We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever!”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Where do I begin? Initial greeting from man on reception was surly, unsmiling, unwelcoming, unfriendly ... I arrived with my husband late afternoon and after I gave him our details he declared he wished we hadn't arrived yet as he was sorting the of laundry and it was blocking our bedroom door. (We felt VERY taken aback! We have never been greeted with such rudeness before!) He told us we would have to wait for him to clear a passage! No apology at all.

Entering the bedroom was soo depressing. A triple room comprise of double bed with a single headboard on it (?) which promptly fell off the wall and a single bed. Wardrobe was so close to the bed it could not be opened without scrapping the actual bed, then the door fell down off its screws(?) Teabags were loose and therefore unprotected from dust, handling etc. plastic spoons. Had to get out so got moved to another bedroom on the 3rd floor.

Much better, bigger and brighter but same poor quality mattresses that you could count the springs! No remote control for TV. Was told by the staff they've got a shortage of remote controls. Same loose teabags. Windowless and poor lighting in bathroom. The shower had no regulator - the water temperature was controlled by turning the taps. One second the water was cold and within seconds it was scalding! Obviously someone, somewhere had just pulled the flush! I thought this system went out with the arc!

Breakfast was dire! Again no welcoming "Good morning" or smile. Was left in limbo as to what/where to go. Had to ask whether we could be seated and was told anywhere. And then the staff asked us "what you want?" Charming! Breakfast was tasteless and of poor quality. Tea and coffee were kept warm near the counter so no-one had their own freshly made tea/coffee from their own teapot or coffeepot. I tried both and both tasted awful and very cheap. Breakfast was an embarrassment. And I was charged £4.95 extra for the privilege! (Even though the website states breakfast included!) and I booked through booking.com which gave me no option to book breakfast.

Awful hotel and would never go back. Expensive too for the service we got. £266.80 for the two of us staying a friday and saturday night. Breakfast was £4.95 each and an additional £3.50 per day for parking the car! Thats a new one ... have never been charged for parking my car in the hotels own carpark before!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPSEXETER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    66
    92
    86
    138
See reviews for
91
134
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

we booked this hotel at short notice for sat/sun night at a cost of £200. On arrival we were allocated a twin room on the ground floor. the room was small with an en suite that you could use all three amenities without moving. There was no remote for the TV no hairdryer and no beakers in the bathroom. On complaining I was told that you took pot luck if the rooms had remote/hairdryer and that the controls were on the side of the TV to which I replied, that was fine if you were 6ft, i am only 5ft. I explained that i was paying £100 per night and that this was unacceptable. The receptionist said we could move to a double room the following morning which we did.The morning receptionist was very helpful, moved our bags to the room which was big and lovely. but I cannot understand how they can charge the same price for both rooms. Air con was great as it was the hottest weekend of the year so far. Breakfast was luke warm and on the table before you could get your coffee.

Room Tip: don't book room 104 moved to room 210 and was far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diana_eames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Read a lot of bad reviews on the Croham but i personally haven't experienced any of them this weekend. Room 210 wasn't the biggest of rooms granted, but adequate to take a shower and get some sleep. We didn't want to live in our room for the weekend anyway. Heater system/Air con very easy to use and operate provided you have at least a little bit of common sense.
Room was clean, modern and well decarated. Staff helpful and polite enough. English breakfast isn't a great amount but enough for me personally and you can also help yourself to cerial, toast and jams and fruit aswell as tea and coffee if you're that hungry.
If i was complaining for the sake of it, the milk was missing from our tea and coffee in our room, however we just had to go to reception and ask .... problem solved.
You do have to pay for parking but it's only 3.50 per day so not extortionate,granted not many parking spaces but the hotel grounds are what they are and no one can create miracles.
Did hear people complaining about silly things and mostly the parking charge, but they are clearly stated when booking yet still seem to be a total surprise to people when booking out!
All in all if you expect a 5 star hotel DONT stay here. If you expect a decent, clean place to stay close to the beach, town the park etc then this place is fine.
I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 210 which overlooked a road so you have to expect some road noise but we closed the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickynoo201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I am not really sure where to start on this review to be honest...

From the start, the staff and the manager was rude and unhelpful, they deducted a room off our party and made 2 of us sleep on sofa beds which made 2 triple rooms, which we didn't book, the sofa beds had wood running down the middle of them, it was like sleeping in a hostel, not a hotel.

Personally i think this hotel is just for drunks, if you are after a nice peaceful trip DO NOT STAY HERE.

The staff, especially the night staff, think they rule the world, will not do anything for you, just ignore you and tell you to get to bed, how this place is still in business i will never know.

Even when the room was cleaned they left crisp wrappers on the floors, and a 2 year old could make a bed better.

The breakfast was RANK, i don't like beans or tomato so asked for a bit of extra something else, this was refused???? what????? So i told them to stick it and send it back. Even the tea was horrible.

To top the whole weekend off, one of my mates came back to the hotel around 2am to find one of the hotel staff wondering around his room!!!! When he asked what does he think he was doing he claimed 'There had been a complaint' which was complete rubbish since we have been out ALL day!!!

Just like all the other reviews, just do yourselves a favor - avoid the place.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms - Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here recently on a Saturday night. Didnt sleep more more than an hour - drunken revellers arrived home at all times during the night via the lift shaft which was right next to the room - very noisy. Room was a double which had about enough room fro the bed and that was it. Worst thing was the mattress - springs sticking out thrrough the mattress everywhere. When I made an immediate complaint the night manager told me they were waiting for new mattresses to come in. Asked to report to day manager following morning - when I did so he confirmed that he was well aware the mattress was way below par. I was offered £6 off my booking - 10 % ! I was disgusted . Have conatcted since via booking.com and still only offered the same amount. All I can say is please avoid.

Room Tip: Check size of room and location - that is away from the lift shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brummies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Not greater very nicely,

Double Room 203 i think £75 a night end of may
Cleanish but smoke detector hanging of the ceiling wallks grubby, air con/ heating system makes noises from other roooms all night, we had ours off as that was even louder, breakfest , hard to get served, very basic , pissibly even reheated.
Room also had curtain rail half hanging off, shower and toilet room tiny , were small but still had to sit at an angle on the toliet, very small room. If it wasnr sich nice weather and we had to spend more time their , we would of been very angy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Ok, So we arrived late afternoon on the 31st, May 2013 for a 2 night stay and it appeared fairly nice, not flash but typical of the type and a nice reception. THE MALE RECEPTIONIST WAS SO RUDE! Unhelpful, smelled of booze, really quite unpleasant. He was the same with everyone and I note on here that several others have experienced the same attitude from him. Sent to our room on the first floor it was ok, appeared tired and dated but relatively clean, a few stains, ensuite was modern, had no toiletries though except a tiny soap and the least they could get away with for tea and coffee. I was alarmed to read the notices on the back of the door re late check out charges and the potential linen stains at £10.00 charge per sheet! Especially when the bedding was already stained, so I took a couple of pics. The bed was old but not too uncomfortable, I did'nt dare lift the sheet. The £3.50 per day charge for parking was a liberty.
Breakfast was, as described by others, a medly of poor service, slightly chaotic, no idea of what the options were and when it came, it was the least they could get away with. DIY Choice of 3 cereals, 2 juice, 2 types of tinned fruit pieces, tea / coffee. The cooked breakfast was 1/4 piece of fried bread, spoon of beans, 1x egg, 1 x bacon rasher and a small cheap greasy sausage, 1/2 raw tom which was missing from mine on day two. The toast was pale and cheap, when it was remembered. Also, breakfast was very short / early 8-9.30am, for no good reason other than to hope most people don't have it.
We asked for an additional pillow as we only had 3 thin ones on a double bed. Mistake, the creepy receptionist when he did acknowledge my partner handed one over and said it was the only spare pillow in the hotel, that pretty much, was the limited dialogue and end of the conversation.
On the plus side however, good location, there was plenty of very hot water and In contrast the weekend night porter was lovely and provided what you would expect from customer service.
Thankfully the weather was good and we only slept and showered here, Extremely OVER PRICED and NO customer service. Fawlty Towers without the comedy. Won't stay again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
894 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Property: The Croham Hotel
Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing