We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more do some people want”
Review of Lynden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lynden Court Hotel
Ranked #108 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I cannot understand the negative reviews about this hotel, what more do some people want?
We were greeted by our friendly host, the check in was smooth and once the financial side of things had been taken care of, we were shown to our rooms. I say rooms but these were suites. The size of them meant you could easily fit up to eight people in them without tempers getting frayed.
The bedding was spotless and the beds themselves must've been orthopaedic because it felt like sleeping in the arms of an angel. The decor was tasteful and understated and the fixtures were all that were required for our stay.
The bathrooms whilst smallish were clean and adequate and the shower was like having a massage from a Turkish rugby player.
Ok so there were no tea or coffee making facilities but it was possible to get beverages downstairs in the bar area. I was with a small group of friends and we particularly enjoyed the cocktails and trendy bottled lagers available there!
The breakfast was only slightly disappointing in that they do not offer a cooked option, however the continental option was fine with the exotic cheese and meat, as much bread, cereal and yoghurt as required and freshly poured orange. All you need after a night out! The location of the hotel was perfect being halfway between town and the sea and only a short walk to either for a healthy person.
We had been concerned that there may be some large groups of stag parties being noisy and intimidating, however we found this not to be the case and in fact we were probably more noisy than anyone else.
In short for the price, why not. It's uphill from the town so elderly beware and I don't think there are many double rooms so perhaps not for the couples. Also there are a lot of stairs so maybe not for young families, but anyone else why not.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyndencourt, Manager at Lynden Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your review.

I hope your group had a wonderful time in Bournemouth.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Ideal for our stag do, not great for anything else. Don't book a romantic getaway with your missus here or she will break up with you.

Rooms clean and basic. Bathrooms clean and basic. Shower was actually really powerful. Didn't bother with breakfast. Bar was minimal, pool room good for pre/post night out meet up spot.

In summary, don't come here expecting the Hilton or you will be disappointed, but for us it was great...hence the 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

First things first.. The "breakfast" was a disgrace concidering it's the mist important meal of the day! I feel sorry for all them eggs as i'm sure i would loved to of seen a chick come in to this world....

Secondly when arriving down from a long car journey, i just couldnt wait to get a shower but that wait was put on hold as i found a pube!

And finally when one of my room mates turned on the telly we were entertained by a women getting her jugs out... I wasnt complaining but parents with kids hoping sponge bob squarepants might be on might get a bit of a shock!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rls1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The reviews are largely terrible for this "hotel".

It is definitely stag weekend type accommodation - so judge accordingly.

I agree it is more hostel than hotel (3 bunk beds in our room) but for the location and the money it was perfectly acceptable.

The beds were clean and reasonably comfortable - though a little squeaky and moved a little.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

I didn't do breakfast, but some of our party did and reported it was OK but limited choice and very basic.

We were in room 26 which is right at the top (lift out of order!) which had the advantage of being quiet but the disadvantage of last to get hot water into the shower - friends lower down the building reported a nice hot shower whereas ours was cool at best.

An easy walk to town and plenty of parking - on street is free. Wouldn't necessarily stay again unless in Bournemouth on another large group stag do.

Room Tip: Quieter at the top but shower suffers from lack of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for stag party's. Great value for money. No problems with what time you come in or how much noise you make. Exactly what a stag party needs.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a stag weekend. Yes, you have to sleep on a bunk bed, and the rooms aren't in the best condition. However, the rooms were clean enough, and all the bed covers were fresh. Staff were friendly and were not worried about people rolling in at all hours. The hotel was in ideal location and 10 min walk from bars and clubs. Would definately recommend for groups merely wanting a bed for the night after going out in town. This is not the type of place to take your girlfriend!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iaingooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just got back from this so called hotel, which to me and the other people I went with was more like a hostel.
Firstly you have to be let in the front door because there is a key pad lock on it, and it's not till you pay up front do you get to see your room or get the number for the front door.
The rooms are cramped you get one hand towel to dry yourself after a shower which they do not change because they do not have room cleaning until you leave, and we where there for two nights. Hot water is hit and miss because it's on a timer, there's no waste bin for your rubbish, I could go on.
All in all I wouldn't go back to this so called hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
2.2 mi away
The Ravensbourne Hotel
The Ravensbourne Hotel
#28 of 131 in Bournemouth
63 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynden Court Hotel

Address: 8 Durley Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £24 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lynden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to LCH! Lynden Court Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Bournemouth's West Cliff within walking distance of the town centre, night clubs, B.I.C., Sandy beach and pier. LCH offers nonsmoking accommodations for students, backpackers, budget & business travelers, stag and hen groups, football groups, rugby groups 365 days a year. All our bedrooms: private single, Double, Twin, Triple, 4 Bed, 6 Bed and 8 Bed rooms have en-suite facilities and are equipped with color TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lynden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing