We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worried”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
wrexham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Was worried”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned today had two nights at the Croham was worried after reading reviews but all was fine very clean and bright hotel breakfast wasn't the best but more than adequate would have no problem with stopping here again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank paulpwxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    63
    87
    80
    136
See reviews for
89
124
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my 2 young children , next time I am passing I will drop them a Hoover off as it's clear they don't own one. Asked about why the bedding hadn't been changed to be told " it's a 3 star hotel sir we only change the bedding once a week " the cups in the room were rinsed out and put back for us to use , the breakfast wasn't cooked my bacon was still squealing . Everything is dated and in need of repair or replacement . Filthy and unprofessional hotel ( bed and breakfast it should be ) do not stay here if you have children .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superlaz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My sisters an I booked two nights at this Croham Hotel for leisure, on the arrival we were given a tiny room with one double bed and a single bed with an uncomfortable dip in the middle, we complained about that single bed and we were told at the reception that it is a sofa turned into bed and they do not have any other choice. We asked for a refund and that we can not stay in that room, then they offered us another box room, we accepted to stay there as we had no choice.
the room was not clean and dusty, beds are not comfortable. The bathroom was not clean as well with mould on the walls. The worst thing is that we left our towels in the bath tray for exchange as per their instruction and left in the morning and when we came back in the evening to the hotel, we found the same used towels were put on the heater with the heater turned on in this hot weather. and the linen and the pillow cases were not changed. TV was not working as no battery in the remote control as well. cups are sticky and yellowish. Lift is out of order lol. Very un hygienic place to stay. you have to pay for weak and useless WIFI as well. Staff are not helpful not friendly. DO NOT RECOMMEND IT AND WILL NEVER GO THERE AGAIN.

Zena

Room Tip: no to room 210 and 306!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hala Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I cancelled my booking at the Corham Hotel on Tuesday night for a Thursday booking (online and by email). I explained that we had made a mistake in booking (my wife thought we were taking a ferry from Bournemouth when in fact we were booked from Newhaven) They said they had a 48 hr cancellation policy and took my money, refusing any reasonable accommodation. The other reviews have several similar stories. Hotels like the Corham are the kinds of places that give the British hotel industry such a bad reputation - well deserved in this case.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QEDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I wouldn't stay here as part of my seaside holiday, but for one night before an interview the next morning, it was absolutely fine. Hotel is clean and tidy, person behind the desk was helpful, room was small but had everything I needed. Breakfast was very basic indeed but again, if its just for a night then you don't worry so much. The hotel is literally 2 mins from a part of the seafront which is on the top of the cliff and is very calm and beautiful, where you can walk down paths to the beach....lovely. Oh and the rooms have air conditioning units which for me was why I booked the hotel, although in the end I didn't need it.

Room Tip: the hotel is sort of on an approach to a roundabout so feels noisy but after 10pm the roads get very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

On the 23rd of May 2014 I booked this hotel for 1 night. I then contacted the hotel 3 hours later to say I longer needed the room.They said because of terms and conditions and it being bank holiday week that I had to pay for the room in full even though I know longer needed it. They would do nothing to help or even maybe meet me half way. I am very disappointed in there policy and want to say to other people be very careful when booking with them and also check policies or this could happen to you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed only 1 night on a room only basis and to be fair with the price I paid I certainly have nothing to complain about. When arrived lads on reception were fine chatted couple times during evening. Only shame is no draught beer, but if there no demand for it no point stocking it. Bottled beer prices were cheaper than most hotels I've been to. Room wasn't massive but then I was only there to sleep in it. Was clean and tidy. Will stay again if needed to stop off over in Bournemouth again

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank barnytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#29 of 66 in Bournemouth
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
393 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burley Court Hotel
Burley Court Hotel
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Property: The Croham Hotel
Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing