located 3mins away from this hotel. There was lots of space for our car, however as other guests were arriving car park filled to full capacity in the early evening. Upon our return we were told that computers were down on the reception and we were told to wait 20minutes before we can check in. We went to lounge/bar to get free tea/coffee to wait but member of staff came after us 5 minutes later informing us everything is ok now and we can check in. We reserved superior room, and received number 103 (first floor). It ought to be with a see view, however, with trees in the way and another large hotel we barely saw it (which again wasn't a problem as it was foggy, also I was expecting that after checking how hotel is located on google maps from satellite view :) ). Room was spacious and very clean, vintage furniture (some would say old but it was all right to me, solid and served it's purpose), and not smelly at all. Room was warm and we had to turn down radiators and open windows! Bathroom was very clean, excellent shower and bath, clean towels. There was TV with remote in the room, two dryers and tea/coffee with kettle.

We used swimming pool on Saturday, we paid £2.5 pp (daily pass) to have a go. You can use sauna and jacuzzi while using swimming pool for free.

Breakfast was ok, it was buffet with toasts, eggs, sausages, beans etc - traditional english breakfast. There were fruits, jams and flakes as well. Eat / drink as much as you want between 8.00am-10.30am. Restaurant looked good, chairs were comfy. On Saturday we came late for breakfast at 10.30 but were allowed to use buffet while staff was cleaning up. All cups/plates/cutlery were clean. Helpful staff.

Carpet in the hall was quite dirty and could use hoovering and not very stylish, however it was very clean in our room.

Room service was good, and when we left on Saturday morning we welcomed our room cleaned up, with fresh bedclothes and towels.

I hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SupTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel last Saturday night having booked Dinner Bed and Breakfast to celebrate the day we met a few years ago. When we arrived there was nowhere to park and we were casually referred to other hotel carparks. We went to our room - there was no central heating and the room was cold. We had been promised a sea view which technically there was out of a fraction of one window. There was an electric heater which we couldnt get to work. We asked for another one and after about 2 hours it arrived. Using these heaters meant we had no power source to charge our telephones!
We went for our meal - not late - about 7 pm. It was a buffet! They do not cater for many people - I can understand why. All the main course trays were dried and congealed with a skin on top. There was no gravy for the meat dish and the only green vegetable was sprouts. The spouts had been overcooked and tasted awful. There were baby carrots however they were undercooked and looked suspiciously like tinned carrots. My partner had spaghetti but it was like rubber and she did not eat it.
The deserts were particularly unappealing and as we hadnt eaten we decided to try the cheese board. When we got there all the grapes had gone and we were told they had no more left. There was no other fruit to complement the cheese. We complained however because we had booked through a website there was nothing they could do. The staff are made up from many nationalities and have clearly not been trained in dealing with people or waiting table.
The hotel itself is shabby all carpets and soft furnishings need to be replaced and it needs to be decorated throughout.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petez324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We booked this budget hotel through bookings,com. We booked based on price and it did not bother us that this would be a no frills hotel. What we did not expect ,and no-one should be expected to pay for, is filth. The hotel foyer was sparse, univiting and grubby. We waited in the bar area for our room. The seats in the bar area were dirty, some of them looked like they had been rescued from the local dump.

We were eventually given room 124 - dirty and very smelly - if you get allocated this on arrival just ask for another room before even bothering to go and look at 124. Offered room 126 - this was worse than 124. Offered room 502 on top floor - not even a mattress cover on the bed! The carpets and furniture in all these rooms was honestly filty.

Then given the key to 402 only to find other guests in the room! We eventually accepted 403 which was clean - we now know this was was some kind of superior room.

The lifts and corridors were stinking - it is beyond our understanding how such a business can be allowed to operate by the local authorities.

The people responsible for running this "hotel" should go and stay in rooms 124/126/502 and then try to defend any sort of complaint. There is nothing wrong with a basic, no frills hotel , but a dirty hotel is just wrong.

We will be contacting bookings.com and the local Public Health Department.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channelhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfe Mullen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

There are loads of negative reviews on this hotel, but what do people expect. This is a budget hotel in a great location. The rooms are a bit tired, but they are clean. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lifts are small, but they are clean and work. Breakfast was great, come on people, if you want brand new, bang up to the minute facilities in this location you are going to be paying 3 or 4 times as much. For what this place costs it is amazing value

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed here for a week in august, Firstly, do bear in mind when reading other negative all be them possibly justified reviews that after we called many hotels prior to staying here the average cost was more than double the price of the brittania, i found it good value, your pound goes a bit further, its not dirty its just no frills, short staffed?Yes,No frills?Yes,staff under pressure from guests paying a minimum wanting the maximum?Yes,Good value for dinner bed +breakfast,close to sea front,pool,and an early night?(entertainment!!!!!)Yes,
Look if i was paying the local "going" rate for a Hotel DB+B i would have been dissapointed, but we didnt,
Nikki on Reception was lovely, the staff at dinner were very helpful, in particular one eastern european girl whose name escapes me but i felt compelled to tell the Rest -Manager she was a credit to Him !
Anyway , Returning for Halloween so watch this space !!!!!....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SIELLARO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,805 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
0.8 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing