We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, lovely host, shame about the breakfast.”
Review of Newbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newbury Hotel
Ranked #79 of 134 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We called the Newbury last week on a last ditched attempt at finding a place to stay after a night out in Bournemouth. We called approximately three days before and we were booking for 5 of us. Most hotels in the area were fully booked and Vicky (the host) tried to accommodate us despite the fact that she only had one double room available with a tiny single room attached. She even offered to put an inflatable down if it helped.

After a long drive from London we arrived at about 6pm (Sat 29th), relieved to find that we could park on site - no bother - and Vicky greeted us, told us the rules, showed us our rooms and was perfectly charming. The rooms and shower were very clean, tidy, with tea, coffee available. The hotel was small, traditionally decorated and quiet and Vicky asked us to keep the other guests in mind when returning, which she mentioned in the morning that we had been exceptionally quiet... [proud face].

In the end, we had a good time. The hotel was in a pleasant spot, close enough to the water and walking distance all local amenities (shops, bars, cafe's, etc). However, in the morning, parched and tummies rumbling, we bought breakfast tokens and headed over to the cafe where the staff were friendly and accomodating but we were told it would be 50 mins wait for breakfast! In hindsight we really should have gone back to the hotel and asked for a refund so we could go elswhere. We waited in total over an hour. When the breakfast arrived it was incorrect in various ways, some things had been forgotten... a sad, sad affair for 5 people with soar heads and empty stomachs. To add to it, it was mostly tinned processed stuff.

We would definately stay here again, we have plans to return to bournemouth this summer. If it were not for the breakfast, we would definitely give this hotel and Vicky 5 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellSellsSeaShells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Hi Shell, Many thanks for your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and you noticed that we do make every effort to make sure that are guests are happy and comfortable.
I was very surprised to hear that you thought that the breakfast was not to your liking? everyone (including myself) really enjoy the "Traditional English Breakfast". For you to have to wait is regrettable, but as you pointed out yourself, everywhere was extremely busy, this is not a regular occurrence.
Best regards
Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

All the review of this hotel are true. It's a nice place, clean, charming and more. We just stayed at the Newbury Hotel for one night and Vicky give us an excellent offer. We was 7 and stayed in three rooms, she just had 6 beds, so one of us slept on the floor. We stayed there left than 12 hours, we arrived more or less at 20:00 and did the check out before 10:00 in the morning. Like one hour after we left the hotel, Vicky called us to said that she would charged £100 more because we damaged one of the toilets. That was completely false, all the rooms were in excellent condition when we left. This hotel could be charming and nice, but you have to be carful with the owner, because she don't miss the opportunity to charge you more money.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Rita,

I am sorry that you feel you had an awful experience. As you have said yourself, the Newbury Hotel provided a very high standard of accommodation, which you were perfectly happy with. I also let your party of seven stay at a greatly reduced tariff, as you said that you were on a tight budget.
The Policies at the Newbury are very simple, No smoking in any part of the building, respect and consideration for your fellow guests and making good any damage that you cause. The vast majority of establishments have these simple policies in place.
After your party had vacated, upon servicing your rooms, it was discovered that in the room that the three young men had been using (not the room that you had been staying in), the toilet had been broken. These members of your party had failed to bring this to my attention (or yours). The damage was sufficient for me to have to engage a plumber. When I tried to contact you to discuss the matter, you put the phone down on me, whilst your friends denied all knowledge, The end result was that the plumbers bill for repair was £180.00 and the room in question had to be closed for three days whilst parts were obtained and works carried out (costing the Newbury more loss of revenue). Believe me I would much rather the three young men had not caused any damage and I had not had to have the unpleasant task of charging you. I actually suffered a loss by letting you stay. An experience that I hope will not be repeated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at The Newbury Hotel for one night, managing at short notice to bag a beautiful double room that was on offer at a special rate. We really couldn't have chosen better. A travelling duo, we were playing that evening at a local venue, and The Newbury ensured absolute luxury and a much-needed rest after a hard-working evening. Vicki, our utterly gorgeous and extremely stylish hostess, was marvellous, and as my partner remarked, everything a hostess should be. And more!! Hospitable, witty, and welcoming, within minutes of meeting us she was joking with us, asking what we do, and advising us about other local venues to approach. The next day she very kindly allowed us to store our equipment in the lounge while we took breakfast - the hotel employs a token system for this in association with another pub - at The Shamrock Bar, a lovely and really friendly sports pub, where we enjoyed a fantastic alfresco meal. The room was beautiful, the facilities impeccable, the area quiet and free of disturbance. On top of this the prices are reasonable, the breakfast delicious, the host professional, personable and full of character, and willing to go the extra mile. You really couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Front-facing room was lovely and we had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJessiePie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Hi Jessie,
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your kind comments.
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and look forward to welcoming you to the Newbury when you are next in Bournemouth. If you give me some advance warning, I will try to get to come along to your gig ( promise to applaud in all the right places!).
Hope to see you soon.
Best wishes
Vicki xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the Newbury Hotel in Bournemouth for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Our host was extremely friendly and welcoming and went out of her way to make our stay as nice as possible. She was amazingly accommodating and was happy to go the extra mile and help us! Our room was lovely and the location of this hotel is superb, a short walk from everything! It was quiet and comfortable with free wifi and parking! I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceHasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Hi Laurence, What a pleasure it was to have you both staying at the Newbury. Most of our "return" or "regular" guests are lovely couples such as yourselves, whose requirements are simple, Comfortable, Clean Accommodation, with all amenities close by and within easy walking distance, but without any rowdy stag or hen parties, to disturb you at all hours. At the Newbury we pride ourselves in having a large client base of regular guests, which has been built up over the years, as a result of the positive experience that they receive. Hopefully we will be able to add you to that list.
Very best regards to you both. Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

Vicky couldnt be more helpful. The hotel had a great atmosphere and we were very well catered for and could definatly highly recommend to all.
Thankyou very much for a relaxing stay and will be recommending our friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cu5tomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for your very kind review. It was an absolute pleasure having you to stay and I am so glad that you thought so highly of us that you would recommend us to your friends and family, but more importantly, that we will again have the pleasure of your company in the future. So please, don't leave it to long!
All our very best regards Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed in three hotels during our eight nights in England and our bed at the Newbury Hotel was by far the most comfortable! The room was small but adequate. It's location made it very convenient to walk to area pubs and restaurants. The English breakfast we could purchase through the Newbury from the Shamrock Inn down the street was good. We also enjoyed visiting with Vicky who runs it. She was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjcalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

A very big hello to you both and thanks for taking the time to write the review. Although you both mentioned at the time that the room was very comfortable, I was pleased to see that you said "our bed was by far the most comfortable". We have recently refurbished our rooms (which is something that we do on a regular basis). With new carpets and beds included in the refurb, so it is nice for us when a guest notices that we have made the effort. It was very interesting to meet you both and I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in the U.k. Hopefully you will remember the Newbury Hotel and come and see us again in the future. Best regards Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

stayed at Newbery again a few weeks ago, owners very helpful she provided a small fridge to store medication in and was very socialble, had a chat with her in lounge area and she brought me in a coffee and buiscuit whilst we were chatting room very very clean and has a newer TV flat screen than in my previous visit would def stay again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickiBournemouth, Owner at Newbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Hi both, glad you enjoyed yourselves with us once more! It was great to see you again & I look forward to the next time. take care both. Best regards Vicki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#48 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#58 of 134 in Bournemouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#47 of 134 in Bournemouth
200 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#20 of 134 in Bournemouth
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Waves In
Waves In
#33 of 134 in Bournemouth
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Hotel

Address: 83 St. Michaels Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Victorian town house, hotel right in the heart of the holiday action. Seafront only 2 minutes walk and within easy walking distance to the theatres,shops, bars, restaurants, and night life. Resident owner Vicki will ensure that you have a fantastic stay. We have free parking, we are totally non smoking, all our rooms are newly refurbished & with en-suite facilities. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, full heating, T.V. with free-view and free wi-fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing