We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for a weekend away!”
Review of The Croham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Croham Hotel
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Stay for a weekend away!”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

It was our first time in Bournemouth and a last minute decison for a quick weekend break. We had a room which had excellent views. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help and the room itself was fantastic, large room and with a decent sized bed.
The hotel is quiet (even when fully booked) and the breakfast was great as well. It is walking distance of the beach and shops within just a couple of minutes.
We are returning in September with a group of friends. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShylaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    64
    88
    84
    137
See reviews for
89
130
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We were a party of 5 people and booked a twin and a triple room.

We were welcomed on the Tursday by a helpful male member of staff who was very professional in the way he handled the gusets.

The three days we spent at the hotel we were made very homely.

The breakfast was a full english buffet breakfast and there was ample of foor available until 9.30pm

The bar was opent all times and at about 3am we took the dkinks to our room as the night porter was busy with his night time chores.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reggieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2009

First time on trip advisor - so for me to write a review about this hotel is a big thing!! I went with my wife and 2 kids and all I can say is we had a great time. Of course reading all the reviews we were a tad worried but when we arrived the hotel manager (there are 2!!) took care of everything.

Kids loved it too as it was so close to the beach, shops etc.

In all a good value hotel, centrally located and with very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

Not a place we would have stayed in for longer than one night. There were 4 of us including a 17yr old and a 14 yr old and we were put in a quad room which can only be described as small. It had one double bed and a sofa bed which when opened prevented us opening any drawers. They were expecting 4 of us yet supplied only 2 cups and 2 tea bags, 3 sets of towels and 3 pillows. The room was tired and desperately in need of refurbishment and definitely not as a family room. May have been ok with just one double bed. The toilet was in a small roomwith a low sloping ceiling and a sliding door which provided no privacy. In the separate bathroom the enamel was peeling off.
Breakfast was strange, there was no-one to welcome us into the dining room or to explain to us what the procedure was. Tea was obtained from a communal teapot which meant it was stewed and not very hot. There was very little choice of cereal and the grapefruit/oranges were tinned not fresh. The cooked breakfast was a help yourself buffet type and nothing was cooked fresh as you were ready for it.
One last thing on the website it says plenty of parking, there is parking although I doubt whether there would be enough for all the guests and they do charge £3.50 per night which isn't mentioned on the website.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendoversmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2009

A group of 11 of us stayed there on a friday and saturday night recently. We were given 3 rooms. 2 "family rooms" and a self contained flat! ha that was a treat!

Being a group of lads i didnt expect much as its only a place to sleep. We were there in total for about 10 hours in 2 and a half days. We werent noisy but i think due to the paper thin walls, there was some noise heard. When a guest complained about the noise, which wasnt us to be honest, as we werent even in the hotel when this noise was happening, the hotel manager blamed us and tried to charge us money!

One family room didnt lock and when we told the manager, he said it was "ok as there wouldnt be anyone like that staying upstairs in the hotel". All we did was push the door and it opened. No force needed what so ever.

The other family room was ok but not exactly huge and one wardrobe for 3 people isnt enough storage space.

Now onto the self contained flat. Upon hearing these words a few of us grabbed the key and went straight downstairs to where it was. Thinking that it would be the best room in the hotel. Little did they know!
The stench upon opening the door was horrendous and the site of a double mattress on the floor wasnt expected. One bathroom was locked up, the other had no shower curtain and no lock. The beds were damp and the electric wires were uncovered.

Now I think if you are going to let a group of lads into a hotel, not to mention the fact there was a stag party in there too, then you should expect some noise and disturbance. You should let old people and families in the same establishment as stag do's and what not.

All in all please avoid!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Powelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Firstly I should emphasise that I am not a fussy individual so for me to whinge like this is a strong reflection of how big the issue is here.

This hotel is like a run-down smoky British Legion club in style and looks. We booked and paid for a weekend but left after a few hours because to be honest youre better off at home. If this is the hotel refurbished I dread to think what it was like before. Upon arrival we were informed that parking was extra despite the fact that the car park does not have enough spaces and they advertise the parking as one of the hotel benefits. We had to leave our car blocking others exit and still pay for the inconvenience + be willing to move it when the time came. We were then directed through a series of tatty corridors to a room on the 3rd floor. The room had been "beautifully" furnished with a range of broken formica skinned furniture the likes of which I last saw in a skip outside the local citizens advice bureau. There was loads of noise and shouting from the room next door which appeared to be the preferred haunt for an extensive group of Eastern Europeans on the p**s. I laid back, relaxed and soaked up all the sensory delights on offer: traffic noise, a cacophony of drunken shouting, an eclectic mix of Classical Stalinist music, all the while drenched in the smell of stale ingrained cigarette smoke. Once fully relaxed I enjoyed the quaint mildew stained bathroom facilities - no doubt a deliberate tribute to the days before cleaning products. Unfortunately I felt the sudden urge to bring this once in a lifetime experience to an early conclusion. With a flurry of activity best described as part panic attack and part survival instinct I packed my case and fled. I didnt even stop to try for a refund because one thing is clear they definitely need the money. This was a small price to pay for freedom. My advice here is to pay the extra £20-£30 a night and go somewhere decent. I wish I had.

Thoroughly recommended :-)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblesaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My daughters and I stayed in a family room - the bathroom was a disgrace - the tiles filthy and the grouting black; steaming hot water came out of the cold tap; half a roll of loo-paper was left for us; the bathroom door was broken - the lock fell off- and the surrounding wall and lino falling to pieces. The paintwork in both rooms was dirty and there were stains on the wallpaper; damp patches on the ceiling; and you couldn't lock the door easily on leaving the room. Breakfast was dreary, and the staff dis-interested and unprofessional. On complaining to the manager - he replied "that it wasn't his fault; some of the guests behaved badly."

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sukieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
395 reviews
0.2 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#50 of 66 in Bournemouth
475 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bournemouth Seafront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croham Hotel

Property: The Croham Hotel
Address: 9 Durley Road South, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England (Formerly Croham Hurst Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Croham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT** Situated in the West Cliff area, within easy reach of Bournemouth's town centre, the sandy beaches and the Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), this comfortable hotel offers good-value en suite rooms. The Croham Hotel is just one mile (1.6 km) from Bournemouth Railway Station and has easy access to the A35 and the area's major road network. The great location means that the hotel offers easy access to the pavilion, the piers and the theatres. All of the town centre's shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are within easy reach. All of the rooms have either a shower or a bath with shower. Each room has a TV with Freeview digital channels, tea/coffee and a hairdryer. The restaurant offers traditional English cuisine and international classics. A freshly prepared breakfast is served daily. There is a lift serving all of the hotel's upper floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Croham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croham Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing