We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good all rounder.”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #58 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A great hotel for a stop over. Very obliging staff, spotless room and good breakfast. Wi Fi is extra, as is parking, but as the hotel was great value it didn't bother us. The hotel is perfectly situated and near to lots of shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branchy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Staying at the Croham Hotel was a pleasure. It was a few minutes walk to the beach and pier and there were corner shops just around the corner. The staff at the Croham were very polite and helpful and the breakfast was nice. I can't criticise it in any way, I would reccommend it to everyone and I would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rianna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

From arriving at the train station, we were overwhelmed by the helpfulness of everyone we met. Bus driver set us down almost outside the door of the hotel even though there was no bus stop there. Room was good but as in a lot of hotels in the UK, no-where to put more than one suitcase. Bathroom clean, bedroom clean, quiet hotel.
Tea and coffee served at breakfast were atrocious! Tea made in a teapot and put on top of a coffee perc - and left to stew, and stew, and stew. Coffee not much better. Breakfast great though - full English. I ordered poached eggs one day, thinking that that would be what I got - came with full English. Really filling. Staff seemed to be young Eastern Europeans getting work experience.
Walk to beach, pub (Goat & Tricycle), laundromat, post office, restaurants and town very easy from hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We arrived about 1900hrs & was welcomed very warmly by the person on reception.We had a small double room which was spotlessly clean,also the bathroom was perfect.The air conditioning worked very efficiently & the room was soon nice & toasty.We had a very nice cooked breakfast where you could help yourself to different cereals & as much tea or coffee as rq.All in all, this hotel is excellent value for money & we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eileen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The place needs to review its name as it is definitely not a hotel its like a very basic inn.....

The problem at this hotel is the customer service and cleanliness..........Not a very nice place to stay doesn't have any kind of welcoming atmosphere. There are plenty of other places in bournemouth that are much more worth staying at for similar money !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kgokay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I booked this room before checking the reviews on trip advisor. I wish I had checked them first. The room smelt awful and I think this is because of the sink in the bathroom. The room was fairly clean but there were a few odd stains on the bed sheets and the air-con was extremely grubby. I didn't complain because we were only staying for one night and the idea was we were going to be drunk when we got back. The receptionist was ok but didn't seem to know what he was doing that much and some of the language he used was a bit inappropriate. We didn't bother with breakfast because without seeing the kitchen first hand I would have eaten anything. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyway and would actually advise them to stay away. Its such a great location and with the right staff and loving it could be a beautiful hotel that's fully booked but sadly it smells, the staff aren't very polite and the room and bedsheets are pretty gross. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

After booking a family room for an overnight stay whilst going to a concert at the BIC I stupidly looked at previous reviews and had concerns and was axious being 3 females travelling alone. However I am pleased to say any concerns I had were unfounded. I can only judge it on my experience I found the hotel staff excellent, our room clean and comfortable, even the beds, the heating unit didn't work but Nick came to the rescue providing portable heaters and our room was soon toasty. Breakfast was okay considering it was included in our room price, to be honest we expected it to be an extra cost. We thought it was excellent value for money and conveniently situated. We will definetly stay again. Thankyou.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 307 which over looks the main road, some road noise but didn't keep us awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donzasoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#44 of 67 in Bournemouth
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 67 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#29 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#51 of 67 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 67 in Bournemouth
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £28 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing