We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of The Glenbourne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Glenbourne
Ranked #102 of 132 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I am a single traveler and stayed here for the fisrt time.My room/en suite was clean and roomy.My breakfasts were sooo yummy and cooked well. loved those fresh eggs too.There was an endless supply of tea/coffe even hot chocolate in my room. Thank you mr and mrs. hart for looking after me. I have already spread the good word!.

Room Tip: Value for money, book the biggest room, u will deffo get your money's worth at such a reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is an old fashioned b&b in Bournemouth that has old fashioned values of cleanliness, fresh linen and replenished tea, coffee and hot chocolate sachets every day. The rooms are small but the bathrooms are a fair size. I never got to try the cooked breakfast as I had to be out before 8, which was earlier than breakfast was fried up.
It's decor is rather tired and the televisions in the bedrooms are small and dated but everything works and the owner was friendly and helpful. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmancrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed at the Glenbourne with my husband and two friends early August. We had a wonderful time thanks to the friendly welcome and stay we had at the Glenbourne. The rooms were very large, clean and comfortable with everything you could need. Plenty of tea, coffee etc. which is topped up every day. Bathroom had all you need including shampoo, shower gel etc. The owners were very friendly and the cooked breakfast each morning was excellent. Only a short walk to the beach or along the promenade into Bournemouth. All in all a great stay and would most certainly recommend staying at the Glenbourne.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We came for a week in March and experienced a range of weather conditions. On sunny days we were able walk along the beach which is situated at the end of the road (less than a 5min walk away). On rainy days we were able to make use of the excellent bus links to different areas, in which the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.

The hotel itself is owned by a very friendly, welcoming couple. The room was very clean and had a nice en-suite bathroom. The guest lounge was very comfortable and has a big tv with freeview, a variety of DVDs, and multiple video game machines. The breakfast was delicious and offers a range of cereals, yoghurts, and a full english breakfast.

Parking is directly outside the hotel (off the road) and there are numerous tourist attractions close-by.

A very pleasant stay and will be returning again this summer.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

I spent four nights in The Glenbourne last October while on a fishing trip and used the hotel as a base for visiting Poole harbour and other local marks.
This family run hotel, south of Bournmouth city centre is ideal for those who prefer to stay 'off the beaten track' and is suitable for families with small children. I was offered a warm welcome and given a large family size en-suite room despite having only requested a single. The room itself was kept immaculately clean throughout.
Breakfast in The Glenbourne was served early in the spacious dining room and my vegetarian needs were more than catered for. The lounge/TV room has a good selection of children's toys and daily newspapers.
My only minor gripe would be the abundance of chintz decor which really wasn't to my taste but most elderly guests would probably find attractive.
All in all good value budget accomodation for those looking for a cheaper alternative to the city centre chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I have stayed here a few times and have always appreciated the cleanliness and efficiency of this guest house. It's very traditional and in comparison to other guest houses I have stayed in locally has high standards, meaning that the house is quiet and welcoming to families and business folk who might need a good night's sleep! To have an en suite with a bath is a luxury and the prices are reasonable. It's near the beach for a nice walk into town (10 mins) and near Westbourne with the best fish and chip shop in the South (Fred's) and other good restaurants and cafes.

Sometimes these sites are too often used to complain, so I felt the need to praise a place that I have always felt 'at home' and comfortable in. I will be recommending this to my friends and family when they come to visit me in my new home in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bournemouth
0.1 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Alum Chine Beach House
Alum Chine Beach House
#82 of 132 in Bournemouth
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mountbatten Court
Mountbatten Court
#33 of 132 in Bournemouth
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Living Room Bournemouth
Living Room Bournemouth
#13 of 132 in Bournemouth
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grovefield Manor
Grovefield Manor
#9 of 50 in Poole
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glenbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glenbourne

Property: The Glenbourne
Address: 81 Alumhurst Road | Alum Chine, Bournemouth BH4 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glenbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glenbourne is a small block of 6 self-catering flats available for holidays during the summer. The flats range in size from a studio flat sleeping 2 through three 1 bedroom flats and two 2 bedroom flats. All are recently refurbished and beautifully appointed with a modern, clean look. There are full facilities with each flat having it's own washing machine and dryer as well as dishwasher, TV and DVDs player, fridge/freezer and microwave and electric cooker. Wifi is available in each flat. The Glenbourne Is located conveniently for the beautifully sandy beach (about 5 minutes walk), Westbourne for it's shops and many restaurants and Bournemouth for many facilities and activities. There is a free parking space on the forecourt for each flat and a bus stop right outside too ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing