We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #58 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overall our stay was not bad, however on arrival we checked in and were advised our room was back out of the hotel and across the car park. Our room was one of three that can only be described as what looked like staff accomodation. We had our own front door and en-suite, room was very clean and tidy but rather dark as you are below as is if it used to be a cellar maybe.
I do have mobility issues and asked before we located our room as to how many stairs there were down to it, as the guy who booked us in stated to go down the stairs. When asked how many stairs he just sgrugged his shoulders and was rather vague before eventually stating he thought there were about 8. He wasn't far off but what he did neglect to mention was the rickety wooden handrail to use - not recommended if you have a mobility problem, Onc in the room it was very dark and neede lights on. There was air conditioning and tea/coffee facility and tv. However there was no remote control for tv and when asked about they stated they had no spare ones as they kept getting stolen !!! The shower handle fell off when using it. The window was not very secure either as it did not close properly at the top. The walls were plaster board it seemed as you could knock them and they echoed. On the whole as we were only staying 2 night it was bearable but for £100 on the Saturday night considering where we were places and niggly issues I feel this was a little steep - however if I staeyed again I would not stay in Room 002 if longer than weekend. Breakfast was fine but very rushed . Served until 9:30 on the Sunday, but by 9:35 they were hovering round you to clear up and the door was locked so noone could get in - or out if you could'nt fathom the door !!!! On the upside though it is very clean and close to town and seafront.

Room Tip: If you are disabled or have a mobility problem do not accept rooms 001.002 or 003 as they are down u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

The staff were really helpful and polite, the breakfast was okay could have been a little bit warmer. The coffee was good. The outside of the Hotel looks shabby the lobby area of the Hotel was nice and clearly had been refurbished recently. The size of the room allocated for 2adults and 2 children was fine, the bathroom, linen and towels were all clean and okay. What really lets this hotel down and I cannot see how it gets a 3 star is the state of the bedding, the mattress springs poked through making a very uncomfortable nights sleep, the sofa bed was propped up with a piece of wood, the single bed base was frayed and clearly visible. We spent very little time in the room because it was not very welcoming and I wouldn't suggest a stay at this Hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Good points - the staff were friendly and welcoming, and lobby and room in which we stay had recently been refurbished and were spotlessly clean.
Bad points - the beds were very uncomfy, the purple hotel name on the outside of the hotel shone through the top of the bedroom curtains to create a purple glow in the room. This along with a green safety light in the room (I can only assume it was there for reasons of safety) and light shining in under the bedroom door meant that when the lights were turned off, you could still see everything! I ended up sleeping with a pillow over my head to block out the light and the snoring from next door. Not great. We ended up putting a towel over the top of the curtains and a t-shirt over the green light, which helped a bit. The bath was sloping and very dangerous to step into to shower. The breakfast was chaos - the staff were very friendly when I managed to attract their attention but there were no glasses left, we weren't asked if we wanted a hot breakfast etc... We had to pay for parking, which seemed odd. When we checked out we weren't asked how our stay was.
All in all I would not go back. I think the rooms, whilst they have been refurbed and do look good, haven't been carefully thought through as beneath the clean surface, there are sleepless nights awaiting you at the Croham!! We booked the room in a rush and stupidly didn't check trip advisor beforehand!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms within sight of the glowing purple sign!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank etuhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Where do I begin? Initial greeting from man on reception was surly, unsmiling, unwelcoming, unfriendly ... I arrived with my husband late afternoon and after I gave him our details he declared he wished we hadn't arrived yet as he was sorting the of laundry and it was blocking our bedroom door. (We felt VERY taken aback! We have never been greeted with such rudeness before!) He told us we would have to wait for him to clear a passage! No apology at all.

Entering the bedroom was soo depressing. A triple room comprise of double bed with a single headboard on it (?) which promptly fell off the wall and a single bed. Wardrobe was so close to the bed it could not be opened without scrapping the actual bed, then the door fell down off its screws(?) Teabags were loose and therefore unprotected from dust, handling etc. plastic spoons. Had to get out so got moved to another bedroom on the 3rd floor.

Much better, bigger and brighter but same poor quality mattresses that you could count the springs! No remote control for TV. Was told by the staff they've got a shortage of remote controls. Same loose teabags. Windowless and poor lighting in bathroom. The shower had no regulator - the water temperature was controlled by turning the taps. One second the water was cold and within seconds it was scalding! Obviously someone, somewhere had just pulled the flush! I thought this system went out with the arc!

Breakfast was dire! Again no welcoming "Good morning" or smile. Was left in limbo as to what/where to go. Had to ask whether we could be seated and was told anywhere. And then the staff asked us "what you want?" Charming! Breakfast was tasteless and of poor quality. Tea and coffee were kept warm near the counter so no-one had their own freshly made tea/coffee from their own teapot or coffeepot. I tried both and both tasted awful and very cheap. Breakfast was an embarrassment. And I was charged £4.95 extra for the privilege! (Even though the website states breakfast included!) and I booked through booking.com which gave me no option to book breakfast.

Awful hotel and would never go back. Expensive too for the service we got. £266.80 for the two of us staying a friday and saturday night. Breakfast was £4.95 each and an additional £3.50 per day for parking the car! Thats a new one ... have never been charged for parking my car in the hotels own carpark before!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPSEXETER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

we booked this hotel at short notice for sat/sun night at a cost of £200. On arrival we were allocated a twin room on the ground floor. the room was small with an en suite that you could use all three amenities without moving. There was no remote for the TV no hairdryer and no beakers in the bathroom. On complaining I was told that you took pot luck if the rooms had remote/hairdryer and that the controls were on the side of the TV to which I replied, that was fine if you were 6ft, i am only 5ft. I explained that i was paying £100 per night and that this was unacceptable. The receptionist said we could move to a double room the following morning which we did.The morning receptionist was very helpful, moved our bags to the room which was big and lovely. but I cannot understand how they can charge the same price for both rooms. Air con was great as it was the hottest weekend of the year so far. Breakfast was luke warm and on the table before you could get your coffee.

Room Tip: don't book room 104 moved to room 210 and was far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diana_eames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Read a lot of bad reviews on the Croham but i personally haven't experienced any of them this weekend. Room 210 wasn't the biggest of rooms granted, but adequate to take a shower and get some sleep. We didn't want to live in our room for the weekend anyway. Heater system/Air con very easy to use and operate provided you have at least a little bit of common sense.
Room was clean, modern and well decarated. Staff helpful and polite enough. English breakfast isn't a great amount but enough for me personally and you can also help yourself to cerial, toast and jams and fruit aswell as tea and coffee if you're that hungry.
If i was complaining for the sake of it, the milk was missing from our tea and coffee in our room, however we just had to go to reception and ask .... problem solved.
You do have to pay for parking but it's only 3.50 per day so not extortionate,granted not many parking spaces but the hotel grounds are what they are and no one can create miracles.
Did hear people complaining about silly things and mostly the parking charge, but they are clearly stated when booking yet still seem to be a total surprise to people when booking out!
All in all if you expect a 5 star hotel DONT stay here. If you expect a decent, clean place to stay close to the beach, town the park etc then this place is fine.
I would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 210 which overlooked a road so you have to expect some road noise but we closed the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickynoo201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I am not really sure where to start on this review to be honest...

From the start, the staff and the manager was rude and unhelpful, they deducted a room off our party and made 2 of us sleep on sofa beds which made 2 triple rooms, which we didn't book, the sofa beds had wood running down the middle of them, it was like sleeping in a hostel, not a hotel.

Personally i think this hotel is just for drunks, if you are after a nice peaceful trip DO NOT STAY HERE.

The staff, especially the night staff, think they rule the world, will not do anything for you, just ignore you and tell you to get to bed, how this place is still in business i will never know.

Even when the room was cleaned they left crisp wrappers on the floors, and a 2 year old could make a bed better.

The breakfast was RANK, i don't like beans or tomato so asked for a bit of extra something else, this was refused???? what????? So i told them to stick it and send it back. Even the tea was horrible.

To top the whole weekend off, one of my mates came back to the hotel around 2am to find one of the hotel staff wondering around his room!!!! When he asked what does he think he was doing he claimed 'There had been a complaint' which was complete rubbish since we have been out ALL day!!!

Just like all the other reviews, just do yourselves a favor - avoid the place.

Room Tip: Avoid all rooms - Do not stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £29 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing