We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, value-for-money hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good, value-for-money hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

My wife (and myself) visited the Bournemouth Britannia for a 2 night, weekend stay, at the end of Jan. I must admit that we were initially put-off by some of the comments on this web-page, but we decided to carry on. I think the adverse comments posted (above) should be viewed in the context of value for money. The tariff we were on, was very competitive. The food was reasonable (breakfast good), the room clean, the lounge/bar spacious. The staff were exceptionally friendly/helpful. I do not agree with some of the critical comments made above. On the negative side however, the parking was very restricted. And the small hotel lifts seemed a little unreliable at times!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. Britannia aim to be 'Best in value'.

The 3 Britannia hotels in Bournemouth are very close and normally parking can be resolved by using a siser hotels carpark if required.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    183
    227
    206
    398
See reviews for
185
510
53
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

My second visit to this hotel and this was through choice- its value for money, the room was pretty good, the restaurant is ok with friendly manager and staff in the restaurant. My only complaint would be the non welcoming receptionist who's attitude would have been more suited on signing in new inmates in "Prisoner cell block H!" We arrived a bit too early and were told in no uncertain terms that we would have to go until it was time to check in!! " I only asked"!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Britannia Hotel Bournemouth. We appreciate your kind comments.

I am sorry that our Receptionist appeared rude. We want all of our guests to be warmly welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Accidently booked this hotel, then discovered the bad reviews. After the initial wailing about booking a crummy place we decided to make the most of our visit.
With that attitude I must say it wasn't so bad. The place is pretty rough around the edges but the room was clean. There were a lot of young people and they are quite noisy, but they went out and mostly didnt come home until after 4am so we got a fair amount of sleep. The restaurant was not so good, seemed to have a film of grease over everything and attention to detail wasn't good (dirty marks over the salt and pepper shakers etc).
Parking is a lottery, very limited difficult to get in to and not much street parking.

I wouldn't stay there again nor would I recommened it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieSept2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
The Bournemouth Britannia hotel is very popular and one of the bussiest hotels in Bournemouth. This particular weekend a group of young gentleman were asked to leave following late celebrations.
We are very anxious to resolve any complaints raised during the break. The Britannia Bournemouth represents great value.
Recent improvement have been made to a number of rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Exeter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

The picture of the front of the hotel on their website is very misleading as it makes it look quite nice. On entering the foyer, it was immediately clear that the inside of the hotel needed a lot of work. There was one lift working to get to our room on the fourth floor and the two of us could hardly fit in there it was so small, and old. The room itself was like stepping back decades in time, with horribly large, eerie paintings on every wall, old dark furniture, and extremely dated oversized lampshades. The bathroom was like a small corridor which made squeezing in and out past the door each time challenging. The bed was uncomfortable and looked really old. We had booked for two nights but in the end decided we'd be better off leaving after the first night! The breakfast was a help yourself affair which was okay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your review.

We would welcome a fair opportunity to discuss your public comments. The Britannia Bournemouth is a very popular hotel offering some of the 'best in value' breaks in the area. The hotel itself was refurbished in 2006 and further refurbishment works have been undertaken in December 2010 and January 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

Myself and 7 friends go away every year. This year we booked the Penthouse Suite at this hotel an a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. After reading the reviews I was terrified to tell the others where we were going. I needn't have worried, the suite was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. Food was tasty and plentiful and we all found something suitable. The service wasn't brilliant and the comunal areas including lifts need updating but it was definately worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the Penthouse suite at the Britannia Hotel.....it's our little secret! We aim to deliver 'best in value' for the local area...Thank you for taking the time and we hope to see you and your friends again before too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We Stayed Here For Turkey And Tinsel, Found Staff So Helpful, They Couldn't Do Enough For You. Especially A Member Of Staff Called Nikki.
The Food Was Above Standard And Plentiful!
Room Furnished To A High Standard.
Entertainment Throughout The Week, One Hours Free Bar Every Day With As Much To Drink As Possible But We Did Book Through Travel Style.
I Have Found Some Of The Other Reviews On Here Untrue, Rooms Cleaned Every Day, Towels Fresh Everyday, Plenty Of Coffee And Tea In Room.
Would Definitely Stay Here Again, Very Pleasant Stay!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review.

Just goes to prove you can't believe all you read! Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to review the Britannia Hotel. We hope to see you again before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawlish, Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We used Tesco vouchers and came to visit eldest daughter at uni here.
Staff helpful,room pleasant but bed just terrible-lumpy and uncomfortable. Window didn't shut properly so we got a through draft on the first night.
Looked at 2 other rooms but all beds the same. Staff tried to help make bed comfortable and wedged window shut but, until they invest in new and decent mattresses we won't be returning there.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied but didn't compensate for sleepless nights!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawlishdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_Martin09, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 22 January 2011
Thank you for your review.

We did, I believe organise a credit for the problems you had with the beds. We have replaced a large number of the hotel beds over the past few months and are continuing to replace the remainder.

Thank you for your kind comments about helpful staff. We do hope to welocme you back to a new comfortable bed before long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Bath
Royal Bath
#61 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hinton Firs Hotel
Hinton Firs Hotel
#52 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Britannia Hotel Bournemouth
Address: East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Bournemouth 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Hotel Bournemouth has its own garden and terrace for guests to enjoy and is ideally situated close to the striking East Cliff beach and Bournemouth town centre. The picturesque countryside of the New Forest and Dorset is also within easy reach making this one of the best hotels in Bournemouth for facilities, location and competitive pricing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Britannia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing