We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty - to be avoided !!”
Review of Lynden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lynden Court Hotel
Ranked #108 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nasty - to be avoided !!”
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Stayed here as part of a stag group. Ground Floor Back bedroom - The Raj Suite. 4 sets of Bunk Beds !! 6 of us shared this room and needless to say there was not alot of sleep had !! Whilst only £15 per person per night, I would definitely recommend paying a little more and staying elsewhere !!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyD94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    36
    23
    13
    59
See reviews for
12
17
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I recently stayed here for three nights (staying Thursday, Friday and Saturday) with a group of friends (7 people in total) for a girly / clubby weekend away and thought it was perfect for what we wanted!

Good bits-
***You could tell the rooms had recently been refurbished - the floors were laminate and the walls were a cream and brown colour - matching the duvet and pillows. When we first walked in i was expecting a grim place - I was actually pleasantly surprised!! The beds were comfy (with a wonderful duvet) and the room was pretty clean.
***Another bonus - all the rooms had a freeview tv. When you're staying for 3 nights and it rains on the last day, it's rather useful!
***The location was also pretty good - a 5 minute walk away from the beach (if that) and a short taxi ride into town.
***You can also come in and out of the hotel whenever you like - including 3 or 4 in the morning and nobody cares. Beware - the majority of people are on stag dos and if you're not on a stag/hen do it can be quite noisy (one person packed his bag at 4 in the morning and left - he was heard complaining saying it was very noisy and he couldn't sleep).
***Food wise, we were able to use all the facilities that were available downstairs - including a toaster, microwave, kettle and fridge. This was really helpful as we took some snack food along so we could eat toast and backed beans and stuff whenever we wanted!!
***The staff were also helpful and friendly - if something went wrong they did their best to try and sort it out.


Bad bits-
***The downside was the bathrooms - by the looks of things they hadn't been refurbished. The shower in our room (one of the doubles) didn't work properly - it dripped water rather than actually working and the water was luke warm rather than hot. (It was very very slippery inside the shower.)
***Also, once you'd checked in, the rooms aren't cleaned until you leave - staying for three nights meant we ran out of toilet paper, clean towels and the bin was full. We had to go downstairs ourselves and ask for new bath towels and toilet paper.
***Another downside we experienced was a problem with the lock on our room door. The lock came loose (this had apparently happened the week before too but had been 'fixed'). This meant that for the last night the double room could not be locked from the outside - only from the inside. There wasn't a spare room so we couldn't change rooms -we just had to move valuables (and handbags) to our friends room....thank god it didn't happen on the first night.
***The breakfast was nothing special - cereal, toast, yogurts (and if you were lucky, maybe boiled eggs). Getting up for it everyday (8:30 - 9:30) was not really worth it. Best idea is to bring/buy some bread and you can make your own toast whenever you want!!

Overall it was cheap and cheerful, the rooms themselves (with the exception of the lock problem) were very good. If you're only looking for somewhere to sleep after a night out (which we were) then this is a very good place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie_p_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Before visiting the hotel I read many of the reviews of this and other websites and sent an email to the hotel: -
Hi, I have booked to stay in your hotel this week and I'm a little worried as I have spent this evening reading reviews. Most people say that it's unclean and one person even claims to have got bed bugs from staying here! I am now extremely worried and dreading my stay now and thinking twice about coming. Honestly are the reviews correct and therefore you should be reported to environmental health or is it hearsay? I understand that rooms have been refurbished and it is claimed that it's under new management but some of the reviews were only written a week ago and do not show the hotel in a better light.
Reply: We read our Hotel reviews every time someone puts a review on, and take serious note of the accusations made, however we take pride in servicing our customers to the highest standards possible, and never let any off our customers sleep in rooms that we ourselves would not sleep in.
All our rooms are cleaned to the highest standards, and being human we all make mistakes, so if there is something left out or not done properly most of our customers will advise us and we will put it right. The hotel is under new management, and the rooms have recently been refurbished. I can assure you most off the reviews are hearsay, and most people would do anything to get a refund. We've all tried it.
There is seriously no need to be worried as when you arrive and find something wrong, we will immediately put it right for you, however I can assure you the room will be spotless, and the bed bug free! as we have never had any bed bugs complaints ever. And part of common sense is that if the majority of the reviews were correct don't you think Environmental health services would have asked us to up our game!!! or even closed us down??
So be rest assured, I can honestly say you will have nothing to complain about with your stay with us.

My Review: -
The place is cheap and cheerful. We stayed in the three bed room. The bath and toilet were clean, the beds were clean and definitely no signs of bedbugs. The floor in the bedroom was alright not great but not filthy. The room overall was pleasant however, I’m pretty fussy about cleanliness and when theres layers of dust over plug holes and cobwebs over the windows it’s not great. The corridor and stairway was filthy. Whilst we were there, I believed the carpet was hoovered once but this didn’t make much of a difference as there was still bits all over it. The rooms are not cleaned everyday, if you want toilet paper you have to ask at reception and don’t expect bins to be emptied or the bathroom to be cleaned throughout your stay. Breakfast was fine – don’t expect full English but theres toast and cereal. It’s completely self service, so if theres no orange juice left in the jug go open a new one from the kitchen counter. Parking – Parking costs £4 a day and the car park spaces are ridiculous! Choose carefully because you are likely to get blocked in and stuck until someone eventually moves their car! OR even better the hotel opposite has a bigger carpark and offers non residents car parking for £3 a day! Overall though it’s within walkable distance on the town centre and beach (walking up and down the hill) and it’s alright for a cheap break. Best advice – take your own cleaning stuff if your fussy about cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girlyfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Solihull
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

dreadful experience, stay here at your peril!!
dirty, run down and the breakfast is best avoided; hot water likely to run out too.
you get what you pay for but don't be misled by claims that it has been 'refurbished'. it hasn't.
also noisy but you expect that for a hotel catering for stag and hen do's.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tessaslaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neath
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We booked in here for my hen weekend and for what we paid it was ideal! It was under £50.00 a night and we had bunk bed rooms that were very very basic but clean and tidy. Bathroom wasnt great condition but again it was clean. Staff were polite and seemed friendly enough although we didnt see much of them.

When they say recently refurbished I wouldnt pay much attention to that!! The rooms are not to a high standard and could not be much more basic.

If I had booked in here for me and the kids I would not have been happy, but I wouldnt book a two star if I wanted a family or couple break! We were looking for a clean comfortable hotel that was cheap and central - and thats exactly what we got!!

Bournemouth was a fab weekend and if I ever go again for a girly brak I would be happy to go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Lynden hotel in bournemouth is a brill hotel.
I went on a school trip in geography and was dreading it after reading all the reveiws. But when we arrived i truley thought that we had come to the wrong place. The owner's were very welcoming. We eventually went to our room and we was quite surprised one how clean it was. The beds had clearly been changed and you could smell that it had been cleaned. Once we had unpacked we went down to the bar area. We then went into town and got back to the hotel about half 9. We spent the whole night in the bar with LEE (GARY) lol :). we had a right laugh!!! I would go again. so you lot are chatting a load crap!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amielouxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2010

crusty sheets, dirty toilets, intermitant hot water, cold damp rooms! as an electrician i was concerned to find live cables hanging out of the wall above the mirror! Im a fairly optomistic person but struggle to find any positives here, with so many options around the same area there is no reason to stay here, even at 15 quid per person per night i feel hard done by!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggy_442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#37 of 131 in Bournemouth
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Applewood Hotel
Applewood Hotel
#11 of 131 in Bournemouth
315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Boscombe Reef Hotel
Boscombe Reef Hotel
#99 of 131 in Bournemouth
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynden Court Hotel

Property: Lynden Court Hotel
Address: 8 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lynden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to LCH! Lynden Court Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Bournemouth's West Cliff within walking distance of the town centre, night clubs, B.I.C., Sandy beach and pier. LCH offers nonsmoking accommodations for students, backpackers, budget & business travelers, stag and hen groups, football groups, rugby groups 365 days a year. All our bedrooms: private single, Double, Twin, Triple, 4 Bed, 6 Bed and 8 Bed rooms have en-suite facilities and are equipped with color TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Lynden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing